We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Inspiring writing trip”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Cromlech House

front room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
front room
kitchen/dining Floorplans
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
front room
kitchen/dining
Floorplans
bedroom 1
front entrance
bedroom 2, in Aug 2011 before it was furnished
bathroom 1
bedroom 3
bedroom 4
bedroom 4
bedroom 1's bay window and french doors to private balcony
The Crecent, Mortehoe
Mortehoe church
Grunta beach
Woolacombe, Barricane Combesgate and Grunta beaches
The Crecent, Mortehoe
bathroom 2
bedroom 3
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Mortehoe, Woolacombe, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rowan P
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Inspiring writing trip”
Reviewed April 18, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We had a great few days here writing music and finding inspiration in the local area. Walks, surfing and nature on the doorstep. And very comfortable house! Definitely be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jessica1j...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Third times a charm”
Reviewed April 18, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Third time staying in this beautiful house. Five of us used it as a creative space to create music and with so much space it worked well.
Walking on the beach or along the coast is right on the doorstep with lots of friendly pubs and faces around to make you feel even more welcome.
I can't fault either of the beautiful houses and am looking forward to visiting again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isabel e
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“really lovely house!”
Reviewed April 18, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

such a lovely house, really warm (it was winter!) but also very light and spacious.
loads of different walks to go on, really great to be so close to the sea and cliffs and beautiful nature.
well equipped kitchen.
modern and tasteful.
loved it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrs Jacqu...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Accommodating house with lots of space in a lovely location”
Reviewed October 9, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Stayed for a week to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary. Our family joining us for the weekend. Cromlech House is very well equipped with all that you need. It is very clean, comfortable and practical. Plenty of games to amuse the children. My husband and I then explored the local area and thoroughly enjoyed the 'locals' in the village of Mortehoe. The Ship Aground pub was very welcoming with good food and our son's dog Dora, really enjoyed visiting and being fussed over. The whole area has plenty to offer for young and old alike...hopefully we can return in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 10, 2016
Jacqueline, great to hear your feedback re week in Cromlech House. :) Dom
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harriet N
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredible house and location”
Reviewed September 14, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The house was absolutely incredible, very clean, modern, spacious and true to the photos. In a great location, in the heart of Mortehoe, with a range of places to eat and drink. A 5 minute walk to the beach (slightly on a hill), or a short 5 minute drive to Woolacombe beach. The owners could not have been more helpful or friendly. Would recommend to anyone wanting somewhere near the beach, whether friends or families.

Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 14, 2016
Dear Harriet, great to hear that the house suited you so well! Many thanks for the very encouraging review! :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chebs05
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Family 70th Birthday Celebration”
Reviewed June 6, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

My family and I visited Cromlech House to celebrate our mothers 70th Birthday.

Before our visit Dominic, the owner, was extremely obliging insuring our stay was trouble free from the moment we booked.
A courtesy phone call after booking explaining the procedure and what happens next was much appreciated.
Emails were sent detailing the arrival process and also annotated numerous links to local area information.

The house was delightful and delivered on all levels and much more. Having 3 floors it felt spacious. All rooms had high-ceilings and offered character features. The kitchen is the heart of any home and Cromlech House did not disappoint. Everything you could possibly wish for utensil and crockery wise, also available was a Stokke highchair, invaluable if you have a little one.
The bedrooms were all clean and comfortable, the twin and master bedroom were an extremely generous size. It was great having a bathroom on the both the 1st and 2nd floors for ease of all guests.
There was a vast array of toys for young to older children, in addition, games for adults to play too.

The village of Mortehoe is quaint and very beautiful, offering two pubs, one just across the road, and various other eateries, a shop and National Trust Cafe. There is also a children’s play ground near to a small museum.
Woolacombe with its 3 mile sandy beach is a short drive or challenging walk due to a very steep hill on the way back!!!!
There are numerous coastal walks form Cromlech House’s front door. I highly recommend walking to Bull Point lighthouse on a clear evening to experience some beautiful sunsets; also the coastal path to Lee for lunch.

In summary, a great house and location for a family or friend gathering.

Dominic, many thanks for making Mum’s 70th birthday a special one.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious rooms and great villiage location.
Liked least: Only parking for one car, additional cars are parked in the close by public car park so not an issue. No garden or outside area to sit out however, with a beautiful coastline and many beaches on your doorstep it is not really an issue.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 9, 2016
We loved hearing about your stay via your very positive review. Many thanks, and we hope that you will return to Mortehoe one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhereverI...
Pinner, Middlesex, UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful house in very picturesque location”
Reviewed May 9, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Just returned from a week's stay in Cromlech House with my husband, some friends and our dog. The house has four good sized bedrooms, a lounge with adequate seating for the number staying and an extremely well equipped kitchen the focus of which is the huge table. We found the property clean on arrival and having been given comprehensive pre-arrival email information from the owner we knew what to expect to find and what to pack. The location in Mortehoe suited us perfectly. It is a very pretty, unspoilt village and just across the road was what we referred to as the "extension" i.e. the Chichester pub which catered well in terms of range of drinks and food (several veggie options). A short walk down the hill and we were in Woolacombe which had a superb, dog friendly beach. We spent much time walking and picked up the South West Coast path most days and enjoyed the weather and the views hiking to Baggy Point in one direction and Bull Point in the other. There was so much to keep us occupied locally that we only ventured out in the car once - a change of pub scene to the Thatch in Croyde followed by a walk along the beach at Staunton Sands. Again, both are recommended.
We loved Cromlech house and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it as a superb location to base a get together with friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We loved the location and the internal decor
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 10, 2016
Thanks for staying in Cromlech House, and for your delightful review. Glad that you enjoyed the village, the house ... and the 'extension'!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing