We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We just keep going back.”
Review of The Old Bakery

The Old Bakery
Ranked #1 of 70 Restaurants in Kingsbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $42
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish, Bar, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed August 18, 2014

This is without doubt our favourite restaurant at the moment. Over the past year we have taken all our guests there and often gone just as a couple.
Mood of the place? Definitely relaxed. Cuisine? Think Tapas on steroids, many different dishes but larger portions than the usual Tapas restaurants. We find for four people you need about ten dishes and if you like whitebait this is the place to go and make two of your ten, whitebait.
Lunch also works well and opening hours are extensive. Morning coffee offers the choice of the courtyard or the lounge area upstairs.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank WestCountryHawkeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulietDevon, Owner at The Old Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Dear WestCountryHawkeyes

So please to read your lovely review and especially as it is not on the strength of one visit but many. It really does mean a lot.

Please let me know when you are next in.

Best wishes

Juliet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (458)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

273 - 277 of 458 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2014

This is a really lovely place. Superb choice of freshly cooked tapas - something for everyone - our group included a 10 year old, a 71 year old and a picky vegetarian and we all had something different and we all loved it. Delicious glass of rose, pretty courtyard, what more could you ask for? We had tap water as well by the way and we didn't have to pay for it.

2  Thank 281Fussycats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulietDevon, Owner at The Old Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Dear Fussycats!

Thanks a million for taking the time to review - I can not tell you how much it lifts everyones spirits to receive well deserved praise, especially at the height of season.

Best wishes

Juliet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2014

Lovely evening ,wonderfully quirky, really different totally delicious meal we really appreciated not having to make decisions and enjoyed £15 per head chefs choice. House wine good value and served totally without fuss which we appreciated. Will definitely return and recommend, especially on a spring tide- a really refreshing change from the Salcombe restaurants. Nice plumbing in the loos really innovative!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Penny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulietDevon, Owner at The Old Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Hello Penny

So glad you found us and thank you for taking the time to review.

More people need to come to Kingsbridge 'by chance' - there are some beautiful independent shops and places to eat.

I really appreciate the things you focused on in your review - we do try to be unfussy in our service, especially with larger parties as you are there to enjoy each others company not listen to me! With regards offering a change from Salcombe eateries, I think we need to work that little bit harder than other places as we are not trading on location - as nearly everyone points out....we are not the most obvious building in town!

Enjoy the rest of the summer and we hope to see you all again soon.

Kind regards

Juliet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2014

We visited the Old Bakery, Kingsbridge by chance on holiday and were very impressed. The menu was diverse and the waitress able to advise on what would suit us. When the food came it was amazing, a real treat of different flavours all perfectly cooked. The staff were lovely and not fazed by our 3 children or small dog.
I would highly recommend this place if you visit Kingsbridge, it is tucked away but well worth finding

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 941Ffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulietDevon, Owner at The Old Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Dear Jack

Thank you so much for your lovely review.......so pleased you all had a lovely time.

It genuinely means a great deal to the team to receive praise as we all work very very hard.

Really hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday.

Kind regards

Juliet - the charismatic waitress!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2014

Tapas at it's best! We came as a family of 5 on holiday, we were greeted and sat by smiley waitresses and given menu's to look at straight away. Not long after we were asked if we wanted any drinks, and then the food. Our particular waitress was charismatic and knew the menu like the back of her hand, she even described the specials to us as we could not see the board! When our food arrived we were gob-smacked at what we got for our money, the portion sizes were huge! My personal favourite was the filo wrapped feta, my partner would not stop raving about his chorizo either! The atmosphere was authentic and their was a general buzz in the restaurant. Dessert was also lovely, thank you very much!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank JackW374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Bakery also viewed

Modbury, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to The Old Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing