We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Difficult Beach Access”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mortehoe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
North Morte Farm Caravan & Camping Park
Certificate of Excellence
Colne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Difficult Beach Access”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Lovely clean site with friendly staff & magnificent views, and a short walk into the village, However the access road is VERY narrow for touring caravans fo quite a distance. The access to Rockham beach is via a very steep downhill path with wooden steps down the cliff, not good for very young, anyone with mobility issues or anyone with a fear of heights! Nearest beach is Woolacombe for families with young children.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    44
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
72
69
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rochdale, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed in a static caravan with partial sea views near to the central playground. We really enjoyed our stay - the caravan was spotlessly clean and light and modern inside ( save for some of the curtain and tie backs that looked alittle tired which was a shame). We had use of an area of decking as well as table and chairs and found the playgrounds ( there is a second with fantastic views over the sea ) to be a hit with our three and a half year old daughter who made friends whilst we were there. It is a short walk from the site along grass paths down to the cliff were you can access the nearest beach via a number of steps. Its well worth checking the tide times on the site board before setting off to avoid disappointment! The shop is very well stocked and there are fish and chip and seafood deliveries to the site. There are also good laundry facilities and helpful staff in the office where a number of leaflets and local information can be found. On leaving and handing over the keys, we made a point of commenting on the high standard of cleanliness and that their cleaners obviously do a fantasic job. We would defintely stay on this site again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jp502525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

I came camping here with my two children and was welcomed by very friendly staff. You don't have to pre-book and can choose your own pitch, there's plenty to choose from! The campsite is in a fabulous location, we had an amazing sea view from our tent (as do most). The toilet and shower block was close by to us and we were all impressed with how clean it all was! the showers are open from 7:30am - 9:30pm and the toilets open 24hrs. There is also a lovely little shop on-site which stocks pretty much anything you will need from cooking oil to a new airbed! There's also a launderette which has 3 washing machines, a spin dryer and 2 large dryers (come armed with several 50p pieces if you're going to use them!). There's also a fish and chip van which comes round on a Wednesday evening, very nice :) The staff are so helpful and keep the site immaculate.
The area itself is a little sleepy, with just a couple of pubs, fish and chip shop and post office in the village centre, however the coastal walks offer stunning scenery! Going down to Rockham beach can be a little challenging if you're not very fit or have mobility problems. Woolacombe beach is just a short drive away and has a gorgeous sandy beach and some good surf :
Overall though, this is a wonderful campsite, I thoroughly recommend it :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jodyannbeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 29, 2012

fabulous site, scenery awesome, caravan spotless, will be coming back as soon as I can . Thank you for a really great holiday, thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolbeardsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

This campsite is a superb location, with stunning views. There is an excellent choice of challanging walking and running routes from your tent door. Facillities are always clean. Friendly staff and a well managed site, with barrier and shop. Rockham Beach has a raw natural beauty, for sand and surf head to Woolacombe. Marine Drive car park offers best value if you dont mind a short walk.

Room Tip: LOL you take your own! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mudsinatent2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

As the title says this was our 2nd visit to the campsite and we enjoyed it just as much as the 1st time. We like this site because you don't have to pre-book which is great for if the weather doesn't look too clever.
We arrived very early and by 9.30am we had paid our fee, found a good pitch, put up our tent and were having a cuppa. It's such a lovely place with the beach only a short walk away and it's perfect for watching the sunset.
The toilet and shower blocks were just as clean as our previous visit and there was always hot water and toilet roll.
On our 1st night - Saturday - we had a fish & chip supper from the mobile chip van that gets to the park about 7pm ish.
We will definately return here again :-)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

We only stayed for a short time, but it was lovely for the price that we paid!
There are only the basics on the site, but we spent most of our time in and around Woolacombe anyway.
Only annoying thing was that other campers turned up in the dark and pitched right by our tent - not paying attention to the rules about being pitched a certain distance away from other tents, but at night it is pitch black. In the end it didn't really affect us.
Was an enjoyable and cheap weekend.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zoe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mortehoe
0.9 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
803 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
782 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Fortescue Arms
The Fortescue Arms
#3 of 4 in Woolacombe
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
353 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Smugglers Rest
The Smugglers Rest
#2 of 5 in Mortehoe
56 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hele Valley Holiday Park
Hele Valley Holiday Park
#1 of 25 in Ilfracombe
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Morte Farm Caravan & Camping Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Morte Farm Caravan & Camping Park

Property: North Morte Farm Caravan & Camping Park
Address: Mortehoe, Woolacombe EX34 7EG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woolacombe > Mortehoe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Mortehoe
Number of rooms: 180
Also Known As:
North Morte Farm Caravan & Camping Park Hotel Mortehoe
North Morte Farm Caravan And Camping Park
North Morte Farm Caravan & Camping Park Mortehoe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing