We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Devon holiday”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Woodpecker Barn

Welcome to Woodpecker Barn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Woodpecker Barn
Devon slate house sign Lounge area with doors to patio
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Welcome to Woodpecker Barn
Devon slate house sign
Lounge area with doors to patio
Dining area and kitchen
Kitchen area
Kitchen
Main bedroom with double bed
Second bedroom with king size bed and a single bed
Bathroom
Double doors lead on to private patio
Teak table and chairs for 'al fresco' dining
The courtyard garden which is shared by our three cottages
Summer rambling roses outside Woodpecker Barn
Children's playground in our field just opposite the cottage
The alpacas in our field are as Interested in our guests...as they are in the alpacas
Our chickens who lay your fresh eggs
Local walk along the River Avon Valley
Bantham beach - great for families
Bantham estuary - fantastic walks
Reflections of Burgh Island
Walk along the estuary near Aveton Gifford
Dartmouth harbour - a beautiful town to visit - and maybe take a boat trip
Stormy seas and rainbow over South Milton Sands
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Kingsbridge, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
karinajam...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“Devon holiday”
Reviewed April 5, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We had a fantastic time in woodpecker barn - fantastic accommodation, all in sight and perfect for a holiday with a busy 10 month old. It was fantastic having cot, highchair and stair gate all provided and also some toys! We had a lovely time meeting the alpacas and chickens and playing in the park - thanks for a fantastic stay and we hope to come back soon

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CE-C2008
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing and comfortable stay”
Reviewed September 19, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We had a wonderful stay at Woodpecker Barn. We felt incredibly comfortable and wanted for nothing. The barn is well equipped with everything you should need. With a 7 month old it was great to have access to a washing machine. The open living area made it easy for us to watch our son whilst preparing his food and it was great for us to relax in during the evenings too.
The barn is situated in a very quiet hamlet next to a quiet farm. It was lovely to wake up to the sound of birds and see the cows in the fields.
It's also a great location for south Devon. Beaches on either side of Kingsbridge are easily accessible and there are walking locations nearby and many locations for coffee, cake and lunches.
It's a lovely base for a relaxing break in Devon plus the welcome pack on arrival with fresh eggs and homemade scones was great too! We hope to return!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisaMlon
London
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Central location to South devon and homely barn”
Reviewed July 2, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We found the owners Judy and Mike to be very informative and happy to help prior to going on holiday and while we were there. They also recommend some restaurants which were also very good which we booked before arriving.
If you have a car and want to be somewhere within 30mins of Dartmouth, Salcombe and the lovely beaches at Blackpool Sands, Hope Cove, Bigbury-on-sea / Burgh and many more places in South Devon then this is an ideal spot to be.
If you don't want to drive or want something within walking distance then this is not recommended as you don't have anything in immediate vicinity to get to without a car but if you have transport it is perfect and a peaceful retreat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and also the upstairs of barn.
Liked least: The bathroom and because the bedrooms were downstairs there was a slight musky smell due to ventilation
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare P
1 review
“Lovely cottage and great animals / play area for children”
Reviewed May 22, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

The owners were incredibly helpful, both before our trip and while we were there. They answered all questions quickly and even gave us some passata when we had forgotten to buy any for our spaghetti bolognese! The cottage was very cosy and peaceful and we felt very at home. There was a good play area, shared between the cottages, with a slide / swing etc. and alpacas and chickens. Our toddler son loved it.

Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2RBT1
England
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A lovely escape”
Reviewed May 15, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

A great holiday cottage with everything that we needed......and lots of extras that were a bonus ! Plenty of things to keep our young children busy and Judy even came to the rescue with buckets and spades when we had unexpected sunshine.

A truly beautiful area of Devon and a fantastic setting at Woodpecker Barn to enjoy it from.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra...
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Home from Home”
Reviewed April 16, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

This is our FOURTH stay at the Higher Hendham Barns - we can't get enough of it! We have three young children so Woodpecker barn suits us best with the configuration of the beds but we have also stayed in Kingfisher and this was perfectly fine too. The barn really is a home from home - there are all the cooking and kitchen / washing items you would need and the tasteful, warm decor makes you feel like you are at home rather than a faceless chain hotel. Mike and Judy are so welcoming and accommodating and really cannot do enough to help. The children's play area is great - our kids love it - and the collection of chickens and llama are of great interest too (especially the blue egg laying hen!), as well and the very friendly family labrador. The barn is welcoming as soon as you arrive with a lovely selection of fresh cut flowers and home made scones, jam and clotted cream, as well as fresh bread and home produced eggs - so if you arrive late and fancy a snack there is ample. The area is wonderful, although you really do need a car to get around and do food shopping. Totes, Dartington and Kingsbridge are just three of the nearby towns and there are TONS of fab beaches, beautiful countryside, NT & EH places to visit, as well as Dartmoor - of course. There is cycling, walking, canoeing, beach activity, horse riding, farms to visit, gourmet restaurants and good pubs, an adventure park, the National Aquarium at Portsmouth. We even managed a day return to The Eden Project in Cornwall one time..... There really is something for everyone - young or old, couples or families - and getting to them from Higher Hendham Barns is very easy and relatively near. I would highly recommend Higher Hendham Barns, hosted by Mike and Judy, and this area for a wonderful holiday in the UK.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Coming home!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
606benr
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another stay at Woodpecker Barn, as great as our first trip”
Reviewed January 8, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We stayed here again with friends for another post xmas getaway and everything was as good as the year before, apart from the weather but you just have to get on with enjoying the break regardless. The kids really enjoyed the stay and were excited to see the chickens again and play on the swings and slides. We took the opportunity to visit other areas that we hadn't been to previously (Dartmouth and Totnes which I highly recommend), we discovered some new pubs & /restaurants (The Tower Inn at Slapton is worth a visit) and left feeling refreshed and ready for the new year ahead. Once more Mike and Judy were more than accommodating during our stay and truly made us welcome at Higher Hendham.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing