We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place for breakfast.”
Review of cafe ODE

cafe ODE
Ranked #5 of 16 Restaurants in Shaldon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $31
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Currently the UKs highest rated sustainable restaurant.cafe ODE serves fun food for the family that does not cost the earth.Organic regional and season food, licenced and open 10am - 7pm at present. closed Tuesdays and also now open for dinner Friday and Saturday - great views of the coast and lots of parking
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A lovely place for breakfast.”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We had a lovely bowl of porridge and cup of tea to start the day. It was a lovely walk up to the cafe and a great place for a micro brewery!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GouldStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    68
    29
    26
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“tasty food with a great view!”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We really enjoyed eating here - we visited twice in a couple of days! There is a wide choice of meals and a good selection for adults and children. A great alternative place to eat with the environment in mind. Perfect location near to the wildlife park - a treat after visiting! lots of parking nearby too. The staff are very friendly and attentive.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank L_RB8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Tried to like it but....”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We were taken to Ode for lunch by friends who told us it was an "experience". It is probably best described as shabby-chic trendy-ish; they play heavily on their green credentials which apparently make them carbon neutral - like all these things, I think it depends how you count the green points, but good for them for trying.
Unfortunately this concept translates into a disappointing experience food and accommodation wise - the seating is bare board benches with bare board long tables (a bit wagamama style) and food served in cardboard boxes (I guess it's 'trendy...'). The food was the real disappointing bit tho - nearly 9 quid for a burger and fries that were very much like burger king (better than McD, but not much better than BK), pretty small too, and not pretty in it's cardboard box (again...a bit like BK but with an 'eco' cardboard box). I had the pulled pork, sounded nice but was bit like a the dry hog roast meat you get at parties wrapped in a dry roll - it had a sauce that coloured the meat but it wasn't over tasty. Again, nearly 9 quid for something that should have been half that at most. Also tried their beer (they have their own micro brewery) and even that did not measure up - perhaps a bad barrel? One of our party had the dessert - it was served in an old jam jar....I guess it's recycling but not very appealing. There were two good points - if you look beyond the car park the view of the sea is lovely; and the coffee (latte) was good.
We felt we'd paid a fair bit for the experience, they keep it very basic and play on the no-fuss and green credentials....but if they do that they need to deliver something else that is special.

Sorry guys not to be more positive, we went in with a positive attitude and support your green credentials (mind you, you use crockery as well...) but the food just didn't match the price list.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank adams217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

For those who follow my reviews, a score of 5 is rare indeed.
Cafe Ode has a modern outlook, embracing clean, simple yet sophisticated decor with a welcome wood burning stove in the dining area. It accommodates those desiring food that is honest yet uncommon. How about organic sausages with caramelised onions in a bun, or bacon and chilli jam in a bun. Ode is well priced and welcoming and is definitely worth a visit. Don't forget the on site micro brewery too!

Helpful?
Thank ObjectiveView001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yummy lunch”
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Really delicious and unusual mussel chowder eaten on communal bench inside at this time of year with a wood burning stove for company. The cafe overlooks a huge car park, but beyond the view is great of the reign estuary. Great enthusiastic staff and a good varied menu. They even have dog biscuits for sale individually for our patient dogs.

Helpful?
Thank millydolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed cafe ODE also viewed

 

Been to cafe ODE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing