We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food poor reception shame about the wind turbines”
Review of Burton Farmhouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Burton Farmhouse
Ranked #28 of 32 Kingsbridge B&B and Inns
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food poor reception shame about the wind turbines”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Excellent farmhouse food, vegetables to die for. The accommodation is small, and cluttered with trinkets. Staff - if you can find them are a little distant. Sadly the farm is shortly to house two 24 metre wind turbines which might detract from an otherwise Area Of Outstanding Natural Beauty. Still if you enjoy flickering sunlight and the whirring of propeller blades this might be right up your street.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mickyiftz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    18
    14
    13
    8
See reviews for
28
26
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Plugged as a farmhouse stay but actually quite commercial. Room a bit shabby and en suite tiny and cramped. Toilet had not flushed contents from previous occupant when we arrived. no apology - just a comment that it didn't always flush very well! However room was very quiet and the bed was comfortable. Breakfast ok but in large impersonal dining area. Had to go through various parts of the family area of the house to get to rooms. Not awful, but i didnt think it was worth the £85 we paid for one night.

Room Tip: Might be better upstairs. ask for a decent sized en suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Just spent 2 nights in the bed and breakfast accommodation and will not be back. Spent 40 minutes ringing the bells on our first night - 37 weeks pregnant and only wanted a soft drink - a bar was advertised so we assumed that we were not asking the impossible but by the attitude of the guy who eventually appeared we were! Room tiny and way too hot, smallest ensuite possible. No hot water for 3 days owner did not care and charged us full amount anyway. Breakfast was just ok - real shame as we went to a wedding there about 5 years ago and it was pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 499485Beba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kingsbridge hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

My family and I stayed here during a very rainy half term and still managed to have a fantastic holiday. We got a wonderful welcome from all the staff and the food was delicious. It is sometimes nerve wracking when staying somewhere with three small children, but the whole place has such a relaxed and happy atmosphere (not to mention a great playground) that we had no worries. The children loved seeing the animals and mum and dad loved the fabulous food. Well worth booking in for an evening meal - it is fabulous!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belper, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012 via mobile

We had a super, but blowy walk from Hope Cove to the farmhouse, culminating in a fabulous cream tea of very generous proportions. They served up two freshly - baked scones per person, with a huge bowl of the **thickest** Devon cream I have ever eaten, and another bowl of delicious strawberry jam. A lovely lady met us, and served us with the tea. We rang ahead to check, and she said that they would put scones in the oven for us.

It's a good job we were walking; I wouldn't like to guess the number of calories we ate!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Competonions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, Staffordshire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Many thanks for a delightful, dry and warm afternoon in your Garden Room. Outside the weather was frightful...but the tea was so delightful!
We nearly missed coming to see you as the signage is a bit buried in the hedge coming from Salcombe. Glad we made the effort though and came back from Hope Cove direction to find you.
We love our Cream Teas and are really very picky. I have fond childhood memories of proper cream teas in genuine working farmhouses where the cream was still warm..
Ann and her team very nearly made the memories redundant!! Big bowl of clotted cream and big bowl of jam, huge scones, massive quantity of great tea in a pot....that's all we needed really.
Would seriously think about coming back to look at B and B or a self catered cottage. Thank you for compensating for a truly dreadful June afternoon with your warm hospitality and great grub.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hope99_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 30, 2011

We got married at Burton Farmhouse a few weeks ago and had the most wonderful weekend. Anne and the rest of the staff made us feel at home from the moment we arrived on the Friday until we left on Sunday. The farmhouse was gloriously decorated for Christmas giving our wedding an even more festive feel! The food was fantastic, the rooms cosy, comfy and warm, and we have had so much good feedback about the venue from all our guests. The bar, with its open fire, was a favourite place for many! Perfect place for a country wedding. And the beautiful Hope Cove is only a mile down the road.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brentgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingsbridge
0.9 mi away
Lantern Lodge
Lantern Lodge
#3 of 4 in Hope Cove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
3.3 mi away
Ring O'Bells
Ring O'Bells
#17 of 32 in Kingsbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
5.3 mi away
Up The Creek
Up The Creek
#13 of 32 in Kingsbridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Globe Inn
The Globe Inn
#5 of 32 in Kingsbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Tower Inn
The Tower Inn
#6 of 32 in Kingsbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
5.3 mi away
Seaflowers
Seaflowers
#2 of 32 in Kingsbridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burton Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burton Farmhouse

Property: Burton Farmhouse
Address: Burton Farm Nr Hope Cove, Kingsbridge TQ7 3EY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Kingsbridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Kingsbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Burton Farmhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Burton Farmhouse is a large family run B&B in the Devonshire countryside located within the beautiful South Hams. Close by are the small estuary towns of Salcombe and Hope Cove which offer stunning beaches, sailing, windsurfing and coastal walks. The 15th Century Farmhouse can be found in the old fishing village of Galmpton, within the south Huish Valley, in An Area Of Outstanding Natural Beauty The property is a traditional stone farmhouse offering spacious rooms and all the facilities you might need to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. Originally owed by the Earl of Devonshire, Burton Farmhouse is set in 325 acres of working farmland. Two pedigree flocks of sheep and cereals are farmed on the farm which has been in the Rossiter family for over 100 years. We offer a variety of en suite rooms with different facilities and also offer a separate downstairs annex for elderly guests or those with mobility problems. In the annex all rooms are en-suite have call bells and hand rails and guests have the use of a large walk in shower room with shower seat. Please specify upon booking if you would like one of the ground floor rooms. We are happy to accept long term lets in these rooms for anyone looking for a period of respite. You will also find a small lounge bar which is available to guests during summer evenings or by prior arrangement. In the garden you will find a spacious patio with tables and chairs and a large grassy area with play area to keep the children busy while you put your feet up. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Burton Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burton Farmhouse Kingsbridge, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing