We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B experience, best breakfast going!”
Review of Pollardscombe Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kingsbridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pollardscombe Farm
Ranked #19 of 32 Kingsbridge B&B and Inns
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great B&B experience, best breakfast going!”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Stayed last weekend at Pollardscombe Farm and it was everything we needed! Really cosy and warm, and the couple that ran it made us feel really at home and were incredibly helpful throughout our stay. We also had the best cooked breakfast each morning with locally sourced produce - some of this came straight from the B&B's own farm!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We went to this farmhouse by chance. We googled and we found it. The best discovery ever. This farmhouse is a gem and it is run by a wonderful couple, Lisa and Alan, who bent over backwards to make your stay memorable. Our children loved it. Alan showed them around and Lisa spoiled them.

Rooms: spacious, immaculate with a five-star bathroom (bathrobe + slippers). Astonishing attention to every detail. Cole & Lewis Soap. Water, fruits and tee/coffee always available - at night, you will find fresh milk on the landing for you!!!

Breakfast: copious and delicious (porridge, home-made sausages, scrambled eggs, black pudding, scones, granola, fresh tomatoes, mushrooms, home-made jams - oranges and raspberry). Coffee is very good as so is tea.

Tea: in the afternoon, when you are back from your sightseeing, a fresh pot of tea waits for you, along with fresh scones and other food temptations.

Given the quality on offer, the price is very reasonable!!

Two other suggestions:

For a quick snack, better go to the Queen's arm (a family run pub with a good, albeit limited, menu).

For a very good dinner (mainly fish), go straight to the Cricket-Inn (Beesands).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank novembre1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Once found, this farmhouse in deepest Devon, just on the outskirsts of Slapton near Dartmouth, is a real gem!
The views are of typical Devon and the bedrooms are large and very comfortable, the Devonshire cream tea and home-made cakes that Lisa provides are scrumptious.
This holiday is really very relaxing with lots to to nearby, we recommend the round robin trip of ferry-steam train-bus-boat to Paignton and back to Dartmouth.
You must try theTower Inn at Slapton and The Cricket Inn at Beesands if you like seafood, the lobster was superb!
Thanks Lisa and Alan for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjdLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Just got back from a lovely stay at Pollardscombe Farm. Have never written a review on Trip Advisor before but we wanted to share our positive experience, to make sure others don't overlook this hidden gem! We stayed in the Rose Room: lovely accommodation, exceptionally comfortable and charming. Breakfast is very high quality, homecooked and lovingly presented- Lisa really goes out of her way to make it special. If you are lucky enough she may even have some duck eggs straight from the farm for you to try.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2011

Without doubt a wonderful place! We stayed in the converted Dairy Parlour (19/9 to 26/9/11) with our 6 month old daughter. The accommodation was immaculately clean, it was beautifully renovated and really was home from home. It was spacious and was well furnished and equipped (for adults and for baby!), it really did have everything we needed. My husband was delighted at how large and comfortable the King-size bed was as he is 6'4". We had the best cooked breakfast we have ever had in the farm house as a treat one of the mornings we were there. Lisa does everything she can to make visitors feel welcome, fresh eggs and a lovely homemade cake were there to greet us on our arrival! Both Lisa and her husband Alan are very genuine, hardworking and friendly. I did a farm walk with Alan one morning and he is passionate about his animals and his way of life. We were very impressed with everything and had such a lovely week we are going back next year. My parents have stayed in Owlacombe Cottage which is also on the farm, my mother, who is very fussy described it as 'gorgeous'. We have done a huge amount of travelling around the British Isles in the 10 years we spent together before our daughter was born and I can honestly say that Pollardscombe Farm is one of our top 3 places! We can highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sandy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

What can i add to the revue above stating that say's this is the best b&b ever other than both of us think that it sums it up perfectly!!!!! Lisa and Alan ould never be bested as hosts. The farmhouse was spotless and had been renovated to a really high standard most of the work being done by Alan himself and it stays that way even though it is very much a working farm!! Lisa and Alan really do go that extra mile on just about everything!! You more or less get the freedom of the farm!! the rooms are kept spotlessly clean and so is the farm. we would return and will do so everytime we are down in Devon. It was my wifes birthday trip and the farm and our hosts could not have made it more special. Yes the breakfast was brilliant and kept us going most of the day but the farm it's owner's the views and the value for money tops any b&b we have ever stayed in and there have been a few.O fficially 4 star silver but unofficially our rating would be 5 star plus five!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank knurly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
212 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2011

Frankly, if farmhouses were awarded stars like hotels this one would have 5+. The accommodation was first class with the best of fittings etc. The breakfasts could not be bettered either in quality or choice. There are 3 delightful & friendly farm dogs plus ducks & other animals wandering about the farm. Oh & the lady of the house defies beiief at the amount of work she puts in to ensure your stay is as good as it possibly can be nothing is too much trouble. All in all this is the best farnhouse B&B at which we have stayed & we have sampled quite a few. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ColinManchesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingsbridge hotels
0.0 mi away
Seaflowers
Seaflowers
#3 of 32 in Kingsbridge
162 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ring O'Bells
Ring O'Bells
#20 of 32 in Kingsbridge
22 reviews
0.0 mi away
Burton Farmhouse
Burton Farmhouse
#29 of 32 in Kingsbridge
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Globe Inn
The Globe Inn
#5 of 32 in Kingsbridge
236 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Tower Inn
The Tower Inn
#7 of 32 in Kingsbridge
144 reviews
0.0 mi away
Up The Creek
Up The Creek
#13 of 32 in Kingsbridge
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pollardscombe Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pollardscombe Farm

Property: Pollardscombe Farm
Address: Slapton, Kingsbridge TQ7 2QG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Kingsbridge
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Kingsbridge
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pollardscombe Farm is a peaceful retreat for those wishing to escape the hustle and bustle of everyday life. It is convenient for many countryside and coastal walks as well as being close to stunning beaches. Dartmouth, Salcombe, Kingsbridge and Dartmoor are all within easy reach for visits. The quiet village of Slapton is approximately one mile away. There are two traditional pubs, a Thirteenth Century church and a village store stocking most day to day requirements. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pollardscombe Farm Kingsbridge, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing