We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still my favourite hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Arundell Arms Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lifton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed November 3, 2013

This is a gem of a hostelry with top-rate service, excellent locally sourced food and very comfortable and tasteful rooms. Even better if you have time to go fishing... Ideal for breaking a journey into deepest Cornwall.

I stay away nearly 100 nights a year - this is the best alternative to home!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Euryn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arundell-Arms, Owner at Arundell Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Thank you for your kind review.
I am glad that we still come up to the mark and remain your favorite.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (517)
There are newer reviews for Arundell Arms Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 517 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2013

We always look forward to our time here. We love the ambiance, the warm welcome that's always extended, the willingness of staff to go above and beyond and just the relaxing quality of our stays. The dining room for meals is outstanding as is the pub. The rooms are very clean. It's on our "favorites" list.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chicago2_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arundell-Arms, Owner at Arundell Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear Chicago2_10

Thank you taking the trouble to write a review. It is great for all of our team when we have feedback like this.

See you again soon.

Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

I ended up here by a stroke of luck. The location, the hotel and its staff are all of a high quality. Quintessentially English, or should I say Devon charm. Even if you arent there for the fishing. Perfect jumping off point for many south west attractions.

CHEERS!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
Thank Asbad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Warm welcome, lovely country house ambience. Our room was lovely and welcoming, but the decoration needed attention, and the bathroom needed refreshed.
We had a pre dinner drink in the bar. I did not like sitting beside people eating bar meals. We had dinner in the dining room and it was good, as was the cooked breakfast, but the breakfast buffet was skimpy, packet cereal, dried fruit, and we were not tempted by the uninteresting fruit salad.
This hotel has so much to offer and enjoy, and don't think we didn't we enjoy our stay, we did, but it was so nearly perfect!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scotsphile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We have eaten and stayed here on a few occasions and have always had a fantastic time.The rooms are clean and well presented, staff are fantastic, helpful and polite. The feel of the place is great and in winter the lounge and fire are very special.
The food in the restaurant at dinner is outstanding, with well cooked food and creative dishes. Vegetarians are very well catered for. My one criticisms is breakfast. Easily one of the worst cooked breakfasts in any hotel we have stayed it. This really let's the place down it simply does not compare with hotels of a similar standard. In fact your average cafe offering an all day breakfast does a better job.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pau995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We had a good stay in the Arundell Arms, The room was clean and comfortable and the staff very helpful, All the food we had in the hotel was very good, hot, tasty and of a good quality.
However we think that the food in the main restaurant was a bit overpriced compared to the Brasserie.
Personally I found the TV to small for the size of the room and not being able to open the window without propping it up with something was a bit of a pain.
Also for a dog friendly pub we found that the main hotel areas were all well kept and clean.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

If you are looking for a special relaxing weekend or a taste of the country and its sports this is the place to come.
A special relaxing few days. Good food, good wine and a lovely room. Others were there to enjoy the fishing both freshwater or sea; or for introductory lessons. A real treat and one I hope to enjoy again in the near future.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arundell-Arms, Owner at Arundell Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Dear Janet T
Thank you for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and felt it was a treat. I look forward to welcoming you to the hotel and perhaps tempting you to an introductory fishing too.
With best wishes

Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lifton
0.3 mi away
Lifton Hall Hotel
Lifton Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lifton
354 reviews
4.6 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
396 reviews
18.2 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
514 reviews
24.7 mi away
Fox and Hounds Country Hotel
21.4 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arundell Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arundell Arms Hotel

Address: 1 Fore Street, Lifton PL16 0AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Lifton
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lifton
Price Range: $120 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arundell Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Arundell Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arundell Arms Lifton
Arundell Arms Hotel Lifton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing