We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very expensive and a bit of a let down ..”
Review of ODE dining

ODE dining
Ranked #3 of 15 Restaurants in Shaldon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $39 - $55
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Multi award winning restaurant and currently Sustainable Restaurant of the Year 2012. ODE dining serves quality regional produce and open for dinners Wednesday to Saturday.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“very expensive and a bit of a let down ..”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

This is a nice restaurant with good food that is brilliantly presented but in no way the gastranomic experience we had been told of. The restaurent is tiny however they had not used the space to the best of their abillities.The tables were VERY close together and the chairs rather uncomfortable.

The waitress was pleasant but not very engaging and the soft drinks menu poor. I understand they are a small establishment but only having 3 sparkling juices as their entire range of soft drinks is ridiculous, lets just say I got a bit of shock when my order for a coke was turned away !

The food was good however the portions sizes of fish were mean and the chocolate mousse was in no way a mousse but a blob of gu choclolate pot on a plate decorated or not.

All in all a decent not entirely filling meal that did no way justifie the £200+ food bill.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank thecookiemonsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at ODE dining, responded to this review, July 15, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to review ODE. We aim to exceed our guests expectations so are dissapointed you did nt enjoy your evening.The dining room is an intimate space and we estimate the average spend for a balanced 3 course dinner to be in the region of £50 per person - food and drink, we believe this offers good value for money and in line with other restaurants of our standard. We do as you rightly pointed out only offer 3 local soft drinks in the restaurant, apple, elderflower and lemonade we reserve the cola for our cafe.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    12
    6
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“You have to try this for a special occasion”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We visited for a family birthday. It felt very personal and we were greeted by the chef and proprietor. Very few covers and excellent service. The food was wonderful and the menu small but exquisite. All produce was locally sourced and origin provided. The wine selection is extremely good and the reds especially . Great evening, will return. Thank you

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sally E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great views and friendly service”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Great place to sit outside - with hooks on the tables to attach your dogs whiile you ate their delicious food. Friendly service and spacious.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank lizzier17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at ODE dining, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Thank you very much in taking time to review cafe ODE. We are glad you enjoyed the experience and hopefully see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Small, pricey restaurant of top-notch quality”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Ode has now been operating for several years in Shaldon and produces consistently excellent food from a small menu. The restaurant is minuscule, meaning that it is unsuitable for private conversations. Prices are higher than one might expect. That said, the quality of both the food and the service is of a very high standard. Wine prices reflect the price of the food.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheFrogPrince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Level 6 Contributor
478 reviews
259 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“And still the best”
Reviewed April 25, 2012

The latest trip to Shaldon, again so we had the opportunity to visit Ode, was quite different to the previous three, as it was the first time we have visited at a time when the sun had not set by the time we arrived (that is the previous visits had been in the winter months) and we stayed closer to the restaurant, so it was just a 5 minute walk to get there and a little longer coming back.

The restaurant was fully booked on this mid-April Saturday evening. The service was very efficient and friendly and the food was stupendous. The portions are not too large and the dishes are just so well prepared.

Am pretty certain that it will not be our last trip - will just have to find more attractions to visit during the rest of our next short break to Devon.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlieCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ODE dining also viewed

 

Been to ODE dining? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing