We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blissful retreat and the best breakfast in Devon!”
Review of Washbrook Barn B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kingsbridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Washbrook Barn B&B
Ranked #23 of 34 Kingsbridge B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 9, 2012

My boyfriend and I visited Washbrook Barn at the beginning of September 2012 and had a wonderful time, We stayed in the Scallop room, a wonderfully toasty haven. The bed was squashy with plenty of pillows and a fluffy duvet. The bathroom was warm and spotlessly clean with a great power shower. The TV has a handy DVD player, we brought a stack of DVDs with us and delighted in having cosy movie nights after our fish and chip supper in Kingsbridge. There is also a great selection of teas and coffee in the room (and yummy biscuits!) and fresh milk in the fridge down the hall. The B&B is a bit of a stroll from Kingsbridge town centre and there are quite a few hills, so we drove most there most of the time. Parking was no problem as there is bags of room outside the barn. Penny could not be a more accommodating host and served us the most AMAZING breakfast every morning. We are lie-in types, but the 8.30 breakfast was well worth getting up for; tea in tea-cosied teapots, toast with jams and farmhouse marmalade, cereal, fruits and the option of a full English cooked to perfection. There are three rooms in all and the guests all eat together round Penny's country-style wooden dining table, which we really enjoyed as the other guests were lovely! The area is so quiet that we slept better than we had in ages and came home feeling thoroughly rested. We can't wait to visit again, thank you Penny!

Room Tip: We stayed in Scallop which was one of the smaller rooms, but was perfect for the two of us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenifaabadabing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (13)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 13 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2012

We just got back from a wonderful three-day trip to the Washbrook Barn B&B! The building is a beautifully converted barn with three individually decorated guestrooms. The owners were unbelievably nice towards us, the breakfast was very jummy and they even did us the big favor of taking us to pick up our car which we had left at a place on the other side of the village the night before. We can highly recommend staying at the Washbrook Barn B&B if you happen to come to the Kingsbridge area. Thank you very much for everything!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hvidesande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

On arrival, Penny ensured that we were made to feel extremely welcome. The accommodation is a wonderful converted barn in a relatively secluded valley on the edge of Kinsbridge. The room was light, clean and beautifully decorated. The breakfast of fresh fruit and local produce was exceptionally good. Overall a very relaxed atmosphere.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

We have just come back from a wonderful stay at Washbrook barn!

The house and our room were both beautiful in a lovely setting at the bottom of a valley very close (10 mins) to Kingsbridge town.

The breakfast was amazing, cereal, toast, fruit salad, yogurt, juices, tea and a generous cooked breakfast to finish off!

Penny was extremely welcoming, friendly and helpful.We felt very relaxed and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.When we come back to the area we will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Penny is a great host with a great taste on decorating her home. Windows painted blue, wall red and beige created harmonious feel to stay. Room is clean and spotless.

My daughter loved it so much staying there that when she moved to the next bnb, she always asked to go back to Auntie's Penny house. When she returned home to Malaysia she still remember her dog Wiggy....this shows what a wonderful time three of us had in Washbrook Barn BnB....

We won't hesitate to go back and stay if we ever travelled to Kingsbridge again...





  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katherina_yap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2010

Washbrook Barn is tucked away in a beautifully quiet valley. The double ensuite room was spacious and extremely comfortable with a 5 ft double bed and a large bathroom. Penny the owner is both charming and friendly. Her breakfasts are amazing and freshly cooked to order!!! Nothing is too much trouble. We would definitely recommend it. Her website doesn't do it justice!!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jones159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2010

We spent a glorious 5 nights here. Perfectly quiet and dark at night. Delicious breakfast made by Penny - despite walking every morning didn't need lunch until 3. Kingsbridge perfect base at the top of the estuary, so easy to access the great walks around Start Point, East Prawle, Salcombe and Kingston. Good local pub, but best place to eat was the new steak house and the award winning curry house next door to it.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slimyslug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingsbridge
5.0 mi away
The Cottage Hotel
The Cottage Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hope Cove
413 reviews
2.4 mi away
Seaflowers
Seaflowers
#3 of 34 in Kingsbridge
174 reviews
2.3 mi away
Up The Creek
Up The Creek
#15 of 34 in Kingsbridge
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
West Waterhead
West Waterhead
#13 of 34 in Kingsbridge
16 reviews
1.4 mi away
No photo provided
The Ashburton Arms
#11 of 34 in Kingsbridge
25 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Globe Inn
The Globe Inn
#4 of 34 in Kingsbridge
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washbrook Barn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washbrook Barn B&B

Address: Washabrook Lane, Kingsbridge, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Kingsbridge
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Kingsbridge
Price Range: $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Washbrook Barn B&B Kingsbridge, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing