We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (98)
Filter reviews
98 results
Traveler rating
87
7
2
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
87
7
2
0
2
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 98 reviews
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We have just returned from a lovely & relaxing stay at Victoria House.
This is our 2nd visit and we weren't let down, everything was a wonderful as we'd remembered.
The breakfast are amazing and we didn't need to eat again till dinner!!
Heather & David were as welcoming as ever.
We slept like logs which was just what the doctor ordered.
Will be returning again in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hay156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
r0xx, Owner at Victoria House, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2012

Thank you for your comments, it was lovely to see you again. We have started up a Facebook account for Victoria House Bed and Breakfast, you are the first to be mentioned! We just wanted to share what a lovely start to the season it was to have 2 sets of lovely guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

We stayed in the Beach house for August bank holiday last year. I meant to write a review then. Anyway, it was absolutley wonderful. Thank you so much Heather and Dave. You really couldn't improve on anything. So sorry that we've missed out on the same weekend this year, but we'll be back in August sometime. It was heaven snuggled on the day bed on the decking drinking chilled white wine and watching the sunset over the bay. WOW!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmjayHuggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
r0xx, Owner at Victoria House, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2012

I'm so pleased that we have managed to rearrange things so that you can come back for August Bank Holiday, we are so looking forward to seeing you.
We have met some wonderful people in the 9 years we have been doing B&B and welcoming people back is like having family come to visit!
See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

We have just spent a brilliant weekend staying in the lovely beach house annexe of Victoria House. Everything was perfect - the hosts were really welcoming and friendly, ready to do anything for us but without being at all intrusive. The accommodation is very comfortable - lovely and warm despite low night-time temperatures outside! The view from the room is exceptional - a panorama of the bay and the island of Lundy, with a beautiful sunset enjoyed fron the comfort and privacy of the outside deck, which really does make the whole experience something pretty special! The breakfast is to die for and it is so nice being able to take your time in the morning and have a late breakfast if you want to. The surrounding area is full of lovely walks and the pub in Mortehoe village (Chichester Arms) is close by and well worth a visit. Impossible to see how anyone could fault this B and B - thank God we were not put off by a single bad review since our experience was totally positive - we are going to recommend it all our friends and will definitely be back! Robin and Marie-Christine - Bristol.

Room Tip: The beach house is really special!
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robin428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
r0xx, Owner at Victoria House, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2012

Thank you Robin and Marie-Christine, it was lovely to meet you both. We look forward to welcoming you back when it's nice and warm and you can sit on the day bed and enjoy a glass or two!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

My partner Ben and I stayed recently at this fantastic bed and breakfast. We also came for Valentine's day last year and had a wonderful time. We stayed in the boathouse which is secluded and private with stunning views across the sea. Heather and David were extremely kind and accommodating, no request was too small and the breakfasts were great - amazing pancakes kept coming - and Heather had even arranged my special diet requests. The room was cosy with special (Clarins!!) extras in the bathroom and the location is next to the best beaches in North Devon. We highly recommend this place - we're so happy we found it.

Room Tip: They're all good and have great views.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahburfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

We booked this b&b as it seemed so unique and beautiful from the pictures. And we were impressed with the amount of positive feedback on this website. We were definitely not disappointed. Waking up in egyptian cotton sheets in our own little beach house. The sounds of the wind and sea outside but we were warm and cosy inside. And our own terrace with incredible views. It was bliss to be sitting in bed with a cuppa looking at the view. I loved the fact that we had our own little bit of privacy in the beach house, but Heather showed me a bedroom in the main house and that was so beautiful too. I'll be torn next time! The wonderful breakfast was better than anything i've ever had.....home baked bread, extensive choice and nothing was too much trouble for Heather and David.
All in all this is not your average b&b. It is so much better....

Room Tip: Beach house is something a bit different and certainly worth a look...beautiful antique bedstead and en-suite shower room. Main rooms in the house are beautifully presented and have gorgeous bathrooms.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EMARYL_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews