We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my best camping experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kingsbridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Karrageen Caravan & Camping Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 7, 2012

This campsite is the best situated for seeing the Kingsbridge Estuary area. A wonderful base to explore the coast path, the countryside and local towns and villages. The stand-out features of the site besides location are the shower and kitchen/laundry facilities (amazingly clean), the friendliness of the staff and the privacy of the pitches. Stayed in the bottom valley which was surrounded by trees on both sides with only one neighbour at the other end of the valley. Whilst there wasn't a sea view here, it was so private and quiet. Short walk to Hope Cove and a lovely atmosphere. Owner walks around every day to check everything is alright, in a very inobtrusive way. If you are going to South Devon and want to camp, stay here!

Room Tip: Choose the lower valley for privacy, upper field for community and views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank intrepid1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karrageen, Owner at Karrageen Caravan & Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Many thanks indeed. Hope to see you again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 171 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed at Karageen for a week in June and had the worst weather ever (gales and torrential rain!) - but still absolutely loved this site and will be back again and again! We felt the site was layed out really well so it had a feeling of being a small site but actually had quite a lot of pitches. All the pitches were level and the facilities were great. The owners are absolutely lovely and I had many laughs with Phil who wanders around the site on a daily basis checking everyone is ok which was a really nice touch, especially considering the weather and the number of tents that broke or blew down! All in all we loved this site and cannot wait to visit again! Highly recommend it!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karrageen, Owner at Karrageen Caravan & Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Many thanks Karen. Look forward to resuming our banter on your next visit (hopefully during better weather!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Nice campsite with spacious pitches, the site does slope but we had a flat pitch whihc was fairly private along the top. Very helpful and welcoming owners. Downside for us the windy narrow lanes with our small caravan. New shower block with coin operated showers @20p. A bit of a apin especially if there was no hot water, rumours were either tank ran out or thermostat problems. The other problem is the electrics kept cutting out during the evening at least 3 or 4 times each day. I don't think we will be returning for the reasons stated.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Booketta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karrageen, Owner at Karrageen Caravan & Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Sorry that you experienced a cold shower one morning. We did indeed have a problem with a thermostat which we were able to resolve immediately. We were at that time still getting used to our new solar heating system and are pleased to inform you that it has worked wonderfully during the summer busy period.
Sometimes we do have problems with our electric hook-ups when customers try to use domestic appliances such as 3kw kettles and heaters, and they overload the circuit. This has not happened at all during the summer whilst we have had a full camp.
We thank you for your comments nevertheless.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This is a fantastic family run campsite, the facilities are kept clean and are of a good standard. Hope Cove is about a 20 minute walk either via the road or across the fields (the route we take with our Greyhounds) where you will find a lovely beach, Post Office and the Hope & Anchor Inn where you can enjoy a relaxing drink whilst listening to the sound of the sea. The owners of the site are very helpfull and polite with the owner usually found wandering around the site in the morning checking that everyone is ok and wishing all a good morning. We have stayed here several times now and even spent our honeymoon here with our Greyhounds. The site is quiet with no large groups and well poositioned with views across the fields out to sea and there are plently of walks nearby with secluded coves to explore.
With regards to a previous review stating that the site had dog poo everywhere, all I can say is that we have never seen this, all dog owners (including ourselves) cleaned up after their dog if it did have an accident on site, though it is in the site rules that dogs are excersised off stie which isn't a problem, the site in our experience is very well kept with plenty af water points.
We have booked again this year and would highly recommend Karrageen to anyone wishing to camp in this area, you won't find a better site in such a great location with clean facilities and a freindly family run attmosphere.

Room Tip: Most of the site is on a slgiht hill though the pitches themselves are level, but if you are less mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brynjolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

My girlfriend and I visited Karrageen for the Easter weekend. Arrival was friendly (tip as you arrive, pitches are down hill through the gate, check in reception is up the drive) given all the necesarry info without any fuss and was greated at our pitch.

Facilities are very good. The sanitary areas are obviously very new. The showers are coin operated but dont let this deter you. It simply means there are no queues. They take 20p's with 40p being enough.

Hope Cove is a short walk down the road and across the meadow. We rode to Salcombe. I enjoyed the ride more than Salcombe itself. Think we'll walk it next time across the cliffs.

The highlight for me were the beautiful sunsets we witnessed from our pitch. The campsite has an amazing vantage point which looks down from onhigh over Hope Cove with the Sun setting in between the cliffs above the sea. Perfection.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sgabnuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

ive been visiting karageen for about 22 years now, and i have enjoyed every single minute of it. it is a beautiful site, with wonderful views across the valley and out to sea. its possibly not for everyone - if you want a clubhouse, and pool then its not for you. but its simplicity is is biggest appeal. the minute you set up home here, you relax, turn off, and enter the somewhat slower pace of live that is devon.
the owners are ever so friendly, as are their children who also work on the site from time to time. nikki has established a well stocked shop that provides most things you need, and the facilities are excellent. you should be able to hear the cuckoos in spring - the only place i know of where you can - and there is an abundance of other wild life - birds of prey, rabbits badgers etc.
my kids have grown up here and would love to come back for a visit this year - but ones' in newcastle on tyne which is a days journey just in itself!
but i have been back time and time again and just cant get enough of it. a real paradise of a place. thanks to phil and nikki...

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thelawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

We went camping here last summer and this was one of the most lovely places I have stayed in. We were lucky enough to get a place in 'Top Field' where we could sit every evening with a glass of wine and watch the amazing sunsets over the sea with an uninterrupted view! The campsite is run by two of the most friendly proprieters- Phil and Nikki- Phil goes out of his way to check that all is OK, to offer advice and to help out with any problems. Nikki always had a ready smile and welcome in the shop where the fresh croissants were among the best we have eaten! The shower block was immaculate whenever we visited it and we were quite happy to pay for the hot water- 20p provided plenty for a shower. The campsite was quiet and peaceful and we had the most relaxing stay. We can't wait to go back.
Liz and Jerry.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingsbridge hotels
0.8 mi away
Burton Farmhouse
Burton Farmhouse
#29 of 34 in Kingsbridge
77 reviews
5.7 mi away
Seaflowers
Seaflowers
#3 of 34 in Kingsbridge
175 reviews
5.3 mi away
Glebe Farm Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
The Globe Inn
The Globe Inn
#4 of 34 in Kingsbridge
254 reviews
5.7 mi away
Up The Creek
Up The Creek
#15 of 34 in Kingsbridge
23 reviews
9 mi away
The Tower Inn
The Tower Inn
#7 of 34 in Kingsbridge
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karrageen Caravan & Camping Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karrageen Caravan & Camping Park

Address: Bolberry, Malborough, Kingsbridge TQ7 3EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Kingsbridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Kingsbridge
Number of rooms: 90
Also Known As:
Karrageen Caravan & Camping Park Kingsbridge, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing