We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kingsbridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
South Allington House
Ranked #12 of 32 Kingsbridge B&B and Inns
Algarve
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Our family had booked 'The Laurels' and 'the Coach House' for a surprise party for my parents 60th anniversary. Edward and Barbara were marvellous, even though at times we were fairly loud as for two days there were 22 of us!
Each of the accomodations were wonderful,exceptionally clean and kitted out with everything we needed and all to the highest standard.
The gardens and surroundings were beautiful and very well maintained.
Lannacombe beach is close by, though parking is limited and the lane down to it is very narrow. Well worth the trip though!
All in all, it couldnt have been better, and would recommended South Allington to anyone looking for a break away from it all.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jooles54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    5
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2011

Several stressed out women landed on Edward and Barbara a few of which had never camped before. The site was lovely, tranquil and well maintained. Whilst we were there one of us had a puncture, Edward could not have done more to help finding a local garage. We camped by night and had a full English in the house each morning. This managed to stabilise the less rural types in our party. The welcome was warm supportive a good natured we had such a lovely sojourn. Thank you both

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatherineTh0mps0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2010

Stayed at South Allington House for 2 nights, the accommodation has been refurbished beautifully and the proeprty was very clean. This is a great place to stay for some long walks with an amazing little beach at Lannacombe. Well worth a trip into Kingsbridge to the Famers Market, where you can look round all the lovely shops in the town also. Thoroughly enjoyed this short break and would definitely recommend South Allington House.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tracyallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts, UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2009

I've been visiting South Allington House since the early 1990s and it is one of my favourite destinations - certainly my favourite B&B. There are also some self-catering facilities that look rather good.

The rooms are spotlessly clean, breakfast is lovely, Barbara & Edward and their staff are so nice. Sometimes if busy you may share a table at breakfast with other guests.

The house is amazingly tranquil with a pretty garden and nice grounds. Kingsbridge is the nearest town, Salcombe with its beaches isn’t far, and there are plenty of interesting places to visit in all weathers nearby. It’s great for walking and exploring south Devon.

Only four stars for the location? I tried hard to find fault. I don’t like or particularly trust five star reviews across the board. The lanes leading to South Allington are tiny – be prepared to squeeze through some gaps and do some reversing into passing bays; it’s also a few minutes’ drive to the nearest place to get evening food. Just a contrast to the built-up suburbia I’m used to. I wondered if the rooms were 4 or 5 stars but just thinking about them made me want to go back, so must be 5 stars.

Worth a visit just for the cream tea even if you’re not staying!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ND4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
395 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2008

A wonderful place run by friendly people. The room we had was comfortable and clean. The gardens were superb and the location was excellent.

Breakfast was very good although it got a bit crowded at times and you had to share a table with other people - not always my thing in the morning. However this is a minor niggle, more than made up for by the beautiful surroundings.

  • Liked — The gardens
  • Disliked — the narrow lanes leading to the house (but part of the charm as well)
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank filligirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2005

South Allington House is set on a lovely farm in Devon. It is quiet and resful and rather close (7 mins by car) to the ferry across to Salcombe. It is close by car (within 45 mins drive) to loads of historic sights, animal farms and quaint country pubs...

The accomodation is excellent. I've stayed in both the cottages and the bed and breakfast and they are beautifully furnished, comfortable and Barbara Baker and her team are friendly and efficient. The holiday cottages have everything you need, such as great appliances, extra blankets, games, BBC TV and a fully equipped kitchen.

South Allington house has a gorgeous garden that is great for children, or days when you would just like to laze about and not go out on excusions. There are loads of things to do around the house as well. The breakfastroom is incredible with wonderful breakfast cooked up by Barbara and the team.

It you're keen to expore the South of England, I would recommend stopping off here for a couple of weeks. It is a lovely part of the country and a this B&B is a relaxing and charming place to stay.

(---)

Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy_Lake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2003

We go to a special place in Devon evry year its called South Allington House. Its near Kingsbridge South Devon, nestled in the hills that make Devon such a picturesque place to go on holiday. Barbra and Edward Baker the owners make sure you receive a very warm welcome whether you are a new guest or like us reqular visitors! There is so much to do and see in this area of Devon even though we have been on holiday for the past 4 years we still manage to find a little corner that we have not been to like a secluded beach or village. Devon is well known for its cream teas and we all agree it would be hard to find anyone who could bake better scones than Barbara! We are due to go there in less than 2 weeks and are all (my husband and 2 children) counting down the days.

Helpful?
1 Thank The_Madhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingsbridge
3.2 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
5.5 mi away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Sun Bay Hotel
The Sun Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hope Cove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
South Sands Hotel
South Sands Hotel
#4 of 8 in Salcombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
2.7 mi away
Seaflowers
Seaflowers
#2 of 32 in Kingsbridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Tower Inn
The Tower Inn
#6 of 32 in Kingsbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Allington House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Allington House

Property: South Allington House
Address: South Allington House Chivelstone, Kingsbridge TQ7 2NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Kingsbridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Kingsbridge
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and enjoy the tranquility and beautiful setting of South Allington House for the perfect rural getaway. Nestled in a picturesque secluded valley minutes from the beach, the magnificent Georgian house offers bed and breakfast en-suite rooms, and self-catering barn conversions, within vast grounds. There is ample parking and you are free to use the grounds, including croquet, tennis court and coarse fishing. Devon cream teas with homemade scones and jam are served on the lawn in the summer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
South Allington House Hotel Kingsbridge
South Allington House Kingsbridge, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing