We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make the effort to find this gem.”
Review of Lifton Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lifton Hall Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lifton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Lifton Hall Hotel is an architecturally pleasing building with adequate parking and easy access to the A30, Launceston and Tavistock. The entrance is through an old arched front door into the Reception hall which has a winding staircase and a high ceiling with a chandalier, it is very welcoming. To the right is a lovely light and sunny room with comfortable seating and tables where you can enjoy coffee, lunch, dinner or enjoy a drink sitting in the large bay window. The Bar is cosy with an open log fire in the Winter and always has lovely friendly staff to help you, The food is delicious, either from the Menu or from the Specials Board which changes daily. There is a large patio to while away sunny days. It is truly a gem that should not be missed. Say Hello to the owners Richard & Rob as they will be there to serve you.

Room Tip: I havn't stayed at the Hotel but I have seen the rooms and they are beautifully furnished with p...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leigh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (353)
There are newer reviews for Lifton Hall Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 353 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2013

What a wonderful find. Have been raving about the place since we got back. Wonderful informal, comfy hotel. Very helpful owners and lovely, helpful, smiley bar staff.
The food was excellent and reasonably priced, and the bar full of locals which made for a really nice atmosphere. We could've eaten in the restaurant, but enjoyed the buzz of the bar. Must be good if the locals use it as well!
Well placed for other places of interest like the Eden Project.

Room Tip: Our room was away from the main road, but having said that the main road isn't exactly busy alth...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrishinBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Just had an excellent lunch there. The food cooked to a good standard , the service was friendly and the bar where we ate had a nice country feel to it. Very enjoyable, will definitely go there again. Thank you.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank artforartssake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Friendly, informal village hotel. Our room was spotlessly clean, prettily decorated and quiet with an outlook towards the church.
Dinner was well cooked with a good selection on offer and our fish of the day choice was John Dory - delicious ! It can be taken in the bar but as it was busy we chose the dining room with no problem at all.
Breakfast was equally good with plenty of choice - do try the home-made marmalade.
A well-sited spot with easy access to North Devon and Cornwall but the village retains its quiet charm.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Go here most weekends for food and a few drinks, your always welcome we go a group of us and they always cater for us regardless how busy they are it's always great food and service with a smile from the friendly staff !

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LiftonHall, Owner at Lifton Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Thanks Steve - it's a pleasure to see you all each week!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

One of the most enjoyable weekends away we've ever been on, and all down to Richard and everyone else at Lifton Hall. Had a 3 course meal each included in our voucher deal, and they accomodated us even though we didn't get there until 8.45pm on the Friday! Enjoyed food so much the first night we ate there the second night too- pub food exactly as it should be, home cooked filling meals, proper chips, and the surf and turf was absolutely perfect! Great selection behind the bar too and all really well priced.
Our room was huge and the decor was lovely; as well as the big bed, we had a settee and wingback chair to choose from. The bathroom was large and clean. Breakfast again was great, with nothing too much trouble. All of the team were always on hand with advice about the area and things to do, and we were nearly offered some freebies but were told they'd run out unfortunately!
All in all, a great trip, even if the weather wasn't on our side! We've recommended Lifton Hall to all of our family, and we'll definitely be returning.
Aled and Vicki (Caledonia Room last weekend!)

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AledWills91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LiftonHall, Owner at Lifton Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Hi and many thanks for your lovely review. We all work hard to make everyone feel relaxed and welcome so it's great to hear that we continue to be 'getting things right' for people.

Thanks again for your words - and hope to see you another time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

A friend & I spent 2 nights here on a KGB voucher....an unbeatable deal! The building is lovely and the twin room that we had was spacious, clean and very comfortable. The quality of the beds & bedding was very good. The breakfasts were excellent, amongst the best I have sampled on my extensive travels, there is nothing I would do to change/improve. The homemade preserves, particularly the marmalade, were delicious, a great touch. Stupidly we did not read our voucher properly and as we had eaten a late lunch on the first day we could not take advantage of the full meal offered in the deal that evening, we just had fish & salad and nachos (they were particularly tasty). We decided to eat dinner at the hotel on the second night but I was disappointed by a poor steak. I did mention this & was told that it would be discussed with the butcher. I appreciate that you cannot always tell the true quality of meat until it is eaten but if I had been the hotelier I would perhaps have offered a jar of the homemade preserve, it would not have cost much and would have been a nice gesture.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANGELA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LiftonHall, Owner at Lifton Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Hi and many thanks for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

I'm sorry you were disappointed with your steak. On further investigation it seems that you didn't mention anything to the waiting staff on the night of your meal, and only spoke about it when you were checking out. We always encourage people to mention something that isn't satisfactory at the time, when we have the chance to put it right - which is why we always do a 'check-back' when people have their main meals. We would have been more than happy to cook you a second steak (or even prepare something else), but unfortunately, there is very little we can do about it the following day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lifton
0.3 mi away
Arundell Arms Hotel
Arundell Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lifton
516 reviews
4.3 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
396 reviews
17.9 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,350 reviews
20.2 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
514 reviews
8.0 mi away
Horn of Plenty
Horn of Plenty
#1 of 1 in Gulworthy
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lifton Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lifton Hall Hotel

Address: New Road, Lifton PL16 0DR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Lifton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lifton
Price Range: $130 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lifton Hall Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the Devon Cornwall, the Lifton Hall Hotel is ideally situated for exploring the Southwest. We're a family-run hotel offering great service in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. We have a cozy bar, with open fires, a stylish restaurant and 10 large, individual rooms. Families are welcome, as are pets. The hotel is no smoking throughout. Private car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Lifton Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lifton Hall Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing