We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Potters Mooring Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shaldon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We had a really wonderful time. The hosts were wonderful and couldn't do enough to please.
Superb breakfast with plenty of choice. Excellent position with the front overlooking the bowling green and the back overlooking the estuary. You don't even have to get into the car again, as there are plenty of walks and local shops hearby. The ferry into Teignmouth is just down the road.
Really looking forward to going again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 52Kathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (341)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

300 - 306 of 342 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Potters Mooring and found the hosts so thoughtful and helpful- we were travelling with a toddler, a new baby and ourselves. They gave us a lovely room to accommodate all of us happily and then provided a huge selection of toys for our very busy toddler to play with - much to his delight! The bed was huge and very comfortable, bathroom was clean with a lovely hot shower, and the B&B itself was located next door to a pub where we enjoyed a drink in the sunshine (there was no noise from the pub). There is a little green and bowling green in front of the B&B and pub, and a sweet little selection of houses and it is 5 minutes from the sandy waters edge and good selection of pubs and cafes. Breakfast was delicious... we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: We had the front room (room one) over looking the green and carpark and next to the pub. Despite the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shelxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Shaldon is a small seaside resort with narrow streets and quaint buildings. The Potters Moorings is well-placed as a location to explore Shaldon and for trips further afield. These are three pub/restaurants within easy walking distance as well as a few local shops.
Potters Mooring is a clean, well run establishment with warm, well-furnished rooms. The breakfasts were perfectly satisfactory with typical B&B menu. The owners were particularly pleasant and helpful.
Parking is a problem in Shaldon though the hotel has spaces at the front for careful drivers who are good at manoeuvring their cars !!
All in all a pleasant place to stay for a few days.

Room Tip: The separate cottages are a better bet for a stay any longer an a couple of days.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Silver70s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We have been staying at Potters Mooring for about 7 years now which speaks for itself, and find Linda and Rob to be so very friendly and accommodating. You can come and go as you wish. The hotel itself is beautiful and the rooms are excellent, very clean and some have views of the River Teign. Superb breakfast.
Shaldon is a lovely place to stay. A very dog friendly village.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a weekend at Potters Mooring and can't fault it. The room very spacious, and spotlessly clean..Superb full English breakfast Made very welcome by Linda and Bob the owners
Lovely views of the River Teign, Short ferry trip across the estuary to Teignmouth
. London Inn next door very convenient for good quality evening meals. Oveall an excellent place to stay in a superb location in South Devon

Mike & Jill

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jill w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We were hoping for a friendly, clean and well-located B&B and this hotel/guest house fulfilled all we were looking for. The accommodation is superbly appointed with comfort of the guest as the main priority. We were warmly welcomed yet made to feel that our freedom to come and go as we pleased would be respected - and was. The breakfasts were delicious as the quality of the ingredients are first class - dry cured bacon, locally-sourced sausages, crispy fried bread and eggs cooked to personal preference. Although we mostly went for the Potters Mooring Full-English, more moderate tastes were catered for without any problem. Shaldon itself has a friendly local community with some nice pubs (the London Inn next door serve wonderful steaks and locally-caught-fish dishes). If you find yourself somewhere where you think, yes I could happily live here, then you've found Potters Mooring - and Linda and Bob to ensure your stay is a happy one.

Room Tip: Our accommodation on the ground floor led out onto a shared courtyard which we particularly liked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbthebookworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Just returned from a business trip to Devon and stayed at Potters Mooring for two Nights.

Very comfortable, friendly owners and extremely clean and tidy. Breakfasts that will set you up for the day. Fresh milk in the fridge ( nice touch) In a quiet location and very close to the estuary for lovely view of Teignmouth.

Pub next door (The London Inn ) is handy for excellent food and beers, very welcoming.

Home frome Home !

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ItchyfeetUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shaldon
0.9 mi away
Cliffden Hotel
Cliffden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Teignmouth
251 reviews
3.3 mi away
Best Western Passage House Hotel
2.8 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 86 in Torquay
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dawlish
719 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cockhaven Arms
Cockhaven Arms
#1 of 1 in Bishopsteignton
108 reviews
7.1 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Potters Mooring Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Potters Mooring Hotel

Address: 30 The Green, Shaldon TQ14 0DN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Shaldon
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shaldon
Price Range: $107 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Potters Mooring Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Potters Mooring Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Potters Mooring Hotel Shaldon, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing