We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another lovely holiday”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kingsbridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
West Charleton Grange
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Our third visit to West Charleton Grange and still love it. Hazel and John are very welcoming and helpful. The garden is perfect for small children, this time our 2 year old was particularly keen on the slide and the new pedal-driven tractors. The large area of grass is great for kids to run around in and the swimming pool is lovely. The cottages are well-equipped (although would recommend taking your own sharp knife). The area has lots of great beaches and great places to eat (favourites are the Millbrook Inn, South Sands hotel, the Beachhouse at South Milton Sands and the new Gara Rock hotel).

Room Tip: Twysden and Tickell have the best views from their bay windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 83 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2013

If, like us, you were starting to feel that holidaying with young children meant leaving the world of grown-up, high quality accommodation behind, then West Charleton Grange offers an antidote to the wipe-clean plastic world of kid-cations. The beautiful photography & "reassuringly" expensive-looking interiors shown on the website give confidence that this is a place the big people should enjoy, whilst the extensive grounds with the swings & Wendy house, never mind the heated indoor pool & proximity to lovely local beaches tell you that this is going to be good for the small people too.

From the moment I booked our week's stay I felt optimistic about the holiday. Lots of information was provided upfront about the facilities on site & in the area to help us get the most out of our trip. Armed with this information, we arranged a Waitrose delivery to coincide with our arrival, & booked a lovely baby-sitter from the Grange's list of recommendations, meaning we got to go out for dinner. The info pack helpfully suggests which places offer the best beach-side food & drink, the best beaches for sand or rock pools or swimming, child-friendly pizzerias, grown-up fine dining etc etc. All have been enthusiastically road-tested by the team at the Grange.

The Grange is an impressive & elegant cluster of stone buildings with a grand house at its centre, in the middle of idyllic, leafy, high-hedged South Hams countryside. There are six cottages of varying size. All come with stair gates, high chairs, travel cots & toys. If you need any other kit super helpful manager Sam & owners Hazel & John are only too pleased to sort it out for you. We stayed in cute Pypard Cottage, which has a comfortable 2 bedrooms, on a par with accommodation in smart country gastro-pubs & small hotels, but offering a quality not often found in self-catering places. The kitchen is smart & well-equipped: I was impressed to find champagne glasses amongst all the other key items of crockery & cookware. The owners have thoughtfully planted a little herb garden on the cottage terrace, which is inspired, & tells you that these are people who really care about the details.

There are plenty of on-site pleasures for the kids. We swam every morning in the lovely indoor pool, which we had entirely to ourselves each time. Lastly, having other families staying around you means play dates on tap. Our daughter quickly made friends with the girls in the next cottage & they happily romped in the garden (plentiful outdoor toys & equipment for all ages) at every opportunity whilst we chatted & watched on.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We spent a lovely week at West Charleton. It's great for small children with a large garden and plenty of things to do in it. The cottage was well equiped and whilst some rooms downstairs may be a bit small if fully occupied, this wasn't an issue at all for us. The living area was well laid out with plenty of room. Not sure what it would be like if it rains, but then what place is? Besides there is always the swimming pool that was an ideal temperature for our toddler. The location is ideal for accessing the coast with good sandy beaches nearby for kids to run around on.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oopsyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Just returned from a week at West Charleton Grange and what a find this gem is. All you require is there and if it's not, the hosts Hazel & John will go out of their way to get it. The 6 cottages are immaculate, spotlessly clean and well equipped. (I know beause I was shown some of the others)
Thoughtful items include baby proof gates at the top of stairs and not only Freesat but also DVD players and a selection of books as well
The indoor swimming pool was excellent and I thought just the right temperature. Didn't get to use the tennis court, table tennis or the barbeque. The information packs have loads of information about the local area together with suggestions for dining or places to visit.
Excellent walking on the nearby S Devon coast path and there is excellent bird-watching in the area (found a cirl bunting!!) The Millbrook at South Pool is well worth a visit as is the Pigs Nose at East Prawle
I cannot recommend this place high enough; it would be ideal for children as it is well away from any traffic at all and is equally well supplied with toys and childrens books. It is not particularly cheap but you get what you pay for. This is the top end of the market and long may it remain so. Praises to Hazel, John & Sam (not forgetting Otto & Clyde)
I will definitely be back next year (already sorted)

Room Tip: Colby is nearer the playground and has a nice terrace Tickell, Twisden & Pypard have slightly b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Biffo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

The three of us really enjoyed our October half term break at Pypard Cottage. Hazel and John, the hosts are perfect. They are laid back and relaxed, have good suggestions on where to go and run a good ship! When we arrived at our cottage we found a lovely vase of flowers and a bottle of wine to welcome us - we were able to settle in before we met our hosts which is something we all appreciated.

Our cottage was lovely but it was a little cramped downstairs whilst the living room was big it was a real shame that you could not take in the spectacular view that was on offer from the very comfortable sofas. The cottages next door to ours had bay-type windows and we were envious that we were not in one of those!

The pool and the outdoor activities were excellent and enjoyed on a daily basis - my son is 9 and whilst the wendy house and garden did not tempt him, the pool, basketball net and table tennis certainly did. The grounds are immaculate and you really feel like you are away from everything as it is quiet and even though the complex was almost fully occupied it was rare to see anyone else so you felt like you had the place to yourself.

Staying here is expensive and so expectations are high and for the most part, Charleton does deliver but there were some things that irked me. There was a lovely kitchen but basics such as salt and pepper were not provided - annoying as I expected there to be, did not take any, then had to go out and buy it - you really do have to bring everything if you are intending to self cater. A basket of wood is provided (and you can help yourself to the wood shed when you run out) but only 2 firelighters are supplied for a weeks stay in October (when it was cold!!). If you are a novice firestarter like me, you need firelighters! Soap (very lovely soap too) is the only thing provided in the bathrooms whereas I was expecting shower gels and shampoo etc. I felt like it was all a bit bare minimum and I guess because I expected all of the things I have mentioned to be there (given the standard and description of the cottage) I was annoyed that I then had to go out and get it all. Small things I know but still annoying!

We did so much in our week here and saw so many beautiful places - Charleton is perfectly placed for exploring the area as everything is reached very quickly and easily. Kingsbridge, the local town has everything you need food wise - lots of lovely independent shops and a great deli called mange tout.

Would love to come back to the area again.

Room Tip: go for a cottage with a bay window - get one bigger than you need
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank blakeholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We've just come back from a fantastic week in Devon staying here - in the West Wing. You knew you had arrived somewhere great when you're greeted by the owner - Hazel - who says that your Waitrose food delivery arrived before us but not to worry as everything had been put away in the 'cottage' for us and she had signed for the delivery. One less thing to have to worry about. But then that is typical of this place. Like the phone call the day before we arrived to make sure that we had everything we needed.

The West Wing - and actually the whole property - is a really lovely blend for adults and children alike. The accommodation is gorgeous and rally well appointed to make you feel like you were at a luxury place. Lovely furniture and soft furnishings, power showers, etc, etc. But there is also loads to do for children, including swimming pool, a 'short' tennis court, swings and slides and even a 'Den' where my 2.5 year old discovered lots of toy cars and things to play with. They even recommended a fabulous baby sitter so we could go out one night for dinner and not have to worry.

If I was going to fault this place - and you'd have to try really really hard to find something - I just wish the pool had been a couple of degrees warmer so that my son could have spent even longer in the pool. But that's minor. We very much hope to be back next year. Thanks Hazel for a great family holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaddyPCambridgeUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Stayed here with three generations and all had a fantastic time. They have thought of everything which makes it easy to just turn up and start your holiday. Kitchen is well equipped (including food for 1st 24 hours if required), and there is loads of toys (indoor and outdoor) for the kids. Lovely walks in the gardens and beyond.

Something for everyone

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcpeates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingsbridge
2.5 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
4.2 mi away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
804 reviews
4.7 mi away
Thurlestone Hotel
Thurlestone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thurlestone
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
South Sands Hotel
South Sands Hotel
#4 of 7 in Salcombe
881 reviews
7.9 mi away
Stoke Lodge Hotel
Stoke Lodge Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dartmouth
193 reviews
4.8 mi away
Lantern Lodge
Lantern Lodge
#3 of 4 in Hope Cove
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Charleton Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Charleton Grange

Address: Church Lane | West Charleton, Kingsbridge TQ7 2AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Kingsbridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Kingsbridge
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
West Charleton Grange Kingsbridge, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing