We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming small hotel with excellent staff”
Review of Lifton Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lifton Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lifton
Certificate of Excellence
bristol
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Charming small hotel with excellent staff”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

kgb weekend deal.
Lovely hotel with charming owners and staff (please introduce yourselves as hadnt a clue who was who). Food truly great-variety, hot,beautiful presentation-nothing too much trouble.Fresh fruit available with yogurt for breakfast- only had to ask .
Room-Thatcher was pretty and quiet. Could have done with bigger bed but slept well enough. Should have asked for 1 more hand towel but as it was for 2 nights we managed-i'm sure it wouldnt have been a problem tho as we asked for extra pillows and they appeared almost instantly! Clean, tidy and homely.
thoroughly recommended. Would happily visit again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMLBRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    59
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
44
218
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Having recently spent a few days at the Lifton, we can only sing the praises of this little gem ideally located for exploring the delights of Devon and Cornwall.

Our room (Churchill) was capacious, tastefully decorated in sympathy with the Grade II listed Hall and immaculately clean and with open views to the surrounding countryside and area.
All the staff were most welcoming, helpful and polite without being imposing with owners Richard and Jonathan friendly and most professional in every aspect.

The food could not be faulted in quality, presentation and again service being to the same high standard, friendly and informative.

We shall most certainly return to the Lifton and look forward to enjoying all it has to offer once again.

A truly exceptional hotel with a tasteful, beautiful, friendly atmosphere providing great memories for all who stay.

Adam & Shirley

Room Tip: Talk to Richard or Jonathan, all the rooms are generous and immaculate but with differing layouts an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adlam63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LiftonHall, Owner at Lifton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Hello guys and many thanks for your review.

It's interesting that you were in the same room as the previous reviewer - and just goes to show that you can't please everyone, but we're really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I will pass on your comments to the staff who like to read the reviews. They're a great team.

Thansk again for taking the time to write your review - we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I was on a business trip to the area and did not expect to stay another day. I booked in late to their last room and was given a discount. I did not order breakfast as they could not provide fresh fruit salad, plain quality yoghurt, cheese or salmon and I dont like bread and fry ups. I normally stay in 4 or 5 star so I was disappointed with this hotel and felt uncomfortable.

The bedroom was clean and large but was poorly decorated. It look twice as classy on the web as it does in reality. There was free wifi but there was NO phone signal. Guest were wandering round the grounds trying to communicate.

The bathroom and bedroom furniture was either junk shop or B and Q. It was quality in the corridors and hall. Pictures in the room were photocopies in a boots frame. The bathroom sink had a lux container attached to the wall and the soap would not come out. The same in the shower. The towels were not very fluffy or absorbant and the kettle was so small that you would not be able to make two cups. The teas were PG tips.

The windows were not well painted and secondary glazed rather than double glazed.

For this pleasure I PAID £80. never again.

I have previously stayed at the Arundell Hotel which is much better next door but they were full this time and they do charge more....

Staff were friendly and accommodating

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank watchdogBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LiftonHall, Owner at Lifton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
We appreciate that that we can't please all the people, all the time! We know that if you normally stay in a particular place but have to stay somewhere else at the last minute, it has the potential not to be quite as satisfactory - especially if you normally stay in 4 or 5 star! However, I feel (for the record) that I should still address your 'nit-picking' inaccuracies.

We can provide fresh fruit salad, yoghurt and cheese for breakfast, and do so when asked - did you ask anyone? I'll admit we don't have salmon on our breakfast menu, but it's not something we ever get asked for! Our breakfasts are extremely popular. As well as the high quality items we use in our 'fry-ups' we also provide a selection of dried fruits and cereals, as well as fresh porridge accompanied by homemade cinnamon raisins.

Our furniture comes from a variety of places - it's part of our eclectic style - but I don't think any of it has come from a junk shop.

We may not have mobile phone signal (one of the downsides of being situated in a geographical dip in the countryside), but each room does have one of those "old-fashioned" things called a 'phone' that work just as well as any mobile!

We don't provide individual bottled shower gels and shampoos as they create an enormous amount of waste. We find that most guests travel with their own products anyway. I'm sorry if you found the action of squeezing the bottle difficult - perhaps if we'd been a 5 star hotel we could have had someone on standby to do it for you!!

Our kettles are 'standard hotel issue' size. They can comfortably boil enough water for two people. We provide a selection of tea bags (including organic fruit teas!) and not just PG - not that there's anything wrong with PG - it is the nation's favourite cuppa!

Our towels are fluffy and absorbent. We regularly check them and replace any that are beginning to be worn. I admit some of our pictures are prints, although I don't think we got the frames in Boot's, if we'd known you were coming we could have got our originals out of storage! I'm sorry our decorator doesn't come up to your standards (we think he's very good), or that the secondary glazing is so offensive (sadly as a listed building we're quite limited in what we can do).

We welcome feedback from our guests; it helps us to improve the service we provide. However, I don't think there's anything in your review that is constructive or helpful. From the outset we were never going to be able to live up to your 5 star standards, which beggars the question why you bothered to take the time to right your review?

It also seems a little unfair that you have chosen to tarnish our otherwise great TripAdvisor reviews, when all we did was offer you respite in your hour of need - and at a discounted rate!

It's interesting that our annual Visit Britain assessment, that we pass comfortably each year, isn't anywhere near as detailed and vitriolic as your review!!!

Oh, and one last thing. You actually paid £70 and not 80!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Lifton Hall Hotel for a weekend break.
Really friendly hosts and staff. Food excellent especially the panna cotta with the violet syrup yummy!!
Great breakfast plenty of choice and good portions, bedroom good although I would have liked a room with king size bed!

Would definitely stay here again and recommend to all our friends.

Thanks for a great stay.

Room Tip: They only have one room with a double bed, the others are king size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LiftonHall, Owner at Lifton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Hi Yvonne and many thanks for your lovely words. We're really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon - and promise you a bigger bed next time!!

Did your son manage to find the violet syrup? If he found a UK supplier please let us know - our bottle is running low!

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Another KGB stay! Far exceeded expectations. We joined in with the monthly food night and enjoyed an excellent Italian meal; food was so good we ate off the a la carte menu on the second night. Breakfast was again excellent with a wide range of options, the bacon was first class! Staff were very welcoming and helpful. We had our small dog with us and she was also made welcome as we're other we'll behaved dogs. We would happily pay the full rate for a future stay at this hotel and would recommend it for a relaxing and enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: All rooms appeared to be good. We were in Thatcher - not a name we would have chosen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LiftonHall, Owner at Lifton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Hello and many thanks for taking the time to put finger to keyboard and write your review - we really appreciate it.

I'm glad that your dog enjoyed her stay too. We have lots of "doggie" hotel guests and pub-regulars, who are all welcome (and enjoy the chews!) Some of our regular dogs drag their owners in every day!

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We also bought a 'KGB' deal and we also echo all the favourable comments of previous guests. Both my girlfriend and I spend lots of time in 'corporate hotels'.and we far prefer this type of relaxed establishment. To get back from a brisk walk on the moors at -3c and sit by the fire with a pint of Tribute and the newspaper is heavenly. We ate here both nights, once off the set menu and once off a la carte. Both were excellent. There are many Asian influences which really suited my Japanese girlfriend. Breakfasts were top notch. The team run this hotel in a very relaxed yet efficient and friendly way. We were in Caladonia - a very nice and spacious room with nice bathroom and pleasant, powerful electric shower. Go there!

Room Tip: We were in Caladonia, we had a peek in some other rooms - they all look great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, Cornwall
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

My wife and I bought a deal on KGB for a two night stay including an evening meal, we do these regularly as it makes it affordable to get away every few weeks.
The welcome we received was friendly and our first impressions of the hotel were great, our room was quite large, the bed very comfortable and a good size bathroom .
The staff were very friendly and attentive and the food was of a very high standard, breakfast was very good with good quality ingredients cooked very well.
All in all we had a very nice time and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LARTER1807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lifton
0.3 mi away
Arundell Arms Hotel
Arundell Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lifton
512 reviews
4.3 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
391 reviews
17.9 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
504 reviews
8.7 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
324 reviews
21.2 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lifton Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lifton Hall Hotel

Property: Lifton Hall Hotel
Address: New Road, Lifton PL16 0DR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Lifton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lifton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lifton Hall Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the Devon Cornwall, the Lifton Hall Hotel is ideally situated for exploring the Southwest. We're a family-run hotel offering great service in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. We have a cozy bar, with open fires, a stylish restaurant and 10 large, individual rooms. Families are welcome, as are pets. The hotel is no smoking throughout. Private car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Lifton Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lifton Hall Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing