We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely campsite in lovely location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kingsbridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Karrageen Caravan & Camping Park
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely campsite in lovely location”
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

My partner & I had a lovely week at Karrageen. The campsite is in a nice location and is generally very peaceful. It does have a good atmosphere also though, particularly when people are spending time around their pitches, cooking their evening meals. The owners were very helpful and the on-site shop was useful for any basic essentials. We really enjoyed the freshly baked croissants. The toilets and showers are modern and were very clean. We didn't mind at all paying 20p for 2 minutes for the showers. 20p or 40p was sufficient for me as a woman, depending on whether I washed my hair or not! I imagine that paying for the showers really helps conserve water and prevents people having lengthy showers at the expense of others who would be waiting. It was great having the facility of free (wall mounted style) hair dryers. It was also very useful having access to hot water to wash pots in and also washing machines and a dryer (although we didn't use them). I also thought a £1 charity donation to charge my camera was very good.

The bedtime 'keeping noise to a minimum' is a little early for us normally during 'holiday time', but given we were woken very early by the sounds of wildlife, this was no problem at all. It does feel like a bit of a hike to Hope Cove by foot but given we are 'walkers' this again wasn't an issue for us. You cpuld of course just drive down.

We would definitely stay at Karageen again if visiting that part of Devon. If you stay there it is definitely worth a walk down not only to Hope Cove (& pub there) but also a walk up to the Bolberry Downs (& Port Light), & of course the coast paths all around.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N_1Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    22
    11
    4
    6
See reviews for
88
47
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We were recommended this site, so we thought we would try it out. I have to admit we were a little disappointed. The welcome was great and the location can't be faulted, although it is a 25min walk down to Hope Cove. Also it’s a great location for access to the coastal path and Salcombe.

The site seems very clean and tidy and the pitch size was really good, amongst the biggest we have yet to come across. Slightly disappointed with the views, as all we could see was a large hedge, but saying that views are probably possible from other locations on the site.

Our pitch had no water etc, which is fine but it was difficult to find a water tap that wasn't in use by other people.

The toilet block is located in the next field amongst the static caravans, so this can be a bit of a trek. The cost of a shower was 20p for 2 minutes, we knew about the 20p cost before we went but not that it lasted just 2 minutes. The showers we had tended to be warm rather than hot and the showers had just 2 hooks and nowhere to place shower gels etc. They could do with a plastic folding seat and extra storage. It also seemed that the lights are turned off early mornings and later evenings, so at times it was difficult to see.

Overall good apart from the bits mentioned about, that let the place down.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roser73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddington
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is a very well run campsite perfectly located for some of the best beaches/walks in the area. We really appreciated the kindness of the owners and the excellent facilities both for washing us and washing up! It was very hot during our stay and the access to freezers for our ice blocks was a saver. Beautiful sunsets, gorgeous stars and we will definitely be booking for next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Very friendly welcome from Nikki and Phil. Excellent caravan - immaculate inside. Great location. We had a fabulous time and amazing weather. Superb site and would recommend to anyone wanting a peaceful, relaxing time. Facilities, toilets,showers,washing up,laundry room ,family/disabled room for loo showering etc, all spotlessly clean and well maintained.

Shop well stocked with essentials incl a bottle of wine or two .

Having never been down that area before we loved it, Hope Cove 1 mile away was delightful, fantastic sunsets with a pint at the Hope and Anchor.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

This campsite is fantastic, the family that run it are lovely, the facilities were clean and modern, and the views are beautiful.

We were warmly welcomed, and phil pops round each day to say hi. There's yummy croissants you can order for breakfast, and cold wine in the shop fridge.

We are so lucky to have had the heat wave while we were there and spent every day at the beach.

Beachcomber - great fish & chips, and sandwiches etc which we ate on the beach!

Hope and anchor pub - we drank their cider and ate their chips!

Local post office - great for all the things you couldn't fit in the car like a bucket and spade.

Phil told us how up get down to the cove, it's very easy - it is quite a trek with kids but so worth it, we drove one day!

Overall we can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Lins78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I have been visiting the South Hams area (particularly around Hope Cove) for a few years now in various types of accommodation however I think I have now found my favourite spot! I stayed at Karageen for 3 nights in June with my Mum in our campervan and we both really enjoyed it and if it hadn't been for work commitments we would have extended our stay. There are plenty of pitches with different qualities (some with sea views and some more sheltered) to go for and the facilities are very good and kept very clean. Phil and Nikki are very friendly and always pleased to help out and the bread and croissants in the mornings were great.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

An amazing site, beautifully kept and tranquil location. Hot showers, clean facilities and the owner makes you feel at home. Had booked four nights but stayed an extra one as weather was lovely. Such a relaxed atmosphere. Booked to go back as it was so nice! Worth every penny.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Keitho1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingsbridge
1.2 mi away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
766 reviews
2.5 mi away
South Sands Hotel
South Sands Hotel
#4 of 8 in Salcombe
840 reviews
3.0 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Sun Bay Hotel
The Sun Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hope Cove
412 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lantern Lodge
Lantern Lodge
#3 of 4 in Hope Cove
165 reviews
2.5 mi away
Thurlestone Hotel
Thurlestone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thurlestone
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karrageen Caravan & Camping Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karrageen Caravan & Camping Park

Property: Karrageen Caravan & Camping Park
Address: Bolberry, Malborough, Kingsbridge TQ7 3EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Kingsbridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Kingsbridge
Number of rooms: 90
Also Known As:
Karrageen Caravan & Camping Park Kingsbridge, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing