We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh Dear”
Review of cafe ODE

cafe ODE
Ranked #5 of 15 Restaurants in Shaldon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $31
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Currently the UKs highest rated sustainable restaurant.cafe ODE serves fun food for the family that does not cost the earth.Organic regional and season food, licenced and open 10am - 7pm at present. closed Tuesdays and also now open for dinner Friday and Saturday - great views of the coast and lots of parking
Dorset
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Oh Dear”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Not a very enjoyable experience. The entrance through the kitchen was not ideal and the seating arrangements were not pleasant. Being squashed on communal tables with loads of children hardly makes for a relaxing ambiance. Plastic cutlery, sweeteners not available and a very long wait for coffee confirmed my initial poor impression.Even the coffee was not top quality. Far too "trendy" - we will not return. Sorry guys.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FrequentflyerDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tim b, Manager at cafe ODE, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Many thanks for your review and we are disapointed you did nt enjoy your experience, I have passed on your comments to our team. At busy periods there might be delays in food as its cooked to order, however hot drinks should arrive in a timely manner whilst you enjoy the view. We are a family friendly cafe/takeaway so seeing families at the venue and sharing communial tables is exactly our aim. A chance to interact with friends or strangers. Our cafe/kitchen entrance is an important part of the experience, an opportunity to chat with the chefs and see the food being produced. I can asure you the cutlery we use is not plastic but a compostable vegware product as is all our packaging. We do however have conventional cutlery for customers who are a little more traditional. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    69
    30
    26
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Budleigh Salterton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Yummy cafe on a sunny winters day”
Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Made a trip specially to Shaldon having read an article about ODE - wasn't disappointed even though they are just running a reduced winter menu on weekdays. It's in a fantastic spot with stunning views out, it has a very chilled and friendly atmosphere and we got chatting to some other visitors too. Food was yummy, special mention for the sticky ginger cake. Added bonus was finding the smugglers tunnel down to Ness Cove Bach where we spent a lovely hour or two collecting sea glass....thoroughly recommend making a special trip to ODE

Helpful?
1 Thank doreenmurray999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Unique little place . Everything thought about - finer details make it special”
Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

I visited last Saturday with friends from Totnes area .it was one of my friends birthday and with all the choice over Totnes way he still chose Cafe Ode for lunch . We had fab venison burgers amongst other things and even the baby was kept happy with high chair and selection of toys .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank angieinshaldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Something good for Shaldon”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We have visited cafe Ode twice now, first for tea and cake, the chocolate brownies are awesome and the sticky ginger cake lovely. We went back for breakfast as my other half wanted the eggs Benedict, he wasn't disappointed and enjoyed it. I had the bacon roll with lettuce and chilli jam which was yummy, so good seeing something a bit different to a regular bacon roll. We will be going back.....

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank grungemonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Best cafe ever”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

I mentioned this in passing in a couple o other reviews ut it is worth its own entry. A wonderful addition to the village. Great food in a casual but very welcoming atmosphere and beautifully prepared. All organic and eco friendly - even down to the cutlery. Drinks are carefully chosen and supplement the food wonderfully. If you are near Shaldon don't miss this for a coffee, snack or meal - my favorite place.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ifor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tim b, General Manager at cafe ODE, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Many thanks for your continued support and your positive review. We appreciate all feedback from customers and glad you enjoyed your experience with us. Look forward to seeing you again at ODE true food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed cafe ODE also viewed

 
Brixham, English Riviera
 

Been to cafe ODE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing