We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel of character”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Arundell Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lifton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed March 11, 2012

We stayed for a couple of nights B & B.
The room, service, in fact everything was excellent.
If I would make a negative comment, it would be that the arundell arms website doesn't show how lovely a hotel it is, or how friendly the staff are.
If you need to relax, stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (530)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

481 - 487 of 530 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2012

My partner and I recently bought a voucher for Arundell Arms Hotel on Travelzoo for an overnight stay, pre dinner champagne, 5 course tasting dinner, free bottle of house wine and breakfast for £149. When going to make our booking for a date in May, we were told by the dismissive General Manager of the hotel that they didn't realise how busy they were going to be in May and therefore we could not use our voucher at this time. However it clearly states that the only dates we were unable to book were on the 1st March and the 6-9 April, with the voucher expiring on the 15th May (therefore losing out on 15 days). It appeared that Arundell had updated the offer about no bookings in May, 2 days after we had booked our voucher. Despite only being able to make a date in May and Arundell moving the goal posts we have been unable to use the voucher that we have paid for. I am really quite suprised and angry that our voucher has not been honoured and I consider it highly unprofessional of the hotel. Kind regards the Events Coordinator of an international law firm.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
3  Thank Sophie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foxy1307, Owner at Arundell Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2012

Dear Guest

I am sorry that the hotel was fully booked by the time that you tried to redeem your Travelzoo voucher. The offer was a big success and Travelzoo sold over 250 packages in the 8 days that the deal was live from 11 February.

You called us for the first time on 9th March (4 weeks after the offer was launched) and wanted to come to us on selected dates in May. Unfortunately we were fully booked for your requested dates but I understand that Travelzoo have given you a full refund of your voucher cost.

The vouchers are still redeemable in March and April but all the dates in May were taken early on. We updated the Travelzoo website on 15th February as we soon as we reached this point so potential guests were aware of our availability.

For future offers, I suggest that you call us early to check availability and then book early to avoid disappointment.

I look forward to welcoming you to the hotel on another occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

We stayed at The Arundell Arms as part of a Travelzoo deal which was for a one night stay with breakfast and dinner. The deal was incredible value for money. The hotel was warm, welcoming, spotlessly clean and extremely well run. The meal was unforgettable, beautifully presented and cooked. The whole experience was outstanding. The bedroom was comfortable, it could have been bigger, but after all we were on a special deal. If we go again I think we would have preferred to pay extra for a larger room. But the whole experience was extremely enjoyable and we would highly recommend the place.

Room Tip: As for a room overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Birdwatcherhampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foxy1307, Owner at Arundell Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2012

I really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and meal with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

I was lucky enough to stay recently at the Arundell Arms. Staff very welcoming, hotel very comfortable and relaxing. Spotlessly clean. Our evening meal was out of this world - the best I have ever had tasted. Would love to stay again. Thoroughly recommend it.

Lesley B

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Welcoming and efficient staff but perhaps because it was a Wednesday the hotel and restaurant seemed to lack any atmosphere.
A great place to go if you don't want to be contacted on your mobile as the phone signal is very poor.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheBagCarrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

We paid £149 for a pakage offered via Travelzoo - overnight stay, pre-dinner champagne, 5 course tasting dinner, free bottle of house wine and breakfast (said to be worth £340+).
We booked 2 months beforehand. On arrival we were shown to a TINY room with no character, colour or charm. When we expressed our disappointment, we were told there were no other doubles available (we were shown 2 twin rooms which were equally unattractive, although slightly bigger).
As the trip was a birthday celebration for my wife, we decided not to stay in such a depressing room and drove home.
In subsequent conversations with the hotel owner, he was unwilling to give us a full refund but said, IF WE PAID AGAIN, we would be given a better room next time!! I eventually accepted, with reluctance, his best offer of a £50 refund.
MY ADVICE? DON'T PAY FOR A STAY AT THIS HOTEL UNTIL YOU HAVE SEEN YOUR ROOM. THE BEDROOM PHOTOS IN THE WEBSITE GROSSLY MISREPRESENT MANY OF THE ROOMS IN USE AND THE ATTITUDE OF THE OWNER IN REFUSING US A REASONABLE REFUND SMACKS OF SHARP PRACTICE.

Room Tip: As stated above, do not pay until you have been allocated a room you are happy with. If not, you may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Maurice020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foxy1307, Owner at Arundell Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2012

You have neither stayed or eaten at the hotel nor indeed have even been into the main part of the hotel.

You only saw the car park, Reception and 2 of the 3 rooms that you were offered and yet posted this review as a guide to others as though it accurately reflects the standards of the hotel.

Your post is inaccurate in that your booking was 2 weeks prior not 2 months as you claim. The Travelzoo offer was only launched in mid February.

When you booked, we were already busy on the Saturday you requested. You took the last and only double room available.

Your room, although our smallest double, is to AA 3 Star standard and has a garden view, new carpets, new digital TV, free WiFi and a newly refurbished bathroom. You were offered alternative twin rooms but you left after just seeing one of them and before you could be shown a third.

You were abrupt with our staff and within 2 hours of your departure you called, demanded a refund and threatened a bad review on TripAdvisor unless we did so.

Although in breach of our 48 hour cancellation policy, we offered you a complimentary upgrade to our best room and a 100% rebate of your charge towards another stay or £50 as a goodwill gesture as an alternative.

Value is of course subjective but a double room with breakfast, 2 glasses of Premier Cru champagne, a 5 course dinner for two in an AA 2 rosette restaurant and a bottle of wine for a total of £149 would seem good value to most, yet you scored us 1/5.

I am saddened that you were able to enjoy the Arundell Arms on this occasion. This Travelzoo offer has been a big success and all feedback that we have had from those who have experienced it has been positive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

What a fabulous place! The chef is utterly genius - the food we feasted on was amongst the best I have ever tasted. Everything was superbly done, locally sourced and homemade. It was wonderful to have a three course dinner without feeling overly full at the end - not an easy feat, but such a treat.

The staff were friendly, smiley and welcoming - they couldn't have done more to assist us. The rooms were clean, and cosy; they didn't feel too "hotelish", which was lovely.

I would go back tomorrow and live there, but fear for my waistline if I did!!

Room Tip: If you are tall, the best option is to upgrade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lifton
0.1 mi away
Lifton Hall Hotel
Lifton Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lifton
361 reviews
4.6 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
409 reviews
8.1 mi away
Horn of Plenty
Horn of Plenty
#1 of 1 in Gulworthy
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hotel Endsleigh
Hotel Endsleigh
#1 of 1 in Milton Abbot
472 reviews
18.2 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,165 reviews
21.4 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arundell Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arundell Arms Hotel

Address: 1 Fore Street, Lifton PL16 0AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Lifton
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lifton
Price Range: $117 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arundell Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Arundell Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arundell Arms Lifton
Arundell Arms Hotel Lifton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing