We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Autumn Hideaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Potters Mooring Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shaldon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 10, 2011

My wife and i had never been to South Devon before but wanted a break for our anniversary weekend. More by serendipidity than anything else we discovered a web site for Shaldon - a lovely little former fishing village - then when looking for accommodation came across Potters Mooring and read previous reviews on TripAdvisor. To say that our actual experience lived up to these reviews would be a big understatement!
Lovely accommodation (we had our own little 'cottage' adjoining the main building - which was so cosy that my wife didn't want to even venture out!). Lovely and helpful hosts, and the village generally was very welcoming. Yet only minutes away - by an ancient passenger ferry - from the town of Teignmouth with easy access to Exeter and the mainline train to London. Gosh! Why am i not keeping this all secret!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Menns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (337)
There are newer reviews for Potters Mooring Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

319 - 325 of 337 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2011

Potters Mooring is a very homely and welcoming B&B. We stayed in room 5 which has a double and a single bed (and plenty of room for an extra bed). The view was picturesque. We are a family of 4 and were very happy with the room. Shaldon is a lovely village and Potters mooring is a minute from the beach. The children loved it and the hosts were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was gorgeous and there was plenty of choice and variety. We had a really relaxing 2 days. We will definitely be going back. 10/10.

Room Tip: Room 5 is a family room with en-suite and plenty of space.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luckens_89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2011

Stayed here as we were attending the Teignmouth Jazz Festival. Hotel was a good 30 mins walk into Teignmouth and not really a pleasant walk via the streets. Was disappointed as soon as we pulled into the car park, the Hotel looked old and needed a face lift. Room was a good size and bathroom OK, my friends room however was not ensuite, bathroom was next door and was in need of updating. Breakfast was good but dining room very gloomy with dark furniture and red table cloths. Expected more for an AA 4* rated hotel. Would not return

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank magnbaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

This is a very homely B&B in the heart of the lovely village of Shaldon. The B&B was spotlessly clean and the host was very attentive to our needs. The breakfast was great, would definitely go back. The only things that I would say being very picky is that it would of been nice to have bigger towels and nicer pillows.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EnglandSunshine28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Potters Mooring is a beautiful guest house in the lovely sea side village of Sheldon. Our room was in the attic and had gorgeous views of the harbor. The bed was comfy, the room was beautiful and spotlessly clean.

Our hosts were warm and friendly and the breakfast was outstanding!

We had our dinner at the pub next door and were in fear of exploding, so generous were the helpings! Yummy and plentiful pub grub, a winning combination.

We hope to come back to Sheldon at some point in the future, and will be staying at Potters Mooring!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eskimojosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

I would certainly book a room at Potters Mooring again. Comfortable bed, great views from the attic bedroom and a very warm welcome from our hosts. Even better was a lovely cuddle with their new puppy.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UKFrankie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

I have been to Potters Mooring three times now and each time have been impressed with this bed and breakfast/hotel. Linda, Bob and those who work with them are lovely people and very friendly. Its a dog friendly environment which is rare these days - although I do not have a dog myself I am a dog lover. The dining room is stunning with wood panelled walls. I
can thoroughly recommend Potters Mooring either as a base for exploring the surrounding countryside and seaside or for relaxing in Shaldon itself.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lilybrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shaldon
0.9 mi away
Cliffden Hotel
Cliffden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Teignmouth
248 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
551 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cockhaven Arms
Cockhaven Arms
#1 of 1 in Bishopsteignton
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dawlish
711 reviews
3.3 mi away
Best Western Passage House Hotel
7.1 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Potters Mooring Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Potters Mooring Hotel

Address: 30 The Green, Shaldon TQ14 0DN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Shaldon
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shaldon
Price Range: $106 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Potters Mooring Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Potters Mooring Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Potters Mooring Hotel Shaldon, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing