We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wine Dined and Slept”
Review of Lifton Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lifton Hall Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lifton
Certificate of Excellence
Chresham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wine Dined and Slept”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Service,Food and accommodation were brilliant .Staff very helpful and the hotel was spotlessly. clean. Couldn't wish for anything more..We were a group of 19 and we agreed and would return to the hotel again. Excluded in the group were people from Aussie who were very impressed with hotel.

Room Tip: Try it you will enjoy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bill V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    55
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
39
205
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We had a meal at the Lifton Hall Hotel. The reception we received was dreadful, when we were eventually served, the service was, slow, rude, grumpy and very unwilling. The food was only ok, nothing special for the money that we had to pay - we would certainly not go back or advise friends, travellers or locals to bother to waste their time and money ever going here.

Room Tip: Don't bother - not worth it - you will be disappointed if you have a meal here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gully87654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LiftonHall, Owner at Lifton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Many thanks for your review, it really made us smile - but also wonder if it was actually here you came to eat? Your comments are so contradictory to nearly every other review we've had, and to the feedback we get from our customers and guests, that we were left thinking perhaps you'd been somewhere else?

You haven't made any specific comments that I can defend. However, without wishing to blow our own trumpets too much, our food is excellent and our service is relaxed, warm and friendly.

We're sorry that you didn't enjoy your Lifton Hall experience - you're certainly in a minority, and perhaps we're just not the right place for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london, uk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

from Lifton Hall and missing it already. We have had a lovely break and I want to thank Grace who was brilliant with us and really helpful with our dog Sid. Love your cosy hotel and nothing is too much trouble. Wish I had known about it when I lived in Launceston two years ago. Thanks all Jacqui and Stuart Connell

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orlandofanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LiftonHall, Owner at Lifton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Hi Jacqui and Stuart and many thanks for your review.

I have passed on your comments to Grace, who was delighted that you remembered to post her a review (and mention her - although she didn't actually say that!)

We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

We only stayed one night to attend a party nearby, the staff were very accommodating helping us with taxis and leaving a bottle of wine on ice for our return.
The suite was beautiful, clean and comfortable.
We will stay here again. 10/10

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank waffleknocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LiftonHall, Owner at Lifton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Hello and many thanks for your kind words. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and would love to have you stay again. With best wishes . . .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire England
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2012

This may be an AA 2 Star rating but the attention to detail and comfort was certainly 4 star!
We were welcomed and taken to the Churchill room.Couldn't believe it . Lovely large room with lovely furnishing and a jacuzzi bath. Bathroom with large shower which worked well and easily.
Very attractive dining room and a country style pub as well with a log fire for colder days. Also another room with tables and a useful bookcase with maps,guides etc. which you are welcome to borrow. Nice touch.
Breakfast was in the dining room and consisted of cereals,dried fruits,fruit juce and cooked breakfast, tea and coffee. Loved the homemade jams and marmalades.The cooked food was the best quality and cooked beautifully to order.
Lifton was once on the A30 but is now a couple of miles away. Village has a chuch ,Post Office which sells all you would need. An old coaching inn also on the road if you wanted a change of menu or scenery.A very attractive quiet area. We used it as a base to explore the area.
Service excellant and friendly.Evening meals can be taken in the pub or dining room and were interesting and well cooked.Middle price.

Room Tip: The odd rooms we saw were all individual with their own character. Churhill room is gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LiftonHall, Owner at Lifton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Hello and many thanks for your review and the photos you posted.

I'm really glad you enjoyed your stay and Lifton village - it really is a lovely place (even on the dull days!)

We hope to see you again very soon so you can do some more exploring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield
1 review
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed for a wonderful relaxing four nights including the two night 'Otter Break', which we really enjoyed. The hotel and staff were very welcoming and our room was large and very comfortable. The food, which was delicious, was reasonably priced. We thoroughly recommend this Hotel and cann't wait for our next visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LiftonHall, Owner at Lifton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Hello and many thanks for taking the time to write a review.

We're really pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Lifton Hall using our Otter Offer. The Otter Ale we sell really is a superb pint, and the Otter Sancturay is lovely to visit. We hope to run the offer again next year and are planning other, similar offers too - soo keep your eyes open!

Thanks again and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Stayed just for one night, attending a wedding reception nearby. We also stayed in the Churchill room, decorated to a high standard with shower and jacuzzi bath. Cozy village pub, nice dining room, good car park, efficiently run, fast complimentary wifi, faultless really.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lifton
0.3 mi away
Arundell Arms Hotel
Arundell Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lifton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
4.3 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
17.9 mi away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hotel Endsleigh
Hotel Endsleigh
#1 of 1 in Milton Abbot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
19.3 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
17.6 mi away
Moorland Hotel
Moorland Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wotter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lifton Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lifton Hall Hotel

Property: Lifton Hall Hotel
Address: New Road, Lifton PL16 0DR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Lifton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lifton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lifton Hall Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the Devon Cornwall, the Lifton Hall Hotel is ideally situated for exploring the Southwest. We're a family-run hotel offering great service in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. We have a cozy bar, with open fires, a stylish restaurant and 10 large, individual rooms. Families are welcome, as are pets. The hotel is no smoking throughout. Private car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lifton Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lifton Hall Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing