We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Perfect Place To Stay”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kingsbridge, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jenny c
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“The Perfect Place To Stay”
Reviewed April 13, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

After a long journey it was lovely arrive at Swallow Barn to a warm and friendly welcome.
Beautiful surroundings with chickens and alpacas and a nice play area for children.
We found Swallow barn to be very clean, inviting and comfortable, catering for all our needs.
We cannot think of anything missed out or that we would change in any way.
It was a lovely Easter break for us, our two teenagers and 10 year old and our dog.We all loved it.
Thank you Judy and Mike for a lovely stay at Swallow Barn, all your efforts were realized and appreciated.
Anyone choosing to staying here will not be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: all of it
Liked least: liked everything
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David O
1 review
“Excellent holiday location with great facilities”
Reviewed April 10, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Swallow Barn is an excellent place for those seeking to get away in a peaceful and relaxing environment. The facilities are just as described.The kids thoroughly enjoyed using the play area to the extent that they abandoned their gadgets throughout our stay; my son especially got involved feeding the chickens every morning. We visited Bantham beach, Woodlands Amusement park (Totnes) and went to Kents Cavern in Torquay, all within easy reach. Our stay was made even more pleasant by our excellent hosts - Mike and Judy (special thanks to you both). I have no reservations in recommending a stay here to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Barn was very comfortable and the playground for the kids
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kidfreetr...
West Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed March 29, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Having booked a last minute break with "odd" days to start and finish we couldn't be more satisfied. Judy was very accommodating with the booking. We loved the barn. It is so comfortable, homely and welcoming. Even more welcoming with the lovely touches like Devon cream tea for us both, fresh eggs from the girlies, homemade jam, flowers, bread, butter etc, thank you so much. The bed was very comfortable. It was warm and plenty of hot water, no scrimping on anything here, everything you need in the barn, alot of thought has gone into this holiday home. The surroundings are lovely and the Alpacas fascinating. Can imagine in the Summer months this is even more appealing. Our weather wasn't great but this didn't stop us exploring. We had good recommendations from Judy and visited Bantham Beach and Beesands which Roxy our black Labrador absolutely loved. The weather did not spoil anything for us. The pub recommendations were good. The barn is central to explore much of South Devon. We have stayed in South Hams before in Kingston but this location wins hands down for us. Thank you for a fantastic stay

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty K
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage with lovely hosts”
Reviewed January 6, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We stayed as a family of three in Swallow Barn. We had friends in the neighbouring Woodpecker barn which was an ideal set up. Our cottage was neat and tidy and very well equipt. The highlight of the stay for my young son was feeding the chickens every morning. We couldn't have been made to feel more welcome during our stay and were sad to leave!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Friendly hosts.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selina D
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A little piece of Devon Heaven!”
Reviewed January 3, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We had 3 wonderful nights stay at the Swallow Barn. We had a friendly welcome from Mike and Judy and fresh bread made by Mike and eggs from the chickens were a lovely surprise. We are a family of 4 with two young girls and it is perfect set up for a family. They can play on the wonderful playground or see the Lama's and chickens. The location is Perfect and you are a short distance from Kingsbridge, Salcombe etc. Can't recommend highly enough.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 4, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Kids - feeding the chickens
Liked least: Coming home
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Luke C
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming setting, very child friendly, great things to do locally.”
Reviewed October 8, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We had our 2nd stay in August, this one was even better then our previous visit. The hosts are so good at making everyone feel at home and the barns are perfectly finished. The facilities are superb, there's a playground, BBQ area, badminton court and sandpit. There aren't that many barns so it is never overrun with children. Very peaceful and relaxing.

We absolutely love the South Hams, it isn't as busy as Cornwall, yet in our opinion is just as beautiful and much easier to traverse. We also believe the restaurants and pubs are much, much better on average.

Very much looking forward to our next visit in 2015.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hosts, the BBQ area and the barns!
Liked least: The WIFI, not sure how easy it is to get good WIFI out there though.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing