We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10 Years at Tinhay Mill!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tinhay Mill Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 2 Lifton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I first stayed at Tinhay Mill in May 2003, on a fishing trip with friends, from that point on we have returned every year since. From our first stay Margaret, Paul and their staff have always looked after us extremely well and made us feel very welcome.
Our needs, as a group of fly fishermen, are for a hearty breakfast & a good evening meal. Margaret has never disappointed us with her superb cooking, the breakfast is especially good and Paul has always made sure we are well watered! (Strictly evenings only!).
The rooms are always clean, comfortable & smart, a welcome place to rest a weary head after a long days fishing.
I'm looking forward to a G & T in the bar before my next evening meal!
10 out of 10 for Margaret & Paul.

Nick Totman.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
There are newer reviews for Tinhay Mill Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 137 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2012

Although at the top end of the b & b range we were at least made aware of our room price beforehand even if different to that quoted on the website. Our room was large and comfortable. We do have concerns about the cost of the food which we could not marry up with the price quoted on the website and we felt was excessive in any event. We were later advised that the website prices had not been updated. I had a dish of pork with a few vegetables at £18.75 which appeared to be one of, if not the cheapest main dish on the menu, followed by a coffee at £6.50. This was fine but overpriced in mine and other diners opinions. At no time were we advised that there was a capped price of £23.50 for residents for two courses which is mentioned on the website. Again there was a statement that a surcharge could be applicable to some dishes. How confusing does it all need to be?

The breakfast was lovely and Paul and Margaret were very friendly..

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeremy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I would just like to say that the welcome we received was second to none. Margaret and Paul were very friendly and made us feel as though we were visiting friends. Nothing was too much trouble which was evident by the way that our dietary needs were catered for without fuss (always a concern when we visit a new place). The food was of a very high standard and the atmosphere was relaxing. We only stayed for three nights but were able to sample the dinner menu which was lovely. The room was clean and very comfortable. Would thoroughly recommend to friends and hope to stay again when we next visit Cornwall.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank June C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Hotel was excellent, the location was good, the rooms were comfortable and clean and the service was great, the only issue was that it was quite cold as the heating wasn't on - otherwise i would have scored this 5/5.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Just returned orm a weekend at Tinhay, the owners Margaret and her husband, were great hosts, very attentative and looked after us, made people feel very welsome, a true home from home experience.

The food was excellent, gourmet dining, great value, the rooms whilst a little dated offered comfort and charm.

Would we go again, absolutely yes..........

Room Tip: Any room at this guest house is a good choice, if I had one critisism, it would be that the curtains...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holiday_Snobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

My wife and I have stayed here for the fourth year running, and will be booking again for next year too - it’s such a lovely place - you must book and see for yourself. We had a wonderful time, it’s more than a Guest House, very relaxing, and we had a most enjoyable stay. Like all the other reviews, I would like to repeat, the breakfasts and all the other meals are fantastic, truly excellent home cooking - and nothing is too much trouble if you are like me a fussy eater and ask for something different. The rooms are spacious, lovely bed linen, fresh and extremely clean. Margaret and Paul are so helpful, friendly and welcoming. Thank you very much for such a lovely relaxing week. Mrs & Mrs Reed.

Room Tip: We stayed in both the standard and superior rooms - both excellent.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We recently stayed here on a long distance cycling trip riding from Cornwall to Suffolk. It was a wise choice, a great room, super bathroom and the most wonderful dinner. I look forward to returning on future occasions.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lifton
0.2 mi away
Lifton Hall Hotel
Lifton Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lifton
354 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arundell Arms Hotel
Arundell Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lifton
517 reviews
4.1 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hotel Endsleigh
Hotel Endsleigh
#1 of 1 in Milton Abbot
455 reviews
8.6 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
334 reviews
20.0 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tinhay Mill Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tinhay Mill Guesthouse

Address: Tinhay Mill Guest House | Tinhay, Lifton PL16 0AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Lifton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lifton
Price Range: $114 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tinhay Mill Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the quiet village of Lifton, 2 miles from Cornwall, 10 miles from Dartmoor, 1 mile from the A30 and 38 miles from the M5-J31. Recently refurbished throughout, Tinhay Mill sets new standards for guest house accommodation. Bedrooms are spacious and well equipped with guest amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tinhay Mill Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tinhay Mill Guesthouse Lifton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing