We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nowhere else compares!”
Review of Victoria House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mortehoe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Victoria House
Ranked #4 of 4 Mortehoe B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 10, 2013

This was our second visit and won't be our last. Heather and David can't do enough to make sure your stay is the best it can be. The accommodation is outstanding with the views to match and lying on the day bed with a nice chilled glass of wine watching the sunset is second to none. The room is well fitted out with a fridge (for that wine!), tea and coffee making facilities, hot chocolate, home made cookies (why would you want to go anywhere else?!), fluffy bathrobes, equally fluffy huge towels, a very comfortable bed to watch the sunset from if its a bit chilly outside, table and chairs on the decking if you want to dine on the decking rather than visiting one of the many local eateries, Clarins bathroom products, a breakfast which rivals no other.... Need I go on? If you want to park the car and not move again until its time to leave then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stukay123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 98 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2013

Forget paying double for any other Woolacombe Hotels this is by far better accomodation than a four star plus hotel. Breakfast and facilities definately five star. This was our longest break on our own for 18 years we will be back. Now starting our diets.

Room Tip: Beach House
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisandAndrea82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Could not recommend this B&B more highly. A little more expensive than many B&B's in this area, but totally worth the extra. You really are paying for quality here.

Freshly baked bread with breakfast every morning and freshly baked chocolate chip cookies in your room every day. High quality toileteries to pamper yourself with, lovely fluffy bathrobes and the main attraction - the view. I could not imagine a more breathtaking view than the one you get from the private deck - beautiful during the day but absolutely stunning at sunset. The room is a chalet type building, high enough up to treat to you a great view, but not too high - it's the view that leaves you breathless, not the climb! The room is not enormous, but it is plenty big enough for a couple. This is definitely a couples B&B, rather than a family one.

If you forced me to make any sort of critisism, it would be that the parking can be a little tight, which is true for almost any B&B in this area of Devon - when the Creator put in the scenery, he certainly wasn't thinking of how difficult it would make parking. However, there is a private off-road parking space and a garage, both of which you share with the owners on a first come, first served basis, and we did not have any difficulties at all during our stay.

Heather makes you feel genuinely welcome and really seems to enjoy pampering you at breakfast and making your stay memorable. She is a born hostess and the little touches she brings to the stay really makes it special.

I really would very strongly recommend this B&B to any couples looking for something a bit special.

Room Tip: There is only one room available, which directly faces the west. The room may get warm in the after...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alyson S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

An amazing place to stay. Spectacular coastal views from dawn to dusk. The Beach House was faultless and the breakfasts too. So much attention to detail - everything that a guest could want and more really. Thank you so much Heather and David. We will be back to see you soon.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kayb2710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Victoria House, the room; the hosts; the breakfast; the view from the room and the location are all simply brilliant. On a short get away break we were fortunate to pick the Victoria House, there were fresh baked cookies on arrival and a secluded deck area and day bed to relax in after the journey. Heather and David are genuinely warm, friendly and knowledgable hosts and have created a fantastic place to unwind and enjoy. The house is just yards from the coastal path and you can hear the sound of the sea from your room, but its not so loud as to be intrusive. We will try and book here again as our first choice when we come back to Devon.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

A genuinely refreshing experience, with a superb room overlooking spectacular coastline. From the home-baked biscuits awaiting you on arrival to the best breakfast spread I can recall, the food is wonderful and host Heather is a generous, warm person with a real passion for the area. The sun deck and day bed round off an all-round fantastic experience, with great pubs, restaurants and scenery providing a plethora of options.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kentish1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We had four wonderful days in the "Beach House" Breakfast was delicious,great hosts,beautiful walks,lovely suppers at the Chichester Arms...our second visit and we can't wait to go again.Would highly rec

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dontgothere001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Victoria House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria House

Address: Victoria House Victoria House Chapel Hill, Mortehoe, Woolacombe EX34 7DZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woolacombe > Mortehoe
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Mortehoe
Price Range: $126 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning sea views fill every window of this small, family run B&B on the dramatic North Devon coast. A special place for honeymoons as well as a relaxing environment for all guests. Recommended as a Special Place to stay by Alastair Sawday. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Victoria House Mortehoe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing