We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Exceptional property in wonderful estate”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Lifton, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
KiddyGirl
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Exceptional property in wonderful estate”
Reviewed 1 week ago for a stay in July 2018

A group of friends arrived for a long weekend to find a wonderful (nearly a mile long) drive through trees. We found welcome basket of bread, scones milk and jam. The owner arrived a little time after to meet us - he is warm and welcoming. The en suite bedrooms were perfectly appointed. We spent time outside in the seating area enjoying the wildlife during the recent hot weather.
We visited many places around Dartmoor and close to the coast.
We would recommend the Lifton Farm Shop and Restaurant which is less than a mile from the entrance to the Estate.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 16, 2018
Dear KiddyGirl
Thank you for your review and we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your long weekend. Wooladon is an ideal base for visiting both the coastal areas and Dartmoor, returning to the tranquillity of the estate at the end of the day. The recent weather has been perfect for dining outside or just enjoying the peace and quiet of the countryside.
We do hope that you will visit us again.
Kind regards
Adam and Laura
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pollki
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Home from home”
Reviewed June 8, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

This was our third stay at The Rookery, it feels like we're coming home when we arrive. The Rookery is an amazing house, fully equipped with everything you could need and more, and so comfortable. It is set in the most beautiful grounds on the Wooladon Estate, where everyone is so friendly, including other guests we've stayed alongside. The owners left us a lovely welcome surprise.......scones, jam and clotted cream!! What could be better!! Owners were so accommodating, changing our changeover day from Friday to Saturday with no hesitation. Couldn't recommend a holiday here enough, it's a must!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 16, 2018
Dear Pollki
Thank you so much for your very kind review. It was lovely to see you all again and we are so pleased you enjoyed your holiday.
We hope to see you again next year!
Kind regards
Adam and Laura
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swift-sim...
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Perfect and pet friendly”
Reviewed April 14, 2018 for a stay in April 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our stay in this amazing property. It really lives up to the photos and was perfect for us and our Daughter and her family and their pug.

We were made very welcome by Adam and were greeted with a delicious hamper on the table and milk in the fridge. Everyone enjoyed the Jam and clotted cream on the delicious scones . Thank you

It is a very spacious open plan house that is very well equipped and with comfortable beds with good quality linens and towels. The showers are wonderful and very relaxing after a day out.

The property is very well positioned in a well cared for estate that makes it perfect for exploring both Devon and Cornwall.

The children loved seeing all the lambs, highland cows, goats , alpacas, pheasants, and the Jenny wren nest on the gutter on the cottage you can see from the kitchen window.

The farm shop is well worth a visit for more scones , clotted cream and exceptionally delicious pasties.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 16, 2018
Dear swift-simba
Thank you for your kind review and we are so pleased you enjoyed your recent stay. I do hope we will see you again soon.
Kind regards
Adam and Laura
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl H
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed February 20, 2018 for a stay in February 2018
1
person found this review helpful

A absolutely stunning property with open planned living, 3 beautifully sized rooms all with ensuites and perfect location for cornwall and Devon.
We stayed here as was perfectly located for us to visit elderly family and were gob smacked at the size and openess of the cottage.
The farm shop run by the family is also absolutely fantastic and full of fresh quality produce.
Well worth staying at and owners as very much approachable and caring, so much so my sister in law and father in law stayed on for a additional week in a slightly smaller cottage.
Thank you for making our trip thoroughly relaxed and enjoyable and we look forward to returning in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 5, 2018
Dear Cheryl H
It is so good to hear that you enjoyed your stay in The Rookery and we will look forward to seeing you again.
With kind regards
Adam and Laura Mounce
Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emthomson...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous New Years stay”
Reviewed January 3, 2018 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage was perfect for our large New Years gathering - spacious beautiful open plan living room kitchen, and the host greeted us on arrival and brought us anything else we needed!
Super comfortable beds !
Thank you again
Emily

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 5, 2018
Dear emthomson327,
Thank you for your kind review and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Rookery over the New Year period. We hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards
Adam and Laura Mounce
Owners
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivJ
Kusadasi, Turkey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent place.”
Reviewed October 4, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Location is amazing. The accommodation is excellent, everything you could possibly need, home from home. Would certainly visit again, and already recommended to friends.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 14, 2018
Dear VivJ
Thank you for your kind review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and thank you for recommending to your friends.
We hope we will see you again.
Kind regards
Adam and Laura
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing