We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful tranquility”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dining for six plus, comfy sofa, logburner to keep cosy, lots of light to enjoy the start of Spring The entrance to The Piggery with carved oak posts and Clematis..  Art and light inside and out..
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Dining for six plus, comfy sofa, logburner to keep cosy, lots of light to enjoy the start of Spring
The entrance to The Piggery with carved oak posts and Clematis..  Art and light inside and out..
View from the terrace - it's a stunning open vally with the orchard surrounding the garden.
The Piggery overlooks the productive Heritage orchard with sheep grazing happily under.
Harvest time in The Orchard. A fabulous crop of cider apples is almost ready.. all welcome to join!
The kitchen - check out the hand made lights in the corner.. excellent for rustling up dinner too
The Piggery kitchen with its maple work tops and everything you may need to enjoy your stay
The wonderfully light and airy South facing living, dining, kitchen is still cosy in the Winter
looking from the open plan kitchen with the big South facing bi-fold doors between columns on RHS
River Avon all  year round- a stunning 10 min walk from The Piggery, a stop for lunch at Avon Mill..
Acres of sand at Bantham at low tide with Burgh Island with its famous hotel on the horizon
The newest Wall hanging for the living room after the last one was bought for a Jersey home..
Ham Farm in April May and June is full of wild flowers, joyful birds, spring lambs. Just glorious!
Autumn is starting to show its colours, complimenting the cosy warmth inside
Cider Production - book The Piggery in October and you can join in the fun!
A particularly spectacular morning sunrise at Ham Farm... and then the rain came! Shepherds warning!
Winter in The Piggery is a delight! Frosty morning followed be lunch on the Terrace!
Thursdays at the Farmhouse there's a welcoming plate of homemade gluten free cakes just for you...
A sneak preview of Carl's sculpture in the main house... just ask if you would like to see more!
Hats made by Peet ... each one an individual and waiting for that perfect resting place. Try one on!
A little of the art work  on the farm on old barns..we are delighted to show you around the house!
Come in a warm up by the large log burner. TV available on request. Al Fresco dining in Winter!
Sunset at Bantham... Winter Sunday lunch at the Sloop followed by a trip to the glorious beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Kingsbridge, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
772tracey
Lancashire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful tranquility”
Reviewed June 14, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Our family enjoyed the inspiring art of the accommodation combined with the tranquility of the beautiful surrounding nature. We were touring the South Hams so this was an ideal central location from which to venture.
The Piggery is really well equipped...and the barbqueon the deck was most welcomed whilst enjoying the long summer evenings.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 22, 2017
Thank you for your lovely revue. The South Hams has just come 12th in the best places to live in Britain and we love to share it with our guests in The Piggery! If you ever feel you wish to return you would be very welcome to stay in our little place!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janwillia...
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect, could not ask for more.”
Reviewed June 7, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We spent 6 perfect days at The Piggery. Very peaceful, lots of wildlife. lovely walks. Very well equipped. very clean and comfy. Carl and Peet were perfect hosts. We just couldn't ask for more. Shall definitely be returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 8, 2016
Thank you for your tremendous review! You are very welcome back to The Piggery anytime. Perfect guests too!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6662016
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An oasis of tranquility”
Reviewed May 18, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a memorable week in a beautiful house in a beautiful part of the country. The building was finished to an extremely high standard, was very well equipped and a delight to stay in. Although the weather was great for most of the week, the first two days and nights were rather cold for May and it was lovely to sit in front of the log burner in the evening. As well as a supply of logs for two fires, our hosts had provided a lovely bunch of tulips, a bottle of their home-made organic apple juice (delicious!) and a bottle of wine. Peet welcomed us warmly on arrival and was available to answer any queries should they arise. Our overall impression was one of tranquility, making it one of our most relaxing holidays ever, made even more so by the absence of television, which we didn't miss at all, despite initial misgivings by one of us! Our only criticism is that one of the mattresses was somewhat uncomfortable, but that was partially rectified by putting a blanket under the sheet. The whole place was unique with examples of Peet's wall hangings and Carl's wood carvings decorating the interior. The area of South Hams is delightful and the property is well situated for visiting a range of places such as Dartmouth, Salcombe, Dartmoor, Plymouth and a plethora of delightful coves. We especially enjoyed walking along the coastal path and visiting National Trust houses such as Coleton Fishacre (gorgeous gardens) and Greenway (Agatha Christie's home), which we reached by ferry, steam train and a delightful walk through pretty bluebell woods - though it is possible to drive directly there if one chooses. A thoroughly enjoyable week and we were sad to leave.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How peaceful it was there and the cleaniness of the property
Liked least: The mattress in one bedroom
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 19, 2016
Thank you so much for your excellent and informative revue. We would be very happy to welcome you here again - this time with a comfy mattress topper! We chose a firm mattress partly because they seem to last longer but also we can always supply a topper for our guests who prefer to snuggle into a softer mattress. It's on the shopping list!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed December 28, 2015 for a stay in December 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I had the absolute pleasure of spending a lovely relaxed Christmas in the piggery with my partner and young son this year.
Peet and Carl were warm and welcoming and the piggery is a truly special and unique place to stay. Situated in glorious Devon countryside the piggery is a beautiful blend of comfort and tranquility and a real labour of love for two very talented and artistic individuals. Easy to find with the sat nav and excellent access to Kingsbridge, Salcombe and Plymouth, we had a fabulous time and cannot recommend this cosy retreat highly enough.
If you are looking for accommodation in this area of the world, book in for a stay at the piggery.
Thank you again Peet and Carl.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 22, 2017
It seems a very long time since you stayed with your wonderful family for Christmas and we are a little tardy in our response to your excellent revue! The Piggery has hosted so many delightful and memorable guests now, your family amongst them. We would be very happy to welcome you here to The Piggery in the future if the charms of the South Hams tempt you again! April May and June are so very pretty here!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henning T
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant weekend”
Reviewed March 30, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Peet and her husband are great hosts - the accommodation is new, clean, and well equipped with everything you'd need for a great weekend in the countryside. Highly recommended!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindylou1...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“fabulous retreat”
Reviewed March 10, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Wonderful place. The piggery has been fitted to a extremely high spec throughout, beautiful with amazing individual artistic touches. The beds were super comfy and we loved the log fire. Very peaceful with a lovely view. We really enjoyed our walk as advised by Peet, through the orchard, down to the river and back through loddiswell. Peet and Carl were so friendly and helpful. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rebeccaha...
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“ABSOLUTE GEM”
Reviewed December 21, 2014 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I stayed here with my partner for a break from the city. The Piggery is simply stunning. It is beautifully finished with gorgeous artistic touches, and comes with every amenity you will need - even tins to make Yorkshire puddings in, & the home made cider and apple juice is to die for! The log fire kept us warm, and we had a wonderful afternoon on Thursday looking around Peet & Carl's house at their stunning creations. It was clean, bright and airy, and perfectly situated for a few days exploring. The house is located superbly for the sea (around 20 mins), and up to Dartmouth & Totnes isn't much longer, we stopped at Haytor on the way back as well. Honestly couldnt recommend this enough to anyone. Great place, and Peet & Carl were extremely welcoming hosts.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everywhere you turn there are unique artistic touches
Liked least: It rained while we were there (no surprise for the UK in December!)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing