We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home from home - a true gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Potters Mooring Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shaldon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights with our dog Bungle. The hotel overlooks the residential village square and bowling green - that is one of the things that makes it feel so homely. Plenty of parking on site. On arrival we met the owner Bob and we had a very warm welcome. We also met Todd, the resident dog - what a sweetie! We stayed in room 2 on the first floor overlooking the green. The room was beautifully furnished with 2 comfy chairs in the window where the sun streams in all day. The double bed was really comfy too. Lots of storage space and a top spec bathroom with huge walk in shower. It rained on our first day so that gave us a good excuse to relax in the room for a few hours - kettle, fresh milk and biscuits were all available freely in the room and we selected a book each from the great selection available on the first floor.

We then ventured out in the rain to the pub next door called The London Inn (so thoughtful of Bob and Linda to leave huge umbrellas by the hotel main door for guests to use). Great food, beer and company in the London Inn, we highly recommend it and the staff were lovely, even bringing Bungle water and biscuits!

Next day, after a lovely long sleep we ventured downstairs at 9.30am to breakfast (available until 10.00am - how brilliant is that?!). The dining room is panelled in dark wood and it is stunning. We met Linda and she served us a delicious English breakfast. We opted for coffee and it came freshly ground in a cafetiere with lashings of hot milk - what a nice touch! We loved the choice of preserves available with the generous offerings of toast and fresh butter. Heavenly!

Shaldon offers a choice of cafe's and pubs - we recommend the Ferryboat pub and the Clipper cafe. We also took the boat to Teignmouth and visited the Ship Inn.

I would recommend the Potters Mooring hotel to anyone. We saw one of the cottages adjoining the property, they are beautiful and we may book one of those next time but then again, room 2 was so great, it will be difficult to decide! I still can't believe it is a pet friendly hotel because the place is so spotless and clean. Please let me into your secret Linda because I also have light beige carpets and I can't keep them as spotless and clean smelling as yours!

Bob and Linda, thank you so much for a lovely break, it was so nice to meet you both and we were lucky to be able to stay as we know you were fully booked. Thank you also for phoning us to let us know we left our phone charger behind - there are not many hotels that would have been so thoughtful to call. We have posted you an SAE so you can post it back to us - thank you!

Best wishes and we hope to see you again soon, from Colette and Nick and Bungle x

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lettyuk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (342)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 342 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2013

Just returned from a perfect stay here. My husband, 13yrold daughter and our black lab. We stayed in our own little cottage/room. Which was clean and warm and really homely. The breakfasts were fabulous and set us up for the day. Lynn was so helpful and friendly and we came and went as we pleased. This is a great B and B and really well worth it x x Go soon

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UkBobbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

It is always a welcome from home to home on your visit to Potter's Mooring. Your Hosts Bob & Lyn go out of their way to ensure you have the very best of stay's here. A delightful hotel located in the very heart of Shaldon with every need nearby. Our room was so cosy & warm with lovely views of the harbour and River Teign. The breakfast was delicious and varied. A choice for what ever your taste may be. Parking off road a real bonus. Not our first or our last visit here. Home from sums it up perfectly. Thank you Bob & Lyn.
Richard & Kay R, Sth Glos

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 350rr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We live in Gosport and on Good Friday morning decided to go to somewhere for the day. We chose Devon as I have relatives there. A bit silly thinking we could go for the day as the Good Friday traffic across Dorset was slow. Anyhow, we got there eventually and decided it would be better if we stayed over. Didn't want to put on my relative as we had our dog with us so decided to book into a hotel, which proved to be slightly tricky seeing as it was now 5pm on Good Friday afternoon. We were truly blessed to come across Potters Mooring Hotel. Firstly they had a room (someone else had just cancelled) secondly it is a pet-friendly hotel, and thirdly it is an absolute gem. The village of Shaldon is really quaint with it's narrow streets and situated over looking the harbour. The twin-room we had had tea/coffee making facilities, biscuits, hairdryer and complimentary toiletries. The beds were extremely comfortable and the shower was wonderful. Breakfast was delicious; the nicest I have had in a long time. The owners were extremely helpful and pleasant. We are only sad that we couldn't stay an extra night as our room was still free, but we had to get home as my husband had to go to work the next day. I can highly recommend this hotel and I hope that one day soon we can go back again and stay a little longer.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

As soon as we arrived, lyn was the perfect friendly host who couldn't have been any more helpful.

The room was extremely cosy and clean.

Breakfast was a delicious and lots to choose from.

Would definately go back.

A big thanks from Clare, Chris and Taeh

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clare r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed the weekend for our 30th Wedding Anniversary. Warm welcome and lovely room, very comfy. Lovely good quality breakfast. Rob and Linda are great hosts. The village has several really nice places to eat and drink, with lovely views over the estuary.

Room Tip: sorry no pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed at Potters Mooring with our very recently rescued dog and I was a bit apprehensive as to how it would go as we haven't been away with her before but it was lovely. Our accommodation in Nirvana Cottage was excellent, comfortable bed, all beautifully clean, fresh milk unlike the usual long life capsules! It was ideal for us with the dog as we had room for her bed and blanket without worrying about disturbing anyone else. The breakfast was superb and the owners very friendly and accommodating. Having been to Shaldon many years ago I knew the streets were very narrow so no surprises there and there was on site parking as well. The beach is almost just outside the door so ideal to walk the dog. Would thoroughly recommend anyone to stay here.

Room Tip: Stayed in Nirvana Cottage and loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shaldon
1.7 mi away
Cockhaven Arms
Cockhaven Arms
#1 of 1 in Bishopsteignton
113 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cliffden Hotel
Cliffden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Teignmouth
254 reviews
3.3 mi away
Best Western Passage House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dawlish
724 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 85 in Torquay
597 reviews
7.1 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Potters Mooring Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Potters Mooring Hotel

Address: 30 The Green, Shaldon TQ14 0DN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Shaldon
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shaldon
Price Range: $91 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Potters Mooring Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Potters Mooring Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Potters Mooring Hotel Shaldon, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing