We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Kingfisher is a well equipped, spacious and...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Kingfisher Cottage

Front view of the cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front view of the cottage
External photo looking in to the Kitchen Sitting Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Front view of the cottage
External photo looking in to the Kitchen
Sitting Room
Sitting Room
Kitchen area with breakfast bar
Dinning area of kitchen diner
Master Bedroom with King size bed and daybed
End Bedroom
Twin bedroom
Family Bathroom
View over the duck pond to the cottage
The naturally spring fed duck pond
view gardens and pond from the drive
Blackpool Sands
Coastline near Blackpool Sands
Salcombe Harbour and Lifeboat
Coastline near Burgh Island
Start Point Light House
View of Dartmouth Regatta 2010 - Red Arrows
Coastal view down the valley to Hallsands
The Trademans Arms (The local Pub)
Salcombe Harbour and Lifeboat
Dad and Son on Kayak at Blackpool Sands
Salcombe Estuary
Coast Line - Start Point to Slapton Sands
View looking down on Dartmouth
Salcombe Estuary
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Kingsbridge, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gareth R
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Kingfisher is a well equipped, spacious and comfortable cottage set in a peaceful location.”
Reviewed June 3, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Kingfisher is a well equipped, spacious and comfortable cottage set in a peaceful location. The cottage is conveniently positioned for visiting South Devon's excellent seaside attractions.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 5, 2017
Glad you enjoyed your stay and the cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonshi
West lulworth
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A hidden gem in the heart of the countryside”
Reviewed April 19, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Kingfisher Cottage is set in beautiful countryside but within a short drive of Slapton, Salcombe and Dartmouth - to name just a few. We were a group of 3 couples with dogs. Two of the bedrooms were great but the third was a bit small. No problem for a few days and certainly fine for a children's room. There is a large and comfortable lounge complete with log burning fire. The kitchen/dining room also had plenty of space for people to socialise while others were cooking. It had everything we could hope for to be able to cook sumptuous meals. Everything was spotlessly clean and the beds were very comfortable. Towels were soft and fluffy. Do I need to go on? We had a great time and would recommend it to anyone.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 5, 2017
Thanks for your detailed review and glad you enjoyed what we offer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navigate2...
1 review
“Cosy peaceful cottage in the Devon countryside”
Reviewed October 20, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We had a delightful stay at Kingfisher cottage in early October.

All facilities were of high quality.

The kitchen was spacious and well equipped (with dishwasher) and the loungeroom (with log burning fireplace) was great to retreat to in the evenings.

The main bedroom with skylight was very cosy.

The apartment also felt very clean.

You definitely need a car to access, however the cottage was well positioned to Salcombe; Dartmouth and Kingsbridge (all worthy of a visit)

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 21, 2016
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and liked the area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen B
Beckenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent property in Devon's beautiful South Hams”
Reviewed September 24, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Kingfisher Cottage is spacious, clean and well appointed with good quality fixtures and fittings. Wi-Fi is provided and there is a good selection of DVD’s and books for any days the weather might mean taking it easy at the cottage.
It is one of a few properties in a small, secluded and pretty spot called Valley Springs and a little off the beaten track, which adds to its charm as it is nicely quiet. The two resident families we met were friendly and welcoming.
For anyone unfamiliar with Devon lanes the routes to/from main roads are mostly single track with passing places, which also adds to the charm of the area. However, many of the attractions of Devon’s South Hams (too many to mention) are easily reached but own transport is essential.
We would definitely be happy to spend more time at this excellent property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful location
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 21, 2016
Thanks for your great review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dharding6...
1 review
“Perfect location and”
Reviewed August 22, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Spent a great week at Kingfisher Cottage.
Perfect location and beautiful cottage furnished to a high standard.
Plenty to do in the surrounding area and James is very easy to deal with.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 24, 2016
Glad you had a great holiday and positive experience.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simon c
1 review
“Excellent and friendly service”
Reviewed May 24, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

'Five of us stayed for a week in early May and enjoyed the area and the cottage equally - the standard of accommodation was excellent (and bear in mind four of us are Swiss, and Swiss hospitality standards are exacting) and the neighbours are extremely friendly and helpful. All in all we felt we enjoyed very good value, and will be recommending Kingfisher Cottage to our friends'.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 25, 2016
Glad you had a good time and we are up to Swiss standards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra G
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful & relaxing cottage”
Reviewed May 23, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

I stayed here with my elderly parents and my aunt for a week. The cottage is gorgeous, very clean and to a high standard. Has everything you need. I would say that it is a little remote which I probably wouldn't pick again with elderly relatives as it would have been nice to walk down to a shop to pick up a paper without having to drive a fair few miles (and all that entails with the elderly!) But we had a lovely time. The location is beautiful and the owner is very friendly and helpful.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing