We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (11)
Filter reviews
11 results
Traveler rating
9
1
0
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
9
1
0
1
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 11 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2015

What an amazing place. Reviews have sometimes been a little 'mixed' but this splendid mansion suited our requirements perfectly. We almost filled it with 14 adults and 6 kids (plus one dog) and each 'family' could have their own almost independent space for sleeping and showering, but all could eat together in the huge dining room. Ample parking too. We could not work out the "garden slopes upwards" warnings but basically it falls down rather steeply from the front to two terraces which were ideal for 5-aside badminton(!), so there was a possible hazard for young children. The rear garden has a gentle slope with picnic tables and chairs, fire pit and is ideal for BBQ's (but bring your own just to be sure - in fact there was one when we got there, but might have been bought and left by previous group). Good Tesco within 15 min direct open 6-midnight. Loads of fridge/freezer space, but only one double oven in the main kitchen. On our Sunday roast day we had to use the oven in the second downstairs kitchen to cook all four chickens! Two huge lounges and wonderful sunsets - even saw the elusive 'blue flash' one evening just as the sun disappeared! Great place and already tempted to return. But you need to book very early to get summer holiday slots and Cottages4You do not have a very good system for booking more than a year ahead. We got 'gazumped' after registering an interest in a particular week, when they started the official booking and discovered that someone had claimed it even earlier. Very expensive in school hols but almost half the price outside them - which I guess is not surprising.

  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
Thank Canalsidekid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2014

Lovely house for a large family gathering. Lots of space. Great views. Lots of walks close to the beach. Lots of games for children. Lovely village with tea rooms and three pubs . Local shops. Good bus service.

  • Stayed: September 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

We stayed last summer and staying again this summer. Fantastic house with lots of room for all. Gardens and grounds vast and views great. Not complete luxury but you wouldn't want that with toddlers and young children running around. Pity it's not a bit closer to London as the drive is the only tricky part!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Joandgav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Visited The Grange for the first time in December 2013 and fell in love with the house and the area. My second visit 6 months later was just as good.
The house is a spectacular property, admittedly with a slightly unusual layout, although if you go with a large group/multiple families it gives everyone a little more privacy. Plenty of bedrooms and bathrooms to go around, huge communal rooms, stunning views and great gardens.
Plenty to do in the area - walks along spectacular coastline, surfing (can hire equipment on the beach in Woolacombe), golf, shopping, pubs (The Ship Aground in the village has nice cider and friendly staff), restaurants (Squires fish restaurant in Braunton is excellent), Exmoore, plus Lynton and Lynmouth and Valley of the Rocks are close by.
Woolacombe is a short and pleasant walk away with a nice bakery (home made fudge and scones), a lovely beach, plenty of places to eat, pubs, bars, shops, adventure golf etc. For a longer walk you can do a lovely route from Rockham Bay near the house, along some fantastic coastline including Morte Point, and finishing up in Woolacombe.
Great value for a large group, will definitely be trying to get another visit in before the end of the year!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amilbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We have just come back from a weekend break at The Grange. There were 14 of us and we all had our own bedrooms with lots of extra room too.
The location is perfect and the house is set in beautiful grounds. The house is huge with lots of room for everyone to relax.
It is a short drive to Woolacombe with a clean beach which is perfect for surfing. Wetsuits can be hired just on the beach and well worth it. tip- get the shoes! keeps your feet warm if the sea is a bit nippy!
Will be planning our next trip down there soon.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews