We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and friendly”
Review of Lifton Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lifton Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lifton
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cozy and friendly”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We have just returned home from a two week ramble through Cornwall and Devon. Our last three nights were spent at Lifton Hall. It's the quintessential country inn - lovely comfortable rooms, a cozy atmosphere (especially in the pub) and really good dinners after a long day of exploring the countryside. The bed we had (Churchill Room) was really comfortable and the room spacious and quiet, all of the people were friendly and gave great service. We enjoyed chatting with the locals in the pub in the evening. The location is central for all sorts of things to see and do (we went to Tintagel and Lanhydrock and look forward to coming back for hiking on Dartmoor). Thanks folks for a terrific stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scott s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    59
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
44
218
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winscombe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We have just returned home from a wander through Devon and Cornwall down memory lane where we stayed two nights at the Lifton Hall Hotel. The last time we stayed was 50 years ago on our way back from a Scilly Isles honeymoon. We remembered liking it very much at that time but was delighted to like it even more now. Everything was tickety-boo. Service, bedrooms, cleanliness, hospitality, meals (dinner and breakfast) couldn't be faulted (have I left anything out?). Well done in presenting a smoothly run establishment.
Susan and Bernard Abbott
Winscombe, North Somerset.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Talbot
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We have just come back from a 2 night stay at this hotel. The room (Beckford) was very nice with a large comfortable bed.The food was splendid and the wines reasonably priced and very drinkable. We ate in both nights of our stay. Everyone we spoke to was extremely friendly and the service in the bar/restaurant was just right, attentive but not intrusive. The village of Lifton is conveniently central as a base for visiting many other places. We hope to return in the sunshine next time so that we can sit outside on the patio.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We have been for a lovely break at this hotel, we do travel quite a few places for weekends, but I must recommend this hotel, there was nothing I could fault. We had a lovely clean room, and the meals were delicious and well proportioned. Staff were friendly and very informative. We found several walks for after dinner stroll. The marmalade and jam we they sell is so yummy. Thoroughly look forward to next stay, beautiful part of the world.

Room Tip: Choose suite with spa so good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suze C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LiftonHall, Owner at Lifton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Hello Suze

Many thanks for your review. I'm glad that you enjoyed our little hotel and the area. Lifton really is lovely (especially in the sunshine) and we're lucky to live and work here.

I'm glad also that you liked our jams and marmalade. They're proving very popular and we seem to be making a new batch every few weeks! Luckily we're heading into fruit season and there are loads of friends in the village with plenty to spare - so there'll be plenty of new, locally sourced flavours available.

Thanks again for your review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Stayed here for two nights, what a fabulous hotel. Staff were excellent as was the freshly cooked home made food. I struggled to eat all of the pie of the day. Pretty little village setting and happily allowed my dog to stay as well. Their home made fig chutney is the best I've tasted.

Room Tip: The Caledonia Room has 2 lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anne186460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LiftonHall, Owner at Lifton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Hi Anne

Many thanks for your kind words. It's great to get feedback as it helps us to improve our service. From your review I think the only thing we could change would be to reduce the size of the Pie of the Day - only kidding, we're not going to do that!!

Thanks again for taking the time to use TripAdvisor, we really appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

We've just returned from a 2 night KGB deal that offered excellent value for money. We also tagged on an extra couple of nights, and very pleased we did - the hotel sits in a lovely little village, very well located for days out to either the south or west coast without too much driving.

The hotel was incredibly clean and our room (Rademon) was a good size. The meals on offer were generous, tasty and always delivered quickly and with a smile. Cooked breakfast was yummy and a particular favourite was the porridge with cinnamon raisins.

All in all, a very well run hotel that we'll have no problem recommending to others! Thanks!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripteasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LiftonHall, Owner at Lifton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Hi Tripteasy

Thanks for your great review. I'm really pleased you enjoyed your visit to Lifton Hall and to West Devon.

It was a shame that you left behind your jams - when you visit next time you'll have to buy some more.

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Hi visited 7th 8th May..Churchill room.Food. Everthing 100% PERFECT could not recomend this hotel enough..... Please go and enjoy...Will be back please email..Handy for north coast cornwall also Dartmoor for fishing or just looking.First time review any where

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheese99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LiftonHall, Owner at Lifton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Hi there and many thanks for making us your first ever review - we really appreciate it!

I'm really glad that you enjoyed your stay so much as to say it was 100% perfect - we're really chuffed to read that. I will pass on your comments to the team, who all like to read our reviews.

Thanks again - and hope to see you very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lifton
0.3 mi away
Arundell Arms Hotel
Arundell Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lifton
511 reviews
4.3 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
391 reviews
17.9 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
503 reviews
8.7 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
322 reviews
21.2 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lifton Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lifton Hall Hotel

Property: Lifton Hall Hotel
Address: New Road, Lifton PL16 0DR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Lifton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lifton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lifton Hall Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the Devon Cornwall, the Lifton Hall Hotel is ideally situated for exploring the Southwest. We're a family-run hotel offering great service in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. We have a cozy bar, with open fires, a stylish restaurant and 10 large, individual rooms. Families are welcome, as are pets. The hotel is no smoking throughout. Private car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Lifton Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lifton Hall Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing