We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming place to stay.”
Review of Victoria House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mortehoe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Victoria House
Ranked #4 of 4 Mortehoe B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 27, 2010

If you read the rest of the reviews I am sure that almost! all of them are accurate. What else is there to say? Well the beds are so large and comfortable that you won't want to be bothered to get out of them. But hey that doesn't matter because you can eat your breakfast at a time to suit you. Well, be prepared to be spoiled, sorry Heather I couldn't eat it all. That's not a complaint it is an apology I just couldn't eat any more. If you are considering staying, book breakfast 20 minutes later and go for a quick walk first, you will need to, the food is just so good you won't be able to leave it alone. Victoria house offers a very high quality experience, it isn't cheap but why would it be? Relax though because this house isn't stuffy. The owners do however, make every effort to make your stay relaxed and comfortable. Thank you again David and Heather and well done.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Plumbre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 98 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2010

This is the second time we have stayed at The Victoria House B & B and we will definitely be returning again. Heather and David really make you feel like you are staying with friends. You have the luxury and quality of a 5 star hotel but with a very personal and relaxed atmosphere. You have your own front door key and can come and go as you please. You can choose the time for your breakfast and they are always on-hand to ask about the local area or to borrow a book. Heather and David make you feel completely relaxed and pampered. The breakfasts are just gorgeous with homemade bread every morning. The location is stunning at any time of year but in the sunshine there is no better place to be. I almost want to keep it a secret. It is now our little retreat and a place we will visit whenever we need to unwind. Thank you so much Heather and David.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmjayHuggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2009

My wife and I stayed at Victoria House, at the end of October 2009. What an amazing location! We stayed in the beach house which is situated on it's own decked area next to the main house and has simply incredible views of the sea below. The Beach House itself was cosy, homely, warm and nicely furnished and the perfect place for anyone visiting Woolacombe for a walking and surfing holiday like we were. I was able to walk 15 yards from the door of the beach house, over the road and check the waves from Woolacombe bay, across Barricane, Coomesgate and The Grunter. Then if I fancied a surf, it was 10 mins walk down to the water, amazing! With it's own entrance the Beach House is perfect for surfers; I left my surfboard and wetsuit out to dry on the secluded deck during the day between surfs!

Add to this an extremely and friendly landlady, Heather, serving gourmet breakfasts which just keep on coming (Especially in the case of the pancakes!) and you have one of the best places I can imagine for sea lovers visiting the North Devon Coast. We'll be back, Oh yes!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmaw100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2009

We have stayed in the Beach House at Victoria House twice now, and have thoroughly enjoyed it both times. The view is fantastic, looking out over Morte Point and Lundy Island. Heather is a great host and made us feel most welcome. Breakfast is served in the main house at a time to suit you and is of a very high standard.
Thanks for making our stay so relaxed, we will be back.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank V-boost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2009

I recently stayed here with my partner for a short break. I have stayed in many B&B's over the years around the west country are but i don't think i have been to anywhere with such an excellent setting or with hosts so relaxed it feels as if you are staying with friends and how anyone could feel differently is so far beyond me.

The area itself has so much to offer for all ages from horse riding and surfing to simply walking and taking in the surroundings (which we did alot of). There are more than enough places to eat out throughout the day and all very well priced, i have to say though that the exquisit breakfast selection we were afforded each morning kept us going all day until the evening and then each night to sit with a bottle of wine looking out to sea was quite simply out of this world.

I loved the fact that YOU could choose what time you had breakfast and out of courtesy each night was asked just to let Heather and David know what you wanted for breakfast and at what time, perfectly reasonable and hardly a chore, and apart from that the time is your own.

I certainly am going back the begining of next year and would not stay anywhere else....


Thank you Heather and David for contributing to a very memorable weekend and for your sins you WILL be seeing us again. Rob & Jo

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob5425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2009

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoJoLowestoft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2009

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lexi28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mortehoe
0.1 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
897 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
856 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Smugglers Rest
The Smugglers Rest
#2 of 4 in Mortehoe
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Mellstock House
Mellstock House
#5 of 15 in Combe Martin
205 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bay View Farmers
Bay View Farmers
#3 of 4 in Mortehoe
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria House

Address: Victoria House Victoria House Chapel Hill, Mortehoe, Woolacombe EX34 7DZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woolacombe > Mortehoe
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Mortehoe
Price Range: $120 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning sea views fill every window of this small, family run B&B on the dramatic North Devon coast. A special place for honeymoons as well as a relaxing environment for all guests. Recommended as a Special Place to stay by Alastair Sawday. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Victoria House Mortehoe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing