We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinarily poor values”
Review of Burton Farmhouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Burton Farmhouse
Ranked #29 of 34 Kingsbridge B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Having stayed at a simply lovely B&B nearby the previous weekend, I needed to be down in Devon again for work, this time bringing my two daughters and a business associate from France. First, I booked a family room for me & the kids: to be told quite abruptly the next day there weren't any family rooms left. So I was compelled to settle for a king size bed with lilliputian en-suite featuring the narrowest shower cubicle I have ever encountered. Everything about the decor was tired and very very used, including the peeling faux wood laminate loo lid. We were three (2 kids) but there were towels for only two. This miserly experience was partially offset by a reasonable English breakfast, featuring good eggs and meats but what appeared to be tinned mushrooms. This again, paled in comparison to my previous week's experience. For whole the privilege, I was charged £215 for 2 rooms for one night, compared to £80 per room advertised booking rate off the net. Stingy outfit and it shows. Money over hospitality.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidAram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 77 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2013

I chose it as we needed somewhere to stay for a couple of days while attending a family wedding in Salcombe as it was one of the few places that didn't have a 3 days minimum over the bank holiday weekend and was child friendly. Only a 10 minute drive to Salcombe so that was fine.

It's found down a small country lane and is clearly a working farm which is nice to see. Lots of ducks and chickens wandering about and sheep in the barn. Plenty of car parking so no worries on that front and no problems regarding times by which anyone had to be back.

The front part of the house is an old stone property with lots of character. There are toilets on the ground floor in the hallway and to the left is a great bar and lounge area with a huge fireplace which must be fantastic when lit in the winter. At the back of this is a large conservatory restaurant.

We are vegetarian so can't comment on the meat dishes but ordered an evening meal and thoroughly enjoyed the food which was very obviously home made (veg soup and crumpet with walnut and brie for starter, the mains came with a huge plate of different veg and were equally good and we were all so glad we had the puddings which were delicious). They were very child friendly, nothing was too much trouble and we were offered a high chair for the 5 month old baby in our group.

We had a double and a single room upstairs (we noticed a stair gate at the top of the stairs which is reassuring for those with children) which were clean and comfortable and nicely furnished with good quality antique looking furniture. One room had a shower, the other a bath and shower both of which were clean and everything worked.

On our list to come back to at some point as the scenery in the area is stunning and we'd enjoy the walking there.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank busylis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stayed here over the Bank holiday weekend. The house was lovely, although it felt a bit like a maze the first time we were shown to our room.
Breakfast was good & served promptly.
Location is very convenient for Salcombe / Hope Cove.
Prices are a little more than I'd normally pay for a stay in the UK, but in the Salcombe area, this is what you expect.

Room Tip: I was upstairs, and the room was fine. From people's descriptions, getting to some of the downst...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mat8iou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

A billed '4 star' farmhouse B&B just outside Malborough, convenient for Salcombe - quite large w numerous rooms. No mobile phone signal or internet access: -ve for us. Friendly hosts though and reasonably good food - we had one evening meal which wasn't bad. Basic traditional cooked breakfast but not much in the way of fresh fruit (a small bowl of nice fresh fruit salad was available to you if you were an early riser). Standard thin sliced sandwich bread for toast - nothing exotic (no fresh homebaked breads etc). Has a very dated and 'tired' feel to the place and generally very cluttered. To acess ground floor bedrooms one has to navigate a corridor maze though the kitchen/office and then the house family sitting area - you can't help feel guilty you are invading their privacy. In our room we couldn't access the wardrobe for other furniture in the way. Bed was awful - clearly an old sagging mattress! Ensuite was tiny. Place needs a facelift. Four star - hmm? Doubt we will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rockdoctor2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Excellent farmhouse food, vegetables to die for. The accommodation is small, and cluttered with trinkets. Staff - if you can find them are a little distant. Sadly the farm is shortly to house two 24 metre wind turbines which might detract from an otherwise Area Of Outstanding Natural Beauty. Still if you enjoy flickering sunlight and the whirring of propeller blades this might be right up your street.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mickyiftz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Plugged as a farmhouse stay but actually quite commercial. Room a bit shabby and en suite tiny and cramped. Toilet had not flushed contents from previous occupant when we arrived. no apology - just a comment that it didn't always flush very well! However room was very quiet and the bed was comfortable. Breakfast ok but in large impersonal dining area. Had to go through various parts of the family area of the house to get to rooms. Not awful, but i didnt think it was worth the £85 we paid for one night.

Room Tip: Might be better upstairs. ask for a decent sized en suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Just spent 2 nights in the bed and breakfast accommodation and will not be back. Spent 40 minutes ringing the bells on our first night - 37 weeks pregnant and only wanted a soft drink - a bar was advertised so we assumed that we were not asking the impossible but by the attitude of the guy who eventually appeared we were! Room tiny and way too hot, smallest ensuite possible. No hot water for 3 days owner did not care and charged us full amount anyway. Breakfast was just ok - real shame as we went to a wedding there about 5 years ago and it was pleasant.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 499485Beba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingsbridge hotels
3 mi away
Ring O'Bells
Ring O'Bells
#31 of 34 in Kingsbridge
25 reviews
5.2 mi away
Up The Creek
Up The Creek
#15 of 34 in Kingsbridge
23 reviews
5.2 mi away
Seaflowers
Seaflowers
#3 of 34 in Kingsbridge
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Glebe Farm Bed and Breakfast
8.5 mi away
The Tower Inn
The Tower Inn
#7 of 34 in Kingsbridge
159 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Globe Inn
The Globe Inn
#4 of 34 in Kingsbridge
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burton Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burton Farmhouse

Address: Burton Farm Nr Hope Cove, Kingsbridge TQ7 3EY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Kingsbridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Kingsbridge
Price Range: $120 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Burton Farmhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Burton Farmhouse is a large family run B&B in the Devonshire countryside located within the beautiful South Hams. Close by are the small estuary towns of Salcombe and Hope Cove which offer stunning beaches, sailing, windsurfing and coastal walks. The 15th Century Farmhouse can be found in the old fishing village of Galmpton, within the south Huish Valley, in An Area Of Outstanding Natural Beauty The property is a traditional stone farmhouse offering spacious rooms and all the facilities you might need to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. Originally owed by the Earl of Devonshire, Burton Farmhouse is set in 325 acres of working farmland. Two pedigree flocks of sheep and cereals are farmed on the farm which has been in the Rossiter family for over 100 years. We offer a variety of en suite rooms with different facilities and also offer a separate downstairs annex for elderly guests or those with mobility problems. In the annex all rooms are en-suite have call bells and hand rails and guests have the use of a large walk in shower room with shower seat. Please specify upon booking if you would like one of the ground floor rooms. We are happy to accept long term lets in these rooms for anyone looking for a period of respite. You will also find a small lounge bar which is available to guests during summer evenings or by prior arrangement. In the garden you will find a spacious patio with tables and chairs and a large grassy area with play area to keep the children busy while you put your feet up. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Burton Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burton Farmhouse Kingsbridge, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing