We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tinhay Mill Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 2 Lifton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Eastcote
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly Recommended”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights in April while in Launceston for a wedding. Fabulous room, excellent home cooked food. Paul and Margaret couldn't have made us more welcome. They both showed particular thoughtfullness and kindness when I had a really bad back during our stay. Thank you both so much for everything! Hope to be back when we are down your way again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    13
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
65
12
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sala, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

You feel welcome here from the start. Clean room, excellent food, friendly atmosphere, wonderful breakfast. We will be coming here again for sure. The managers make you feel at home. It´s a excellent location for drives to surrounding sights in both Devon and Cornwall.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tongala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delabole
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

A big thank you to Margaret and Paul , we had a lovely seafood evening last night.
Superb food as always ,our favourite restaurants a little gem just over the border
into Devon, see you soon,We have going here over six years and as always excellent

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank football1677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I first stayed at Tinhay Mill in May 2003, on a fishing trip with friends, from that point on we have returned every year since. From our first stay Margaret, Paul and their staff have always looked after us extremely well and made us feel very welcome.
Our needs, as a group of fly fishermen, are for a hearty breakfast & a good evening meal. Margaret has never disappointed us with her superb cooking, the breakfast is especially good and Paul has always made sure we are well watered! (Strictly evenings only!).
The rooms are always clean, comfortable & smart, a welcome place to rest a weary head after a long days fishing.
I'm looking forward to a G & T in the bar before my next evening meal!
10 out of 10 for Margaret & Paul.

Nick Totman.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Although at the top end of the b & b range we were at least made aware of our room price beforehand even if different to that quoted on the website. Our room was large and comfortable. We do have concerns about the cost of the food which we could not marry up with the price quoted on the website and we felt was excessive in any event. We were later advised that the website prices had not been updated. I had a dish of pork with a few vegetables at £18.75 which appeared to be one of, if not the cheapest main dish on the menu, followed by a coffee at £6.50. This was fine but overpriced in mine and other diners opinions. At no time were we advised that there was a capped price of £23.50 for residents for two courses which is mentioned on the website. Again there was a statement that a surcharge could be applicable to some dishes. How confusing does it all need to be?

The breakfast was lovely and Paul and Margaret were very friendly..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I would just like to say that the welcome we received was second to none. Margaret and Paul were very friendly and made us feel as though we were visiting friends. Nothing was too much trouble which was evident by the way that our dietary needs were catered for without fuss (always a concern when we visit a new place). The food was of a very high standard and the atmosphere was relaxing. We only stayed for three nights but were able to sample the dinner menu which was lovely. The room was clean and very comfortable. Would thoroughly recommend to friends and hope to stay again when we next visit Cornwall.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank June C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Hotel was excellent, the location was good, the rooms were comfortable and clean and the service was great, the only issue was that it was quite cold as the heating wasn't on - otherwise i would have scored this 5/5.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lifton
0.5 mi away
Arundell Arms Hotel
Arundell Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lifton
510 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lifton Hall Hotel
Lifton Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lifton
339 reviews
8.6 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
387 reviews
20.0 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
497 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Endsleigh
Hotel Endsleigh
#1 of 1 in Milton Abbot
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tinhay Mill Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tinhay Mill Guesthouse

Property: Tinhay Mill Guesthouse
Address: Tinhay Mill Guest House | Tinhay, Lifton PL16 0AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Lifton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lifton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tinhay Mill Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the quiet village of Lifton, 2 miles from Cornwall, 10 miles from Dartmoor, 1 mile from the A30 and 38 miles from the M5-J31. Recently refurbished throughout, Tinhay Mill sets new standards for guest house accommodation. Bedrooms are spacious and well equipped with guest amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tinhay Mill Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tinhay Mill Guesthouse Lifton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing