We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent sporting break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arundell Arms Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lifton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Earlswood, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“An excellent sporting break”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Booked up a party of 6 guns for a days driven snipe shooting- accommodation was excellent with a very enjoyable evening spent in the bar,very dog friendly and spoilt rotten.
Rooms very warm and comfortable and great full english in the morning.
Days shooting was amazing and the chef cooked the birds in the evening for us to enjoy with a nice wine in front of a roaring log fire.
Trout fishing the next morning with a brace of trout from the lake to take home- what can i say, a most enjoyable sporting break with great staff who were most friendly and helpful- roll on next year so we can return again.

Room Tip: All rooms very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VizslaCalledMonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foxy1307, Owner at Arundell Arms Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear VizslaCalledMonty

thank you for reviewing us. Our snipe shooting has been great this year and we are happy that all of our guns have enjoyed both the shoots and their time at the hotel. We shall look forward to your return next year!

Regards

Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    135
    29
    11
    7
See reviews for
56
297
12
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
376 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I visited the hotel as a guest at a retirement celebration which involved relaxed drinks in a very comfortable lounge, a three course meal in the restaurant and coffee by the fire thereafter. The hotel itself is a really nice building with comfortable new furnishings and the staff were all really friendly and efficient. The food in the restaurant was really excellent and at a reasonable price and the general atmosphere was really enhanced by the surroundings, great service and food. I had not visited the Arundell Arms before but will be back with my wife in the summer months as the grounds look great.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viatori-lasso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foxy1307, Owner at Arundell Arms Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear Greshamian,

thank you for your kind review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit to The Arundell Arms. We would be delighted to welcome you back in the summer months. The hotel really does take on a different personality throughout the summer months and has a real 'buzz' about the place that I am sure you will enjoy!
Best wishes,
Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We have stayed here on a few occasions. Each time we receive a warm and friendly reception but not intrusively so. The hotel has a relaxed and comfortable country house hotel feel to it. We often stop for lunch in the bar or delicious cream teas in front of the roaring fire when driving out of Cornwall.
It is a great favourite of ours .

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foxy1307, Owner at Arundell Arms Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear Benecca
thank you for taking the time to review us. We are always pleased to see our regular guests returning. Hopefully we'll see you over the festive period for a glass of mulled wine!
Regards

Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Callington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

the Arundell Arms is a mixture of extremely comfortable old fashioned hotel, and pub. The rooms have been refurbished recently and to a high standard. The food in the main restaurant was absolutely excellent. It is famous for its fishing and hunting, but it is not necessary to do either to enjoy a stay at this lovely place. Everyone is very friendly. The lounge, in front of a log fire, is the ideal place for a coffee and a brandy after dinner, and a chat with other like minded guests. And dogs are welcomed!

Room Tip: facing the garden ie on the inside of the hotel rather than looking onto the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foxy1307, Owner at Arundell Arms Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear DavidP
thank you for taking the time to review us. We are very happy that you have enjoyed being here during winter and able to take advantage of our log fires. Hopefully we will be able to tempt you in to a fishing lesson during the summer months!?

Adam Fox-Edwards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this wonderful hotel for one night on 21 November as a special celebration & it exceeded our expectations. A warm welcome set the theme for a delightful stay. Every member of the hotel team could not have made us feel more at home. The food was exceptional . Sadly the stormy weather conditions made exploration of the wonderful grounds impossible but the ambience within the hotel compensated. We would thoroughly recommend a visit to this gem. We shall certainly return.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DevonBobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foxy1307, Owner at Arundell Arms Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear DevonBobby,

we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here with us. Hopefully you will be able to return in the summer months when the garden is in full bloom! Don't forget to take a trip down to our lake which is simply stunning on a nice sunny day!
Best wishes,
Adam Fox-Edwards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyme Regis
1 review
Reviewed November 16, 2012

As always, whenever we go, we receive first class and courteous service. The hotel lounge with its squiggy sofas, log fire and polished stone floor and not forgetting the ticking of the grand clock, is the perfect place for an afternoon tea, morning coffee, or just to read the paper. The rooms are well furnished and ensuite and the beds are the best. I don't know what we'd do without the Arundell Arms, it's our bolt hole.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden are away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foxy1307, Owner at Arundell Arms Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Lesley B
Thank you for your kind comments. It's always great to hear that our guests find the hotel relaxing and enjoyable, and it's always nice to see our regulars coming back! I hope we can continue to welcome you to The Arundell Arms for many years to come.
Best wishes,
Adam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Street, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

An overnight stay specifically to participate in the seasonal Game Festival Dinner. This was extremely good, the food ans service excellent, and a very good ambience in the beautiful dining room.
From the outside this hotel does not look too attractive, fronting directly onto the pavement of this small village. But inside it is very nice, the rear enclosed gardens (including the original Cock Fighting Pit) are magnificent. In summer time they would be excellent for dining.
This hotel is reknowned for its fishing; it runs special trout fly fishing courses,. In addition they put on special events on (it seems) about a monthly basis.
Access from the nearby main trunk route to Cornwall makes this an hotel we shall visit again - for another of their special events.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gwenday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foxy1307, Owner at Arundell Arms Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear gwenday,

Thank you for your kind review. I am glad you enjoyed our Game Season Celebration Dinner. The dinner is always our most popular winter dining event and our chefs always appreciate feedback. Hopefully you will return to enjoy more of our events in the future!
Kind regards
Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lifton
0.3 mi away
Lifton Hall Hotel
Lifton Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lifton
348 reviews
4.6 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
391 reviews
20.4 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,089 reviews
24.7 mi away
Fox and Hounds Country Hotel
21.4 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arundell Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arundell Arms Hotel

Property: Arundell Arms Hotel
Address: 1 Fore Street, Lifton PL16 0AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Lifton
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lifton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Arundell Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Arundell Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arundell Arms Lifton
Arundell Arms Hotel Lifton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing