We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shambles”
Review of The Grange

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mortehoe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Grange
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed for a second time in October 2013, with a view to having a relaxing week. For four of the six days that we were there, we had a team of tree surgeons and their associated chainsaws and vehicles, working from nine in the morning until four in the afternoon. We were not told about this, only from an embarrassed tree surgeon when he turned up on the Monday morning. We have written to the owner of the property and English Country Cottages, neither have had the decency to reply.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peterk1351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacqui_gilbert, Guest Relations Manager at The Grange, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

We had not seen this review when it was posted by the client unfortunately, neither did we receive the letter they mention in the review, or heard from English Country Cottages in response to the lettter the client also mentions sending to them. The guests had stayed at the Grange before and rebooked because they and enjoyed their stay at the house and the local area . We were upset to see that their stay was spoiled because of the tree felling during some of their stay. This work was necessary due mainly to storm damage making some trees unsafe in the gardens, and the work carried out at this time because the tree surgeon was very busy with fallen trees after storms in the area. We are due to write to the guests to offer them a discount if they book in the future, which we hope that they will accept. We have so many lovely comments from guests, and hope that anyone reading this will take this into account, and visit the Grange with all it has to offer for a fabulous family group holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (11)
There are newer reviews for The Grange
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 11 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2013

We had a wonderful week's holiday at the Grange. We went as part of a large group for a celebration, and it was the perfect location. It is absolutely huge, and was able to accommodate four families with 8 children with ease. The amazing amount of space meant that we were able to enjoy time as a group while still having some privacy. The children have never had so much space to play hide and seek! The games room was an added bonus. It was well-located; we were able to visit a different beach each day. We weren't able to use the outside space much; we were visiting over the coldest Easter that I remember, and we had snow. The house was toasty and warm, though, and we were able to enjoy the log fires too. The kitchen was well-equipped, and the second dishwasher was very useful. We're hoping to return next year (and keeping our fingers crossed for slightly warmer weather.)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Zoe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We spent a long time looking for the perfect location for my 40th birthday celebration and I am happy to say we found the best. The location had to meet some stringent criteria:
Large enough to take 5 families (the family groups were 2+1, 2+1, 2+4, 2+2,2+2)
Suit children between 7months and 7 years
Be close to the beach
Be very reasonably priced
Have a games room and a large garden.
From the website we thought the grange appeared to be big enough but we greatly underestimated its size. Our first thought on arriving was "we will never learn our way around this place!". It is huge and extremely well laid out to suit multiple families. It is evident that this house was once multiple let's or living spaces. Upstairs it is made up of grouped bedrooms with living space of their own. These are as follows:
1) 2 bedrooms: 1double 1 bunks and a shared living dining kitchen room and a bathroom
2) 4 bedrooms: 3doubles 1 twin a shared bathroom and a kitchen diner
3) A studio double bedroom with a kitchenette diner and a bathroom
4) 2bedrooms:a twin bedroom with a curtain and 6 steps down to a double bedroom with a shared bathroom. This doesn't havea kitchen
Downstairs 5) double and a twin with shared bathroom and kitchen
In addition downstairs there is a huge family kitchen 2 huge sitting rooms and an enormous dining room. The games room is accessed from outside the house. The kitchen is filled with all the cooking and eating implements you could ever need and the bonus is 2 dishwashers. There is also a lot of extra space with halls and utility rooms etc. the garden is also extremely big and divided into multiple spaces. Our kids never ran out of hide and seek enjoyment both in and out of the house. The house is extremely comfortable and it met all of our needs. The proximity to the beaches, which are all golden sands just added to the enjoyment. We are planning to return next year and I am encouraging everyone I know to go. Our only word of caution is do make sure you are ready to leave at 10 am as the cleaners will be there and if you order a supermarket delivery you will need to go down the drive to the van as it will not be able to get up to you. All I can say is I hope you enjoy it as much as we did.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SCHeape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This was the fifth time a big group of us twenty-somethings have stayed at the Grange, in five years! I think their regular clientele are large families but it suits us just as well as a base for the beach, surfing, golf and walking activities.

The house is an absolute warren, 2 huge sitting rooms, the biggest dining table I've ever seen, a games room, beautiful gardens, and 5 kitchens! Oh and 8 people can utilise a toilet at any one time.

It's a great place to stay, Mortehoe village with its collection of pubs is a 5 minute walk away, and the incredible Woolacombe beach is 5 mins by car or a 20 minute stroll. There is also a smaller beach within about 10mins but prepare to tackle some steps! Can't wait to go back again next year.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

The limited description of The Grange on the cottages4u website does not do the size of the property justice. It is huge! And like a labyrinth. Some of the accommodation is set out in what could be described as separate units - each with their own kitchen and ensuite facilities, which was ideal for us and something not made clear on the site. With two living rooms we could park the kids in one and enjoy our own adult space. The surrounding grounds are fantastic and were an adventure for the children. Mortehoe as a location is an ideal base for seeing North Devon and we enjoyed a lovely evening meal in the Chichester Arms - which was just a short walk away.

Downsides. The BBQ had seen better days a long time ago. The equipment in the games room is very old and shabby. And the check-in/check-out times are a tad unreasonable. Not being able to access the property until after 5.00pm on the first day and having to be out of it by 10.00am on the last meant whilst we were paying for a seven day stay, we effectively only got six. In fact we were surprised when people arrived unannounced at 9.30am and started cleaning - before we had finished packing up. We left feeling a bit uncomfortable.

That said, with a shop, pubs and the coastal path all a short walk away it's a great location, a fantastic property and a lovely place to stay for a large group with or without children.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank no_fibs_72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mortehoe
0.7 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
866 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Smugglers Rest
The Smugglers Rest
#2 of 4 in Mortehoe
69 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bay View Farmers
Bay View Farmers
#3 of 4 in Mortehoe
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grange

Address: The Grange North Morte Road, Mortehoe, Woolacombe EX34 7EG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woolacombe > Mortehoe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Mortehoe
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grange Mortehoe luxury accomodation North Devon. The Grange is a large luxury, Victorian house located in Mortehoe, North Devon nestling in two acres surrounded by beautiful Devon countryside designated an area of outstanding natural beauty, and backed by National Trust land. Spectacular sea views to the front of the house from an elevated position. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Grange Mortehoe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing