We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“impromptu visit to get away from the wind and rain!”
Review of The Tower Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Tower Inn
Ranked #8 of 34 Kingsbridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Having booked to go camping in Slapton for the half term, we needed a break from the wind and rain, and a good meal. Well thats what we got!

The meal was reasonably priced, freshly cooked and delivered in good time. I had the belly pork, while my wife and children had the traditional fish and chips. Probably the best belly pork ive had in a pub!

the staff were friendly and the atmosphere, as you might expect for an ancient Inn was cosy and warm. Would we go back? - already have! A jewel in Slapton's Crown.

Only slight trouble was finding it in the pitch black of Slapton on a winters night - make sure you take a torch!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank huwg0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
There are newer reviews for The Tower Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 152 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

We went there on Sunday 22nd September and had a fantastic meal with 2 young children (1 and 3).

The service was very relaxed and informal and were very friendly.

I had the incredible slow cooked shin of beef with dauphinoise potatoes and a fantastic sauce.

My wife had the burger which was cooked to perfection.

Both of my daughters had the linguine with tomatoes which they really enjoyed.

I very much enjoyed the draught Cornish lager and they had some nice wines.

If we're ever back on holiday we'll be sure to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Scottyqt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

From the moment you think 'it can't be down the narrow lane' this place delivers its secret gems. It's a fascinating building with a pleasant garden overlooked by the tower, all set in a in a pretty village a short drive (or walk) to Slapton Sands.

The food was excellent and breakfast was generous and imaginative. The beers were top notch and it had a very good wine list. And plenty of interesting paintings to peruse whilst taking in the relaxed atmosphere.

The rooms are compact but very good value. Think of it as a pub/restaurant with rooms and you'll be pleased with the outcome. Why not search out its secrets for yourself.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanderingBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

On entry, we actually remaked on the friendly and welcoming greeting we received from about three young members of staff and they were all helpful and accommodating from then on - luckily we had booked as it was very bury. The pub is full of interesting history and atmosphere with lots of small separate areas of seating and different levels for eating outside, adjacent to the 14th Century Tower which is all that is left of an ecclesiastical college. The specials board offered many delicious-sounding fish dishes and the three of us were satisfied with our choices. We did spend a merry hour correcting rather too many grammatical, spelling and translation errors in the script on the menu which, in our opinion, let down the standard, but the various members of staff who served us took this in good heart, promising to pass on our suggestions to the Manager - it will be interesting to see whether any changes are made on our next visit! The village of Slapton is worth a visit anyway, quaint, quiet and a fascinating mix of the various stages of architecture, some Georgian, some Elizaabethan and some modern .. but watch out for tiny, narrow streets with some difficulty in parking.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jaxaway46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Excellent food and menu, outstanding wine and beverage and hosted perfectly. Our first visit for a couple of years and not disappointed - better than I remember menu and food was great (very busy and you must book on busier nights - always a good sign). The new front house house guy was excellent and excelled himself with a particularly awkward customer! Us stiff Brits could learn a lot form Canadian hosts!!

I now recomend as my favourite pub/restaurant ....

Can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Eat in the restaurant....
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DickyTraveller007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

One of the joys of travelling is that I get to visit a lot of pubs and restaurants and although there are some duds out there a lot of them are very good, run by folks who take pride in what they do. Occasionally I come across a place that borders on perfection and The Tower is one of them.

The setting couldn't be more picturesque, lovely histoic interior and a really nice beer garden, the hand pulled beers excellent, and a good selection of ciders and wines ... but the crowning glory is the food (Les Routiers says it all). Add friendly staff and you've reached perfection. It doesn't come any better than this.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank AdrianSwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We have loved and visited The Tower many times over the years, but were greatly disappointed at our last visit. The manager was very loud and not in keeping with the ambiance of The Tower......he seemed trained at the Disney school of hospitality. The other staff seemed stretched and the normal friendly service was lacking.
We have always loved the strong fish element to the menu so were particularly disappointed to see the Bouillabaisse has gone, and the manager was only interested in pushing the lobster....the ' last 3' seemed to be available all evening. They also forgot my husbands starter
We fear for the future of this charactered pub. On our frequent visits to the area we normally book one night at The Cricket in Beesands and the other at The Tower. On our next visit in August will be two nights eating at The Cricket (although hardly a hardship!)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Friertuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingsbridge
6.4 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
3.3 mi away
Stoke Lodge Hotel
Stoke Lodge Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dartmouth
193 reviews
4.7 mi away
Best Western The Dartmouth Hotel Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
790 reviews
5.3 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
1,027 reviews
7.4 mi away
South Sands Hotel
South Sands Hotel
#4 of 7 in Salcombe
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tower Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tower Inn

Address: Church Rd, Kingsbridge TQ7 2PN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Kingsbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Kingsbridge
Price Range: $110 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Tower Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Tower Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tower Hotel Kingsbridge
The Tower Inn Kingsbridge, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing