We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“GREAT LOCATION, EXCELLENT ACCOMMODATION.”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Buttery

front of terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
front of terrace
front room kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
front of terrace
front room
kitchen
kitchen
bedroom 1 with private balcony
bedroom 1
rear private terrace
rear private terrace with sea view
bathroom 2
Mortehoe church
ground floor floorplan (2a is The Buttery)
1st floor floorplan (2a is The Buttery)
2nd floor floorplan (2a is The Buttery)
Buttery kitchen with 14-seater table configuration - can also be configured to seat 18 or 10 or 8.
view of Mortehoe from hill to rear
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Mortehoe, Woolacombe, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
andrewshu...
Ascot, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“GREAT LOCATION, EXCELLENT ACCOMMODATION.”
Reviewed September 3, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Wonderful location in lovely Mortehoe, which has great pubs, take aways , and lovely village shop.
Dom and Iona made us very welcome and the Buttery was perfect for our family, with nice touches including the travel cot and use of the landline , which was very useful a couple of times.
All our party enjoyed our stay at the Buttery , including Ron the Boxer , and as dog friendly accommodation is rare , this was a a real bonus.
Wonderful cliff path walking and exceptionally beautiful scenery minutes from the house.
Perfect holiday !

Date of stay: August 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 16, 2017
Hi Andrew, wow, 'perfect holiday' is really an encouraging assessment of your stay at The Buttery! Thanks for choosing The Buttery, and Mortehoe. :) D
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty S
1 review
“Stunning family home”
Reviewed August 13, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

So pleased we chose the buttery as a base for our family to meet up for a week. Despite the rain (in August!) The Buttery provided us with a comfortable and homely stay. Plenty of space for everyone to relax and unwind. The piano and large well equipped kitchen really worked to bring everyone together in the evening for food and board games. Nice and quiet at night (we even could hear the sea from the terrace!) and the lovely views of the hills and grazing cattle in the morning from the terrace and rear bedrooms while we quietly drank our tea.

Date of stay: July 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 8, 2017
Thank you for choosing Mortehoe for your holiday. You paint a very tranquil picture of summertime North Devon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaypetsta...
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Everything we could have wanted.”
Reviewed August 9, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The Buttery was perfect for all ages in our family. Close to a lovely beach and superb coastal walks. We loved the views of the countryside. Great choice of shops, pubs and takeaways in village. would love to come again.

Date of stay: July 2017
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 8, 2017
Great to hear that the house and the area was what you were hoping for. We would love you to come again too! Dom
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaronLE
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous house and village”
Reviewed June 6, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Mortehoe is a small picturesque village with fabulous walks to Ilfracome (approx 6 miles) and Woolacombe. We had a lovely lunch at the Chichester Arms - opposite the house and a fab Thai fish curry from Rockleigh takeaway.

The Buttery was great for a party of friends, a large lounge and very well equipped kitchen (we didn't do much cooking though!!), 5 great bedrooms and 3 bathrooms. The terrace was a sun trap and when the sun disappeared at the back of the house the balcony at the front was equally great.

We'd love to visit again :)

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 6, 2017
Hi Caron, thanks for the handy tourism tips,. Great to hear that The Buttery worked well for you, and we hope that it will again in future! :) D
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison B
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really lovely stay”
Reviewed April 21, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

A group of friends and I booked the Buttery for Easter weekend. Dominic was incredibly helpful with all of my queries with my booking from the start, with quick replies to my (many!) emails!
Mortehoe is a lovely untouched Devon village just on the outside of Woolacombe with 2 pubs, a village shop, a fish and chip shop and several places to get afternoon tea. Although the house isn't right on the beach the area has countless coastal walks and many amazing beaches within close distance.
The house was well equipped, clean and well decorated. Right in center of the village and within walking distance to all amenities.
Highly recommended!

Date of stay: April 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 23, 2017
Hi Alison, great to hear that you enjoyed your first stay at The Buttery! :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOgley
1 review
“Mrs”
Reviewed October 10, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Good property. Great walks onto the Moors and down to Woolacombe beach. The only downside was the unexpected building work in the adjacent property.

Date of stay: September 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 11, 2016
Really sorry to hear that there were building works going on. Was that to the left or to the right? Dom
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debbs2015
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great House, Perfect Position”
Reviewed September 15, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Had a long weekend at The Buttery with a group of girlfriends. Dominic couldn't have been more helpful when booking and provided lots of useful information for us about the area. The house is great - perfect position for us to walk down to the beach, within easy reach of pubs and very comfortable and well equipped. Already booked to go again next summer!

Date of stay: September 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it! Customer service fab and house great!
Liked least: Coming home
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 19, 2016
Thanks for your stay and for (the ultimate compliment) immediately booking again! :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing