We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay”
Review of Ashleigh House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ashleigh House
Ranked #1 of 34 Kingsbridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Second time here and Sue gives you a lovely welcome. Fresh milk on arrival for your cup of tea. Good cooked breakfast with local bacon/sausages. Our room had a good view over fields. Family rooms too. It is easy to park here and not far to walk down the hill to the centre where there is a good choice of places to eat. We had pie and a pint night at the Kings Arms. Lots of places to visit nearby. Easy to travel by bus too - I went to Dartmouth for the day.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RenLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue A, Owner at Ashleigh House, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Thanks so much for your lovely comments, it was great to see you again at Ashleigh House, hope to see you here next year !!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 199 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2012

Lovely place, great breakfast- sue would cook up anything we'd fancy each morning. Both richard and sue have lots of knowledge of the area. Comfy bed and lovely shower-very powerful! very clean and will be coming back soon ! X

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ratty1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue A, Owner at Ashleigh House, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Thank you very much for your lovely comments and for taking the time to write them, hope to see you again at Ashleigh House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Another welcoming weekend trip to Ashleigh House where we stopped in the family room with my grandson. The en suite family room 1 is both spacious, immaculately decorated and comfortable - with one king sized, and two single beds. Ashleigh House is situated on a quiet residential street so guaranteed good night's sleep. My grandson particularly enjoyed the locally sourced sausages whilst we highly rated the full English breakfast. Easy walking distance to the town and harbour, and about 3-4 miles to the local beaches, make this a great, very reasonably priced location. Thanks again to Sue and Richard for their great hospitality.

Room Tip: If you've got children, then the en suite family room 1 is spacious and well decorated, with one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bristolskiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue A, Owner at Ashleigh House, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Thank you very much for your lovely review, it means a lot to us. I can tell who you are from your comments, it was a pleasure having you all to stay and hope to see you at Ashleigh House again in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Having dealt with a good 7 hours' worth of traffic on a muggy day from London, I have to say that Ashleigh house was the ideal antidote; warm, friendly and accommodating even upon our extra-late arrival (and even later arrival following a wedding reception the next night!). Sue, the rooms, the breakfast and the whole atmosphere make for a complete countryside package, and I would highly recommend this stay to anyone visiting Devon.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank 946j_w946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue A, Owner at Ashleigh House, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Thanks so much for taking the time to post this lovely review, I can tell who you are from your comment re late arrival, it was lovely to meet the 3 of you and lots of luck for the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We had a fantastic time last weekend in Kingsbridge, and this is a great place to stay, very quiet (we slept with the window open!) and plenty of places to park on Ashleigh Road if it is busy...but we managed to park easily on site, and even got our trailer on the drive. It is only a short walk to the town centre and quayside. The room was immaculate and the breakfasts were freshly prepared with much to choose from and tasted fabulous (...mushrooms to die for!), my compliments to the chef! The hostess is lovely and very helpful, I would thoroughly recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue A, Owner at Ashleigh House, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Thanks so much for your great comment, really appreciate people like yourselves who take the time to write such positive reviews, hope to see you again at Ashleigh House in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We (myself, husband & 3 children aged 3, 5 & 6) have just arrived home from a wonderful
2 night stay at Ashleigh House. (We were attending friends wedding locally)

On arrival we were shown to our immaculate spacious ensuite family room which had all towels and toiletries supplied. Sue was also extremely helpful and informative on the area.

Breakfast both mornings was lovely, with an excellent choice for both us and the children, all served with fresh tea/coffee and toast and cereals, the children also loved the fruit and yoghurt selections.

I have to say that Sue really couldn't do enough for our children and also bent over backwards helping to arrange a mini buses/taxi's from the wedding venue back to Ashleigh House for us.

Our children thoroughly enjoyed their stay at Ashleigh House and they have already asked when they can go back! which in turn meant we were relaxed while there and also enjoyed our stay.

There are local parks and also the Harbour area which is lovely to look around as well as the local shops. There is also a Tesco and Morrison's a short drive away!

We would highly recommend this Hotel for singles, couples and also families.

A big thankyou to Sue and Richard for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ARFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue A, Owner at Ashleigh House, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2012

Well I definitely know who this is from you only left yesterday !!! Thanks very very much for this fantastic review, it means such a lot to us and I just have to say what a LOVELY family you are the children are soooooooo gorgeous & you 2 are not so bad either !!! Really hope to see you all again some day xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We have just returned from South Devon, having spent four nights at Ashleigh House, Kingsbridge. We were warmly welcomed by Sue & Richard, who showed us to our rooms which were really lovely. The standard was very high, so clean and airy, breakfasts were hugely enjoyable with a very wide choice, superbly cooked breakfast to order.

Every day Sue had supplied fresh milk in our rooms for our tea and coffee, which was very welcome after a long day out sightseeing. Although we knew the area from years ago, Sue's knowledge and advice was very useful. Would definitely recommend this B&B and we hope to return someday.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RiColl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

Thank you very much we really appreciate your lovely positive comments and the time taken to write them, you can DEFINITELY come again - please !!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingsbridge
3.3 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
2.8 mi away
Seaflowers
Seaflowers
#3 of 34 in Kingsbridge
176 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ring O'Bells
Ring O'Bells
#31 of 34 in Kingsbridge
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Up The Creek
Up The Creek
#15 of 34 in Kingsbridge
23 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Globe Inn
The Globe Inn
#4 of 34 in Kingsbridge
258 reviews
3.6 mi away
Glebe Farm Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashleigh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashleigh House

Address: Ashleigh House Ashleigh Road, Kingsbridge TQ7 1HB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Kingsbridge
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Kingsbridge
Price Range: $104 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashleigh House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ashleigh House is a large Victorian Bed and Breakfast in a quiet area of Kingsbridge near Salcombe in lovely South Devon. There are numerous places to eat within walking distance, fantastic beaches nearby, lovely villages to explore, gorgeous National Trust Houses and gardens to visit. Richard and Sue the Owners of Ashleigh House welcome guests with a comfortable place to stay and freshly cooked Breakfasts using the best ingredients sourced locally where possible. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ashleigh House Kingsbridge, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing