We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Globe Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Globe Inn
Ranked #5 of 32 Kingsbridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sidcup, Kent
Level Contributor
181 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Nice Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2011

Haven't stayed at an Inn before so wasn't quite sure what to expect. The Globe has been refurbished and I think extended. The room we stayed in was bright and airy and well decorated. Huge bed and very comfortable.A well positioned base for visiting coastal towns around the area, but don't think you can go speeding around the narrow lanes, there are lots of concrete mixing lorries, petrol tankers, refuse collection lorries and delivery trucks just waiting to bring you to a sudden halt - scary to say the least!
Food at the Globe was good and breakfast consisted of orange juice, cereals, tea or coffee and a full cooked breakfast. A popular drinking and eating establishment for the locals, there was a quizz night on one evening and a sort of folk singing evening on another. Other than the Globe, there is very little to do in Frogmore, but it is a good base and very quiet at night.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foxycreature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    62
    9
    10
    3
See reviews for
64
105
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2011

Travelling around South Devon for a week meant a few below standard pub meals so we were very glad we found The Globe Inn, it was a breath of fresh air! The hostess was extremely friendly and helpful and the food was so good we went back a second time! Highly recommend this pub and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jubell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2011

We have just returned from a holiday in and around Kingsbridge.

We have been to many pubs in the area and was pleasantly surprised when the recent refurbishment in this pub returned it to the glory of England. The last pub we had been was in a great location, lovely sea view but their too modern refurb (in my opinion) took the wind from its sails. Whats great about the Globe Inn that its clean, new yet traditional and this is something which seems dying out amongst English pubs. The food we had there was outstanding too and staff friendly and helpful. At Frogmore Creek there is a beautiful walk which we started and finished near The Globe Inn. Of course if you want to park there I would recommend asking first as we did. To finish our walk with a drink and something to eat was not planned but a bonus and I'm so glad we did.

Fantastic pub

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyPet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2011

We spent one night at The Globe Inn. The owners are very hospitable and well travelled. They went out of their way to be helpful. Our room was spotless, good size and comfortable. Supper that evening was delicious and we enjoyed the folk group (voice and instruments) in the dining room. There are some beautiful walks close by and a car park. We would certainly stay again when in the area.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rab11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2011

I had to go to Devon with my mum to clear out my Great Aunt's bungalow due to her going into a home. A difficult and dirty job, tinged with sadness. However staying at The Globe made a difficult job so much easier. The room was bright and clean and well furnished. The breakfast was delicious and the owners are just the loveliest couple. They deserve to do well as they have made The Globe a truly lovely place to stay. Large car park, easy access and a nice meal in the evening. What more could we want.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeckyAltonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
Level Contributor
214 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2011

Having just returned from The Globe inn after a 2 night stay we would say it meet our needs very well. The host and hostess both charming and worked very hard with a warm and friendly smile .and a word, for all their customers. A very good location for exploring this part of South Devon.
The food was very good and well priced, No negative comments from us, If in the area again we will not hesitate to stay again

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrandmrsDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2010

We didn't stay here, we came for a meal in Aug 2010. I totally agree with the previous reviewer who felt herded into the family area. The lighting was dull, and made the room feel dim and depressing. The waitresses looked as if they'd rather be anywhere else than there.

The food was actually pretty reasonable, but it was overshadowed by the horrible atmosphere. We couldn't wait to leave.

Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahShattered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingsbridge
3.2 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
5.3 mi away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seaflowers
Seaflowers
#1 of 32 in Kingsbridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Tower Inn
The Tower Inn
#6 of 32 in Kingsbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.1 mi away
Up The Creek
Up The Creek
#13 of 32 in Kingsbridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ring O'Bells
Ring O'Bells
#18 of 32 in Kingsbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Globe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Globe Inn

Property: The Globe Inn
Address: Frogmore, Kingsbridge TQ7 2NR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Kingsbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Kingsbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Globe Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Globe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Globe Hotel Kingsbridge
The Globe Inn Kingsbridge, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing