We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arundell Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lifton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Stay”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Late post i know, we stayed here in October 2012,

With a warm welcome and friendly staff our stay at this beautiful hotel was absolutely fantastic, we enjoyed the company of the staff in the lounge beside a roaring log fire, the restaurant was amazing and the head waiter even suggested a wine (nine popes) that was far superior to my own choice.
We were not there for the hunting, shooting or fishing, just as a weekend away.

The restaurant was amazing and the quality of the food sublime.

The rooms were exceptionally clean and furnished comfortably and in taste.


I would highly recommend this picturesque hotel as one of the best in this area.

A heart felt thank you to all the staff for an amazing experience

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cliveymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arundell-Arms, Owner at Arundell Arms Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Cliveymac

Thank you for posting a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed all of the hotel and especially the Nine Popes. That is a favourite of mine too and it is still on our list.

Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    133
    29
    11
    7
See reviews for
56
293
12
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Why, oh why, do hotels persist with duvets and pillow cases that are not 100% natural fibres, along with non-100% cotton sheets and pillow cases? Guests would have much better night sleeps if otherwise which would therefore greatly increase the chance of repeat bookings. It really cannot be much of an invetsment in the long term.

One further word of warning, unless you are a regular fishing visitor, do not expect undivided attention from the ghillie

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonChieftain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I can not rate the Arundell Arms enough for the lovely comfortable stay I had. My job has recently changed which means I am now going to have to stay away at least once a week in Cornwall for business, and I am going to try wherever possible to stay here. The food was lovely. The room was so cosy and the staff made me feel so welcome.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arundell-Arms, Owner at Arundell Arms Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Michelle B

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully this will; be the first of many. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

This was our second stay at the Arundell Arms. Stayed for 2 nights at the end of July. Everything about this hotel is good. Most people are attracted by the fishing but we were attracted by the food. The AA 2 Rosette dining experience was fantastic. My husband does not eat red meat and his hors d'oeuvres each evening were suitably adapted.
All the staff here are very pleasant and willing to help or offer advice of where to visit. The gardener obviously has a passion for his plants and can name them all.
We used this as a base to explore as the village is on the Devon / Cornwall border. We visited Looe and Polperro amongst many other places. Last time we stayed we visited the Eden Project.
The hotel is spotless throughout and the room was lovely.
Will definitely visit again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed at the Arundell as we were attending a wedding locally. The staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful, room was spacious and well decorated and the water pressure in the shower was phenomenal! Breakfast was excellent (perfect poached eggs two days in a row!) and the gardens were beautiful. Great place to stay to explore West Devon, North Cornwall and Dartmoor.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJG_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

My partner has been visiting Arundell for approx twenty years and in more recent years he has let me join him visiting his secret hideaway. I cannot understand how anyone can fail to love this gorgeous Hotel. We stayed from Tuesday to Saturday recently before heading onto Cornwall, which was a real treat for me, after our Daughter's wedding in July. We have had various rooms in the hotel but not yet stayed in the garden rooms or in the Fishermans Cottages. We always find the rooms spotlessly clean, warm and spacious and the beds are soooo comfy. It is worth a visit even if you arent staying over as the restaurant and bar food is fantastic. The canapes are always a delightful bonus. Service is also very good with Stefan and his staff going all out to make sure you are well looked after. We always have been made to feel very welcome and nothing is too much trouble. Oh yes, not to forget David and Tim in the Cockpit who, my partner always has a good banter with. He always manages to catch fish, no matter the conditions! Well done and keep up the good work, we shall be visiting again hopefully very soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JillTonyOxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed for a couple of days beginning August to try my luck for sea trout on the fabulous waters of the Arundell Arms. The hotel and staff create the lovely ambience of a country house which welcomes old friends - although it was our first stay. Bar and restaurant staff are friendly, efficient and ever helpful. The kitchen produces excellent food and cooked one sea trout I caught to perfection. Reservation and housekeeping are very good, Rooms were spotless. The expert and professional fishing team and their " cock-pit" deserve a special mention. They are extremely helpful with advise and tackle, especially deadly sea trout flies, and provide an excellent guiding service which at night on a strange river is invaluable. I wouldn't have caught fish without their river craft. We will certainly return to try and catch a salmon or even try for the famous McNab..........!

Room Tip: We were happy with room 1, didn't see other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans-Peter I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lifton
0.3 mi away
Lifton Hall Hotel
Lifton Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lifton
330 reviews
4.6 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
378 reviews
20.4 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Fox and Hounds Country Hotel
18.2 mi away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,055 reviews
21.4 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arundell Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arundell Arms Hotel

Property: Arundell Arms Hotel
Address: 1 Fore Street, Lifton PL16 0AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Lifton
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lifton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Arundell Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Arundell Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arundell Arms Lifton
Arundell Arms Hotel Lifton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing