We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent fishing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Arundell Arms Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lifton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent fishing”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Lovely country hotel. Very friendly and welcoming. We were in the annexe in the old stable block, the room was a bit small but nicely appointed. Good location as a stopover on the way to and from Cornwall.
Excellent fishing tuition.
Breakfast food was good although the service a bit scatty, nicely scatty, but scatty!. Food in restaurant was good but a little bit pricey. Restaurant was a bit formal but the bar had a nice buzz and good food being served in bar. Draught ale was okay but the Otter beer along the road at the Lifton Hall was excellent.

Room Tip: The stable block rooms are well appointed but a bit small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BHobday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    135
    29
    11
    7
See reviews for
56
296
12
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Our second visit to this family run hotel. Once again we found staff in all areas of the hotel extremely helpful and friendly. Due to a recent sporting injury, my husband was limping and on arrival we were immediately offered a ground floor room which was a very welcome gesture.Dinner in the beautiful dining room was most professionally served and we had a some excellent wine. After a comfortable night and a delicious breakfast, we continued on our journey north.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twotime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Our first stay to fish! Quite superb! Why had we not been before?? Go for a DBB or a package.
A real Country Sporting Hotel: great charm, wonderfully helpful staff - nothing to much trouble, superb food in restaurant or bar, good wine selection and just the right location. Minor request for an improvement in the packed lunches. Fishing advice and instruction of the highest standard, the fish will as ever do as they please?
We are now planning our next visit. If you are a keen country sportsman or woman you are missing out if you have not been.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We have been visiting the Arundel Arms for over 10 years and it's charm does not fade. The staff are all exceptionally friendly and helpful and have always accommodated our request for a specific room which has become our favourite. The food is exceptional, I would highly recommend you go for the DBB package and sample the wonder fare in the beautiful restaurant followed by a long snooze in the lounge which has the air of a country house to it.

My husband fishes and I normally spend the day somewhere in Cornwall on the coast, there are also more local sites to be seen but after 10 years I like to venture a little further afield.

Would defnitely recommend a visit.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't have a room over the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

As I have written before it's never easy finding a hotel in the middle of Devon & Cornwall convenient for all.. so I ended up at my old favourite again. This time my room was in the main building just up the stairs.. never again! A hotel is not to blame for rowdy guests that decide to leave the bar past midnight.. however it was quite annoying to be woken up in the middle of the night and think that I will ask if there again to be moved (just in case!). However onto the good points.. meeting room good as always, buffet dinner on arrival was lovely. Didn't look big enough first of all but was and all customers happy with the spread for dinner. My only other gripe is since my last stay they have stopped taking Amex which is my company credit card! Breakfast was lovely and the garden was delightful this time of year.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anon19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, UK
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

My wife and I have stayed here many times over the last 15 years. It was great to find that the ambience and the welcome from the staff are as good as ever. The fishing always varies depending on the weather but the food in the restaurant ( and in the bar), is consistently good. Our only small criticism is the poor quality of the vacuum flasks used to provide hot drinks in the picnic lunches - they need to be replaced.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DennisWestSussex_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

I agree with some of the other reviewers, the decor and bedrooms are looking a bit tired but they are clean and if you look at service, friendliness and quality of food, this outweighs the fabric of the the hotel. When I stay in hotels it is always the service and food that lets them down, this hotel is excellent in both regards and well worth the stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foxy1307, Guest Relations Manager at Arundell Arms Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Dear Trevor C,

Thank you for your review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay here at The Arundell. We are aware that some of our rooms are need of updating, and also some of the corridor areas in the hotel. Our rooms are currently undergoing a refurbishment programme with new carpets, beds and furniture being replaced. We are also about to upgrade the wifi signal around the hotel amongst other things. Once again, many thanks for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Alex Thomson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lifton
0.3 mi away
Lifton Hall Hotel
Lifton Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lifton
348 reviews
4.6 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
391 reviews
20.4 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,091 reviews
24.7 mi away
Fox and Hounds Country Hotel
21.4 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arundell Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arundell Arms Hotel

Property: Arundell Arms Hotel
Address: 1 Fore Street, Lifton PL16 0AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Lifton
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lifton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Arundell Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Arundell Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arundell Arms Lifton
Arundell Arms Hotel Lifton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing