We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quirky place - great seafood!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mor Shellfish T Eat - MOVED

Mor Shellfish T Eat
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Quirky place - great seafood!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Read the reviews on Trip Advisor so had to give this one a go. Odd quirky place (see other reviews) and tucked away off the main Street in the little village of Morthoe. Great food - we ordered far too much. Closed now until the New Year as they shut during the Winter months. Worth a go though for a totally different experience from the norm!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank JacobsNanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    27
    10
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful Seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

On recommendation I stopped here for lunch...
The service was polite and efficient and the food was simply great, although my eyes were indeed too big for my belly and I had to leave quite a lot on my platter!

Go here if you enjoy fresh seafood and be prepared for the quirky, idiosyncratic fact that you will enjoy eating your food in a '60s council house!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank atkpjdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great crab!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

This is a family run restaurant run out of a home. Lovely sun trap in the garden sheltered from the breeze. We went for a late lunch at 2.45 and despite closing at 3pm, they were happy to take us. Simple fresh menu of crab, mussels, sardines, etc. baked potatoes for the fussy kids. Nothing fancy, just good fresh seafood.

Helpful?
Thank Linnersfordage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not Family Friendly!!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

We visited this restaurant on 21st August 2012. In our party of 12, we had seven children. We sat outside and the children busied themselves chatting away at the table and they were not being loud or naughty. We ordered our food, which was lovely but unfortunately we overheard the waitress and another four customers conversation. During this conversation, she said that she had been guarding their table for them and that they couldnt wait for us to leave as our children were getting on her nerves!! This is highly unprofessional and we were shocked that she was so rude!!!! This is clearly not a family friendly restaurant and I would avoid at all cost!! I'm sure there are better restaurants in the area!

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank BeccaHenshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Fantastic meal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

I loved Mortehoe Shellfish. It has a great homely atmosphere and I was made to feel immediately welcome. Being a bit of a shellfish novice I lent on the staff for advice and guidance on portions! The lobster and crab were absolutely delicious, it was the perfect place to relax and eat with friends after a day on the beach.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mor Shellfish T Eat also viewed

Mortehoe, Woolacombe
Mortehoe, Woolacombe
 
Mortehoe, Woolacombe
Mortehoe, Woolacombe
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing