We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant cottage situated in a lovely area”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
112 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Kingsbridge, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 112 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Donna S
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant cottage situated in a lovely area”
Reviewed January 13, 2014 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed at Rose Cottage for a week on our Honeymoon and had an absolutely fantastic time. The cottage was clean and very comfortable with all the amenities we needed. The welcome basket was a lovely touch and we thoroughly enjoyed sampling the local Devon foods. Although the weather wasn't at it's best the log fire in the cottage more than made up for it! The cottage is within an easy drive of many places to see and things to do. We would both thoroughly recommend staying at Rose Cottage to enjoy this beautiful part of England.

Date of stay: October 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benjaminj...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Tranquil Retreat”
Reviewed November 22, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Brilliant Location , central for some incredible beaches and walks along the coast area of South Hams.
We stayed at Rose Cottage as a base for arranging our Wedding and found Piers and Sue to be really accommodating hosts.
The property itself was really well appointed and really clean - we even had the added bonus of watching the farm sow give birth to Piglets.
The Welcome basket was a really nice touch after a long journey.
Overall a great stay - Thanks to the gracious hosts...

Date of stay: September 2013
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldentwo...
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“perfect holiday location”
Reviewed November 2, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

warm welcome from piers and sue. not to forget dougie the techno wizard!! the property was everything claimed and more.the service from the owners was attentive without being intrusive.the location of the cottage was great ,within easy reach several local beaches.it was also handy for visiting places such as totnes,kingsbridge,salcombe,dartmouth,etc.rose cottage is situated in a quiet rural location but not so far out as to be inconvenient.we will definately visit again in the not to distant future.finally a word of warning cotmore farm .sausages are addictive!!!

Date of stay: October 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the quiet location
Liked least: nothing to not like
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanBrianT...
Yeovil, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A cosy joy”
Reviewed October 30, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We have tried to avoid self catering cottages where the owners were in evidence, but Rose Cottage sounded so ideal for us (seniors) that we decided to give it a go.

The cottage was beautifully set out, lovely modern kitchen and sitting room combined with a gorgeous wood burner that provided us with the heading above! Situated in lovely scenery, and ideally enclosed garden for the dog plus plenty of walking from the cottage gate through the farm. Also we were privileged to meet Hermione and her delightful 5 piglets ina field by the garden, Trixie our dog was transfixed by them, watching by the gate, and even from the french doors when inside!

Piers and Sue were lovely friendly folk and we instantly felt comfortable and our slight fears about owners were absolutely dispelled! A really great place if one wants peace and quiet with comfort and marvellous for two people.

Date of stay: October 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The situation of the cottage, and its owners
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sian P
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage set in an ideal location for sightseeing the South Devon coast”
Reviewed September 18, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Rose cottage is set in a great location and has everything you need for a getaway holiday. It is very well presented, clean and modern with a secluded garden/patio area which was ideal for our pets. Piers was very helpful, although we had everything we needed including a welcome pack of locally sourced goodies. The cottage is ideally situated for visitning many nearby towns and cities. Slapton Ley, Torcross, Blackpool Sands and Beesands (The Cricketer pub) are all very close by and certainly worth visiting. Also worth a visit is the Chilli Farm in Loddiswell, and if you like chilli! try the chocolate

Date of stay: September 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful location
Liked least: The tv reception although you don't really need to sit and watch tv in such beautiful srroundings
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy C
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Rose Cottage - A Hidden Gem”
Reviewed August 24, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Thank you Piers and Sue for a wonderful holiday. Exceptional, well appointed and very clean accommodation that has been renovated to a very high standard with quality internal fixtures and fittings but still retaining charm and character. Lovely setting with a private garden and BBQ, that we made good use of thanks to the glorious weather.
Ideally situated for exploring the beautiful South Hams countryside. During the week we visited Beesands, Start Point, Kingsbridge, Dartmouth and Salcombe - all a short drive/walk away and well worth a visit. Also handy for visiting Totnes, with its interesting small independent shops.
Good local eating at The Church House and Tradesmans Arms in Stokenham. A little further afield, The Watermans Arms at Bow Bridge near Totnes is worth a visit for its location, we sat and had an excellent meal next to the creek.
We would thoroughly recommend Rose Cottage for a couples holiday and look forward to returning.

Date of stay: June 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness, well appointed, friendly hosts and Jack(the dog)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James R
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“ideal cottage for a relaxing break”
Reviewed August 18, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in Rose Cottage for a week in June and it surpassed our expectations. The location is great; very quiet and relaxing but not far from Kingsbridge or the many surrounding villages, pubs and beaches. Not that you really need to leave the cottage all that often as the cottage is well kitted out.The owners were very welcoming and helpful and we would definitely recommend it for anyone wanting a relaxing break in the South Hams.

Date of stay: June 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.