We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Electric Car Charging Points, just off the A30”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Arundell Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lifton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Halton, null, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Electric Car Charging Points, just off the A30”
Reviewed August 30, 2014

We stopped at this hotel to charge our electric car on a trip from Cheshire down to Helland near Bodmin. Really easy to locate, friendly staff, had some drinks whilst we waited for the car to charge.

The menu looked great, unfortunately we didn't have enough time to sample it....

Two charging points, 1 x 16amp and 1 x 32amp, both powered by their own solar array....

If you are in the area with an electric vehicle, go get some food and great hospitality whilst your car is charging.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Darrell W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arundell-Arms, Owner at Arundell Arms Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2015
Dear Darrell W

I am glad that we could recharge you! It is great that 300 years after the hotel opened, it is still refueling guest's transport except now it is electric cars not Horses!

Yours

Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    135
    29
    11
    7
See reviews for
56
296
12
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2014

We stayed for one night in a Classic Double Room at the rate of £180 per night B&B. The room was pretty, but the bathroom was minute. The bathroom fittings needed upgrading, and guests were warned to shut the door because steam might set off the fire alarm! It was an extremely claustrophobic experience because of the size of the room. In addition to which the bathroom and entry doors were completely adjacent, so anyone entering the room was in danger of colliding with someone coming out of the bathroom.

Breakfast was chaotic. We arrived at 9.30 (breakfast served from 8-10 a.m.) to find the buffet almost non-existent, without natural yoghurt, fruit salad or croissants. The fruit juice dispensers were down to their last trickle. The staff were apparently inexperienced and trying not to look panic stricken as they tried to salvage the situation.

A charming hotel, resting on its laurels is not good enough. £180 for a small double room with a pokey bathroom and dreadful breakfast is extortion.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear would be quieter than those on the road at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gertrude40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arundell-Arms, Owner at Arundell Arms Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Gertrude40,
I am pleased that you thought that ours is a charming hotel but of course I am very sorry that we did not deliver as well as we should have during your stay with us and in particular for the Sunday morning breakfast. As you correctly diagnosed, the team that we had on were missing the experienced person who would normally have been leading the team that morning. I apologize for this and have already emailed you personally in this regard.

The hotel is in a 300 year old building and the bathrooms in a couple of our bedrooms are smaller than ideal but we are constrained by the thick stone walls. We also know that the fire detection system is sensitive to excessive steam and so rather than risk evacuating the whole hotel in the event of a false alarm, we kindly ask for guests to close the bathroom door when taking a shower.

I very much hope that we can welcome you back to the Arundell Arms soon and show you the hospitality for which we are well known.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2014

Had this hotel bar recommended by Newmoor Park Guest House (separate revue - A1) which, is a short distance away.
Very friendly staff, not in your face, great food (pork loin and duck) and a good selection of local ciders.
We plan to use the guest house again and will be using the Hotel bar for our food.
This isn't a 'pub' type venue so its quite and peaceful. The building has clearly so much history and has been sympathetically renewed to make it the standard it is.
Than you

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ted6228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arundell-Arms, Owner at Arundell Arms Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review. I am glad that you enjoyed your holiday in Devon and I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Yours

Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
banbury
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2014

We stayed in this Hotel for a wedding locally and had to move rooms due to the lack of no internet signal as I still had to work on and off over the weekend the staff were very accommodating and we were moved to a better area so I could access the internet
The restaurant served excellent food we ate in the Bar the staff were very friendly The only thing I would say is the Hotel is in need OF some TLC for the price you are paying the sofas in the main sitting room are thread bear and the first bedroom we stayed in the bathroom needed some updating I would stay again its always nice to see a Hotel which is well looked after I am sure behind the scenes that someone is going to bring this Hotel into the 21ST centenary with modern decor

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BanburyOscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arundell-Arms, Owner at Arundell Arms Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear BanburyOscar

Thank you for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed our food and the friendliness of our staff team.

One of the sofas in the Sitting Room was tired but it has been replaced this week and I hope that you will enjoy it on your next visit.

Yours

Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Great welcome in this village hotel on the main road, which has been by-passed. Plenty of parking, and comfortable lounge where we met our friends. Bar also available. Large restaurant where we had the five course gourmet meal. Canapes, Home made Tomato Soup, Crab salad, Sorbet, Beautiful Beef, Honey pudding, coffee.
We stayed the night and this hotel is really for fishing and shooting, which is evident from the rods and pictures. The room was well equipped over the dining room with side view of the garden.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wayzgoose110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poole
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014

what a fantastic hotel, staff and owner offer excellent service ,
great location for fishing, this hotel offers everything you need to have a great weekend away
meals are excellent,service is excellent rooms and hotel are excellent
this is a little Devon gem

looking forward to a return visit

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jim0042013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arundell-Arms, Owner at Arundell Arms Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Jim0042013
It was a pleasure to meet a fellow ex RAF. Thank you for your review and I look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.

Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed here last weekend and had a vey good break. Our little girl was ill and the staff couldn't do enough for us. The atmosphere was really nice - very chilled out and relaxed and although the bedrooms could really do with a revamp (which I think they are doing in stages) we were very comfortable (we did ask for one at the back so didn't have any road noise). We are real foodies and there is a restaurant and bar menu - so its nice to have the option of more formal meals or bar food like burgers etc. If you are into fishing with my husband is then the facilities are amazing and the Ghillies very helpful.

Room Tip: the rooms at the back are bigger and quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slc41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lifton
0.3 mi away
Lifton Hall Hotel
Lifton Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lifton
339 reviews
4.6 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
388 reviews
20.4 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Fox and Hounds Country Hotel
18.2 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,073 reviews
21.4 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arundell Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arundell Arms Hotel

Property: Arundell Arms Hotel
Address: 1 Fore Street, Lifton PL16 0AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Lifton
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lifton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Arundell Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Arundell Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arundell Arms Lifton
Arundell Arms Hotel Lifton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing