We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“cosy cottage”
other travelers have booked this property
Ada's Terrace, Mortehoe.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ada's Terrace, Mortehoe.
View across the gardens to National Trust land and the Sea View from the rear of the property
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
Ada's Terrace, Mortehoe.
View across the gardens to National Trust land and the Sea
View from the rear of the property
Ilfracombe Harbour
Open fireplace
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Mortehoe, Woolacombe, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Enid W
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“cosy cottage”
Reviewed May 31, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

From the moment of arriving everything is wonderful, the beautiful views greet you right off. You are able to sit in the bay window or in the garden and see the hills of the National Park and the Sea.
The cottage is very well maintained and every thing you need, the kitchen isn't short of anything.
Dog friendly cottage and the garden is secure.
Booked again for October.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valerie C
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Cute cottage & garden in picturesque setting”
Reviewed May 20, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Pet friendly, comfy cottage,amazing views, picturesque setting, quaint village with gorgeous village Church, and Carol, what an asset you are to Colin.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngeWoods
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just perfect...”
Reviewed May 18, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We were warmly welcomed by a lovely lady called Carol in Number 1 who greeted us upon arrival and handed us our keys for our stay. Waiting for us in the cottage was a wonderful cream tea which was much appreciated after our long journey.( I also loved the little touch of a card from Carol as an additional welcome).

So, let me start with the negatives ... well, in all honesty there aren't any! From the moment we booked with Colin everything ran smoothly. The only downside is that there isn't a phone signal in the cottage for the phone addicts but there is an excellent Wifi service (although a landline is supplied for emergencies). But honestly, with views so lovely as the ones you will have here you will soon find yourself not looking down at a screen but sitting in the window chair staring out at the stunning sea views and sunsets and just generally watching the world go by.

As someone who is used to packing everything including the kitchen sink (well almost!) as I did, don't bother! Everything you could possibly need is here! From a double sided make up mirror, hairdryer, dog crate, windbreakers, all the essentials (!) this place has them!

The cottage is clean, well kept and very quaint making you feel right at home.
I adored the old Rayburn that has been left in the kitchen, although not working now there is a fully functional electric cooker which is perfect. An abundance of crockery glasses and cutlery fills the cupboards. Upstairs the beds are so comfy and the rooms are spacious. The bathroom has a good shower and is clean and airy. Outside you can sit on the front if the weather is fine and digest the tranquillity of the place. At the rear of the cottage is a patio which is a little sun trap in the morning and a nice place to have a cup of tea and ponder on what you will be doing that day.

The walks from here are truly fabulous, and even my dog who doesn't really "do" long walks did not want to stop as we took the Morte Point walk from just across the road as we did every day during our stay. A walk down the hill and you are straight into Woolacombe where it is a must to try one of the Cornish Pasties from the shop there!

For those liking a bite to eat and drink you have two pubs within minutes up the road in the village The Chichester and the Ship Aground both places we visited and both serve fabulous food drink and have a really friendly atmosphere.

Truly a lovely place to stay and I hope one day I can return to stay here if its not booked up!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drdr2017
Gosport, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect week end”
Reviewed May 5, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

A charming little but well equipped cottage. Very warm welcome from Carole with delicious cream tea waiting for us. Beautiful sea views, stone throw from beach and from wonderful coastal path. We walked to Lee and had a delicious lunch at Smugglers cottage and walked back to Mortehoe where we had tea at the table in the cottage garden. The most perfect day! Despite the inclement weather, we enjoyed every minute at Ada s cottage. Communication with Colin prior to arrival was excellent and very accomodating

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tjm117
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous sea views”
Reviewed April 6, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

From the efficient booking with Colin to the lovely meet and greet with Carol, a truly delightful stay at this cottage with wonderful sea views. Everything you could need for a home from home stay, with a pretty village and a couple of pubs for eating out right on your door step. So many coastal walks, would recommend this walk: down the hill into Woolacombe, along the beach to Putsborough and follow the coastal path to Baggy Point for wonderful views. On your return a stop in Woolacombe before climbing the hill back to the cottage and hopefully like us you will be rewarded with a spectacular sunset. Would definitely love to return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne t
1 review
“Brillant”
Reviewed March 29, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

2nd time me and my wife has stayed at the cottage. Another fantastic time at this lovely place. Greeted by the lady at no 1 and cream teas on arrival. Will be definitely visiting again next year

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynH476
1 review
“Best location we have ever stayed.”
Reviewed March 21, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Lovely cozy cottage with the most stunning views over the sea and baggy point. Have been staying in area over 20 years and location can not be beaten for view and access to coastal walks with your dog. Or to nearby surf beaches. Carol is a real gem and made us very welcome.cream tea waiting for us was a lovely surprise. Real value for money. Thank you for a great stay. Will definitely be coming again if we can.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing