We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab food. Chilly room. Lovely fire.”
Review of cafe ODE

cafe ODE
Ranked #4 of 17 Restaurants in Shaldon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $31
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Currently the UKs highest rated sustainable restaurant.cafe ODE serves fun food for the family that does not cost the earth.Organic regional and season food, licenced and open 10am - 7pm at present. closed Tuesdays and also now open for dinner Friday and Saturday - great views of the coast and lots of parking
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Sharing tables is a great concept, if the others were friendly! We thought that was partly the point! We will definitely go back. Friendly staff but a tad ill at ease. Happy to do some confidence nd customer skills training!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Travelling_Trainers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (414)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

376 - 380 of 414 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

Some unusual items on menu (Asian pancakes were delicious!) and good veggie selection. Friendly service, good location near beaches in Shaldon

Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Lovely food and friendly staff. Interesting combinations that work! Only thing that made it not so perfect was that the portions were very small and we are hungry people! Lovely place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BristolClogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Not a very enjoyable experience. The entrance through the kitchen was not ideal and the seating arrangements were not pleasant. Being squashed on communal tables with loads of children hardly makes for a relaxing ambiance. Plastic cutlery, sweeteners not available and a very long wait for coffee confirmed my initial poor impression.Even the coffee was not top quality. Far too "trendy" - we will not return. Sorry guys.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
4  Thank FrequentflyerDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tim b, Manager at cafe ODE, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Many thanks for your review and we are disapointed you did nt enjoy your experience, I have passed on your comments to our team. At busy periods there might be delays in food as its cooked to order, however hot drinks should arrive in a timely manner whilst you enjoy the view. We are a family friendly cafe/takeaway so seeing families at the venue and sharing communial tables is exactly our aim. A chance to interact with friends or strangers. Our cafe/kitchen entrance is an important part of the experience, an opportunity to chat with the chefs and see the food being produced. I can asure you the cutlery we use is not plastic but a compostable vegware product as is all our packaging. We do however have conventional cutlery for customers who are a little more traditional. Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Made a trip specially to Shaldon having read an article about ODE - wasn't disappointed even though they are just running a reduced winter menu on weekdays. It's in a fantastic spot with stunning views out, it has a very chilled and friendly atmosphere and we got chatting to some other visitors too. Food was yummy, special mention for the sticky ginger cake. Added bonus was finding the smugglers tunnel down to Ness Cove Bach where we spent a lovely hour or two collecting sea glass....thoroughly recommend making a special trip to ODE

1  Thank doreenmurray999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed cafe ODE also viewed

 

Been to cafe ODE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing