We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A very peaceful, comfortable cottage.”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Kingfisher Barn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kingsbridge, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Christine...
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
“A very peaceful, comfortable cottage.”
Reviewed October 24, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

The owners were very kind, helpful and generous. We had our 3 well behaved dogs with us and the walking was superb.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: All of it.
Liked least: The stairs.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sally A
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Its just................'fabulous' with the best breakfast eggs in the world”
Reviewed September 12, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The barn is in a delightful setting in truly beautiful Devon countryside. The air is very fresh and the nights are silent. There is only the sound of birds to wake you up in the morning. We had a fabulous friendly welcome on arrival and found a perfectly clean, cheery,comfortable and 'cosy' 'barn' all of our own. It had everything you could possibly need and even a bunch of flowers from the beautiful garden outside waiting for us on the dining room table.You wake up happy because you know you can go out the door, feed the hens and they will give you a fresh egg for your breakfast. Its a great place to stay if you like eggs, hens, peace and quiet, natural beauty and home comforts. Another bonus is that while staying in Kingfisher barn we visited some of the most beautiful sandy beaches in stunning countryside I have ever seen in Britain!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful setting, the friendly atmosphere, the hens,garden and home comforts.
Liked least: Having to leave to go back to London
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A peaceful retreat in the Devon countryside”
Reviewed September 10, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We simply loved our time at Kingfisher Barn, and would recommend it to anyone who loves beautiful countryside. The Barn was equipped with everything one could possibly need for an independent holiday, and Mike and Judy were excellent hosts, providing us with a lovely welcome and all the information we needed to explore the surrounding area. This would be a perfect place for those with young children, with the plenty of space to play, and the resident farm animals and alpacas to keep them amused. It would not be possible to find a quieter or more relaxing place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet
Liked least: Haveing to leave at the end of the week!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C T
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday”
Reviewed August 27, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Our second stay at kingfisher barn, it's in a really lovely part of Devon with great beaches and towns within easy reach.

The kids loved the chickens, alpaca and play ground. The barns are well equipped with everything you need. The washer dryer is a big plus.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful location and children's play ground
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phillips...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Relaxing retreat in idylic surroundings”
Reviewed July 11, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

I went to Kingfisher Barn on the 20th June for a week with my Mom and Niece. We couldn't have asked for anything better. Cottage is set in the heart of the country in beautiful surroundings and nothing is nicer than to wake up hearing the cockerel crowing and eating the newly laid eggs from the chickens. Cottage has all the home comforts and all credit goes both to Judy and Mike who have made the cottage most welcoming.

We would recommend the cottage to anyone looking for somewhere peaceful to relax or if you want to explore then everything is within easy access.

Regards
Samantha

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie_b8...
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Relaxing extension to our holiday with fab home cooked goodies!”
Reviewed July 8, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We had been staying in South Cornwall for a week when we decided to extend our stay and stay 3 nights in the glorious countryside at Kingfisher Barn. We were not disappointed! A wonderful little spot in rural Devon, a fab little barn with all the amenities you could want and the most fantastic welcome pack with homemade bread, scones and strawberry jam, not to mention the lovely little greetings card. Mick and Judy were wonderful and welcoming and keep the barns and most noticeably the gardens immaculately. Kingfisher barn was perfect for our little doggy as it had a beautiful cottage garden with a little gate - he loved his country walks down the lane too! Great stay, good places to visit nearby (Salcombe, Dartmouth etc...). Deposit refunded really efficiently too! Hope to return in the future. Thanks Mick and Judy for a memorable stay. :o)

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kimmerrit...
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful location, excellent accommodation and hospitality”
Reviewed April 19, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed at kingfisher barn with our four year old son and 7 month old daughter and we all loved it! The play area was perfect entertainment for our son and the owners involved him in feeding the chickens which he thoroughly enjoyed! The cottage was extremely comfortable and very well equipped - they really thought of everything to make it a home away from home, including a lovely welcome pack of fresh bread, eggs, cream teas and biscuits - great hospitality. The location was great for exploring in and around the Dartmouth area but really peaceful if you just wanted to relax in quiet and beautiful surroundings. I would thoroughly recommend this cottage for anybody of any age, we would definitely go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort and facilities in the cottage, and hosts
Liked least: There was nothing I didn't like
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing