We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm welcome awaits at Warcombe Farm!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mortehoe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Warcombe Farm Camping Park
Ranked #1 of 5 Mortehoe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bideford
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A warm welcome awaits at Warcombe Farm!”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My family and I are new to camping and having purchased our tent last Autumn we were itching to use it locally to try it out. We visited Warcombe Farm at the beginning of July 2013 and were so impressed with the site we have just returned from our third visit this summer. We stayed for 7 nights on a Premier pitch overlooking the lake. The pitch was huge with hard standing for the car, private brick built bbq and a picnic bench. The bathroom and toilet facilities are first class, maintained and cleaned to a very high standard. The site offers a variety of pitches for all budgets and the views are spectacular whether you choose, sea views, countryside or lake you will not be disappointed. The site is very well managed by Mike and his team. The on site shop offers a great choice of essentials at competitive prices and the daily breakfast bakery orders are to die for. All The staff at Warcombe are so helpful but a special big thank you goes to, Mike, Judith, Sally and Dave for making our first three camping trips so fantastic. Can't wait to see you all again in Easter 2014!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deanolisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikenJudith, Manager at Warcombe Farm Camping Park, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you very much for your wonderful review. It was a pleasure meeting your family and look forward to seeing you all again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    18
    1
    2
    4
See reviews for
141
83
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed for 2 nights with my son and was very impressed. Shower block has a family bathroom - with a bath! Toilet blocks all warm and spotless. Pitch massive with privacy from trees/bushes. Staff all friendly and helpful. We will be back!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tryline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikenJudith, Manager at Warcombe Farm Camping Park, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. As a team we try very hard to keep everything nice for our customers. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We have just had a 5 night break and definitely wish we had longer. We were there over the bank holiday, so thought it would be very busy (queueing for the showers etc) but it was fantastic, the site was almost full but it definitely didn't feel crowded. The facilites are the best I have seen on any camp site, the play area is great. The whole site is well maintained and the staff are so friendly and helpful. We will definitely be going back again as soon as possible.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikenJudith, Manager at Warcombe Farm Camping Park, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased that your family had a lovely holiday with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I guess the problem is with a 5 star review of this wonderful site is that it will become more popular and then we won't be able to book!! That's just me being selfish. So, what about the site? Well, it's a lovely place, not overly big but generous in terms of pitch sizes for touring tents and vans. From the friendly welcome to then being guided to your pitch, everything here is just brilliant.

You have a reasonably well stocked shop for emergency essentials, plus good (and importantly) clean on-site showers and toilets in one block. The layout of the site is also very good, featuring a fishing lake in the middle.

The top end of the site features fairly open pitches, grass and hard standing, most serviced with water, waste and electricity whilst lower down on the site, you can choose a more private pitch secluded by trees and bushes. We elected to stay at the top as we wanted to be close to the play area so we could watch the kids having a good time whilst we sat out front keeping a watchful eye.

The staff always seemed happy to help, and to give them extra credit, when our car decided to break down we knew we would have to extend our stay unexpectedly by one night, the team were more than happy to sort us out and would even help to move us if they needed our pitch (as it may have been booked).

Access to the site is pretty good, the last remaining road up to the site is wide enough in most places for cars to get through, but some parts do narrow. The site is literally half a mile up this road, so no great problems there.

So are there downsides to this lovely site? Well, a few minor points.

The 5MPH speed limit was NOT observed by many irresponsible drivers and on a couple of occasions we needed to stop our 5 year old from crossing the track way when cars were coming as they seemed to pay no attention to the children playing in the park and the possibility one could run out (even though the main areas of the park are fenced, the zip wire is not). I think this could easily be rectified by adding speed humps.

Pitches at the top end of the site are much higher up and are obviously prone to the elements including the wind - be prepared to really tie down your tent or awning.

Local ciders - it would have been great to have the shop stock some local West Country ciders or ales. All that seemed to be on offer was Belgian cider and the usual European lagers!

Noise - although not a major problem, the noise does not really subside until at least 11pm, the park seems to be in use quite late (although there was a note to say this was not to be used past dusk) and I know the site wardens are out and about checking noise levels.

A swimming pool would be nice! (Note to the owners: if you are not making any money from the fishing pond there's an idea!!)

All the above points are very minor, and I cannot say enough good things about this site - Warcombe Farm is thoroughly recommended and we hope to return soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluejonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikenJudith, Manager at Warcombe Farm Camping Park, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our site. We always take on board any suggestions offered to us by our campers. Our wardens at around 10.30pm walk the site and ensure that any noise is not excessive as we are aware that people are starting to settle down for the night (but let's not forget that people are on holiday). Our staff are constantly monitoring the speed of the cars around the site and we will consider speed bumps for the future. With regard to the play area, annually we are inspected by a independent play inspection company to ensure we comply with all the necessary requirements.
Thank you again for your lovely review and look forward to seeing you again in 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We have just returned from a 5 night stay in this idyllic location and we have only one complaint......I should have booked longer!! We are going to check the calendar and book next years holiday ASAP and for longer!
The site is immaculate; so well set up and all the pitches are great, plenty of privacy and all the amenities you should need (electric, water, picnic tables, etc.).
The welcome was warm and genuine and we were even shown to our pitch by Paul in his golf cart. He didn't offer to put our tent up for us......but did laugh when we asked if he would!!
As mentioned by many other reviews.......the washroom facilities are second to none. Well designed, modern, CLEAN, warm and well equipped. Honestly, having a shower here is a pleasure, not something to dread like at most campsites I've stayed in!
We took our dog and he loved it! This campsite is well set up for dogs with a fantastic dog walking area. Lots of like minded families with dogs to chat to on the walk area and our dog had great fun!
We had half a days fishing on the lake which was great fun. My 9year old son loved it as there are so many fish you are assured of lots of bites. I had a quick go and caught 4 fish in quick succession! The shop even stocks corn/luncheon meat for bait. We hired equipment from them which was fine, and much easier than trying to pack your own.
Talking of the shop....it's jam packed with everything you could think of! Even ice blocks for hire for your cool box/picnic.
There is plenty to do around the area with Woolacombe beach being our favourite. If you go up the end of Marine drive, you can take your dog on the beach without a lead all year. If you want to go rock pooling, the Morthoe end of the beach is better. You can take dogs here but they must stay on the lead.
Ilfracombe is worth a look around.....but it is looking a bit tired these days! The Ilfracombe Fryer is best for fish n chips......the one by the harbour is a bit greasy. Walk up to the top of the hill opposite for a great view.
Sadly packed up today for the journey home......whilst packing found a toad under our car. Showed Paul (one of the friendly workers) who asked if we had paid for him to be camping with us! GSOH. We even got stopped at the gates leaving to extend the joke and asked to come into the reception to pay for our toad!!!! We left smiling and can't wait for next year to return!!

Room Tip: Any pitch would not disappoint!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EKTG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikenJudith, Manager at Warcombe Farm Camping Park, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your fantastic review. We are so pleased that you had a great time with us and do hope that you decide to come and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Third time here and again it was perfect. This campsite spoils you completely from the 5 star amenity blocks to the tranquil setting. We love that the site is quiet and is so peaceful in the evenings.

The staff again have been fab, always friendly and going above and beyond for everyone. There is lots do to in the surrounding areas, this time we did the tractor and trailer rice, a 12 mile bike ride, hubby fished on the lake for a couple if days and hubby and son went down to the trout farm near Barnstaple and caught us tea. We also took a trip to Padstow to sample Rick Steins delights. I would highly recommend. New additions this time were the different food wagons that came in. All were Fab, stone baked pizzas matched the standards in Italy, Paella from The Cauldron was as nice as what I've sampled in Barcelona and I have to say Miles fish and chips were nicer then Magpies in Whitby! I'm sure I've missed so much out but I cannot stress how lovely and perfect this site is for couples and families. We love it!! Thank you for making our holidays full of memories, we are planning next years visits already!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikenJudith, Manager at Warcombe Farm Camping Park, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Gemma it is always a pleasure to have you stay with us. We look forward to you visiting us again soon. Thank you for the lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Just spent a week at this campsite and I have to say its the best site we have ever stayed at, the staff are very helpful and nothing is too much trouble the toilet and shower blocks are first class. I did find myself trying to find fault with the site but could find a thing wrong, I thought I found one small fault as I went to the toilet block and there was no soap in the dispenser... I thought aha got ya... Only to find a guy standing behind me waiting to fill it up. I will be going back to this site for sure, I can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikenJudith, Manager at Warcombe Farm Camping Park, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We are so glad that we exceeded your expectations and look forward to you visiting us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mortehoe
1.4 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
807 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
782 reviews
1.0 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 4 in Woolacombe
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Fortescue Arms
The Fortescue Arms
#3 of 4 in Woolacombe
105 reviews
4.7 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,748 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Smugglers Rest
The Smugglers Rest
#2 of 5 in Mortehoe
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warcombe Farm Camping Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warcombe Farm Camping Park

Property: Warcombe Farm Camping Park
Address: Station Road | EX34 7EJ, Mortehoe, Woolacombe, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woolacombe > Mortehoe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Mortehoe
Number of rooms: 260
Also Known As:
Warcombe Farm Camping Park Mortehoe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing