We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bay View Cafe and Bistro - CLOSED

Bay View Cafe and Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
350 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

We called in for coffee and chanced upon some people we knew. We spent some time chatting and enjoying the view, which is quite spectacular. The coffee was good and our friends both had full English breakfasts, which looked nice and got good comments from those eating them.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 446MikeE446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    46
    7
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
221 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great view, great food!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

Arrived early for breakfast - warm welcome even though they hadn't even fired up the cooker yet! Very quick service on drinks - waited a while for our food, but it was worth it, with very well cooked and presented breakfast.
Of course the really big pull for this place is the fabulous view out over Bigbury Bay - you really couldn't find a much better dining/eating spot in South Devon. Evening menu looks interesting too, we will be back to try it!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Petenac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Good place to eat. Misclassified on Tripadvisor?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

Under Bigbury on Sea there are three restaurants listed and this is not one of them! Seems to appear under Plymouth and Kingsbridge for some reason.
But it is in Bigbury with an excellent view that fully justifies it's name. Lovely views to Burgh Island and you can watch the tide coming in and cutting the island off. We visited on a bank holiday Monday which had suddenly turned into a lovely sunny day and the large car parks were full by lunchtime. So all the catering establishments were caught out and struggling.
We waited over half an hour for our orders of fish and chips but it was worth the wait - some of the best fish we have tasted in a long while. We would certainly go there again but hopefully on a more typical day when the whole place is not quite as busy.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wadewade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, Uk
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, worth the wait”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

We came here for lunch on Bank Holiday Monday - a beautiful sunny day and the beach was heaving. There was a long wait for food (40 minutes) but drinks arrived quickly and we enjoyed the views and watching the tide come in. Food when it arrived was fantastic - beautiful fresh fish with light crispy batter and well cooked chips for a reasonable price. Well worth the wait and I am sure that if it had not been a bank holiday the wait would have been much shorter.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pmw44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“the best crab sandwich I have ever eaten”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

Quality, simple food, with a fabulous view and friendly staff. An ideal stopping place on a cost path walk

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank sherrystarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bay View Cafe and Bistro also viewed

 
Kingsbridge, Devon
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing